We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice Close to Paulista Avenue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Santos 85 | Paraiso, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #67 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice Close to Paulista Avenue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This property is an excellent choice if you need to stay close to Paulista Avenue. It's just a couple of blocks "downhill" from the avenue. The staff is excellent; very helpful and willing to answer questions. The dinner buffet has lots of choices and fresh salad items. Learning to use your room card for access to the elevators is somewhat of a surprise, but I managed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    164
    81
    27
    8
See reviews for
24
27
22
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you loved Kojak, Columbo and yearn for the 70s then this is the hotel for you. It is so dated its unbelievable. Reception is fine and the staff are mostly helpful on then usual thing (although they made me pay again because they couldn't find a record of my.booking, and actually couldn't be bothered to sort it out). But it all gets interesting when you get to the lifts. The dated feel starts and you fund the doors opening and closing again almost immediately - unless you happen to be standing next to the door that opens you simply don't have time to walk to the others before the doors close - at a fantastic and ferocious pace. I have a bruise on my arm to evidence this, and to prove that you simply should keep pressing the button until a nearby lift opens. Don't try to leap in before the doors close - they will hit you hard. The doors actually stay open for 2 seconds only.

I was given a room with twin beds despite having booked for (and paid twice) for a premium room. The single beds are tiny. I sat on the edge of one to take my shoes off and it began to tip - the base was even smaller than the mattress. I had to sleep dead centre of the bed to avoid being thrown out.

The bathroom is ok - shower etc but the fixtures were certainly installed more than 40years ago. There is free wifi but only one device at a time - so don't bring a partner with their own iPad. The rooms were clean and well decorated. The breakfast was fine altho juice ran out on the morning I was there and stayed empty.

I think this hotel is adequate. I wouldn't have left in search of a better one but I wouldn't come back here either.

Room Tip: Ask for a double and as high as possible for a view of the sky scrapers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Everything was clean, spacious, tasty. I didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of other facilities. Nice Japanese restaurant around the corner. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is in a safe areacalled Paulista with nice neighbourhood. it is just 300 m tothetraditional shopping avenida de Paulista with stores, shopping malls, restaurants, museum and subway. Hotel has a glass roof lobby with nice breakfast area. Breakfast is finshed at 10.00 a.m.and they are a little unpleasant start at 10.00 to remove the food. Hasa a little coffe shop with pastries. Rooms are spaceous with table, couch, safe and flatscreen TV. Have also DW (german TV). AC works fine. At the moment a little noisy sincetheis a skyscaper being nuild next goor. Is my second stay, will comeback because of the safe neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARCOS C, Manager at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to know that our hotel and services have matched your expectations. Hope see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located in the heart of Avenida Paulista area, the hotel is totally focused on those who are making business in Latin America's biggest economy. Great and fast service, full meeting and communication facilities and wonderful view of SP skyscrapers.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for tourism, but it's certainly a safe pick for businessmen staying a couple of days in SP and seeking a good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARCOS C, General Manager at Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your evaluation concerning our hotel and services. The staff are really happy and motivated, and for that reason, we will be always ready to provide the highest level of satisfaction to all of your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Taking the taxi from the airport depending on time and day can take between 40 mins to 2 hours and a set cost from the airport 130 local money
The hotel is set back on the next road of Avenida Paulista which hosts banks, shopping mails and resturants.
The enterence to the hotel is good and reception attentive.
The rooms are a resonable size with small but adiquate bathroom. The decor was fair but not exceptional a good fridge in the room and the bed was good eventhough a little hard for me.
The downside was the noise from the building work opposite it was better not to open the window but it was still loud from early morning to late night.
There were 6 lifts of which only 2 maybe 3 were operational
The breakfast was first class and the staff were quiet helpful.
The Gym was good but old equipement but opened at 6.
The weekend rate was very good value but doubled the cost Monday to Friday
The question would I stay there again...... yes as the location was good and the metro very close but the hotel very average.

Room Tip: Any room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my third time in Golden Tulip. The hotel is quite good for the price we have for it and I recommend it for short trips to the city. It is 15 minutes away from Congonhas airport and if you´re lucky, less than 40 minutes from Guarhulos. It has lots of good restaurants very close to it and also a mall.

Brakfast is good but always crowded so you have to go very early or after 08h30, otherwise sitting is like a food court. Service is good and friendly and rooms are ok.

Bad things: rug is always stained somewhere, the internet connection only permits one device (in this times, EVERYONE has a smartphone and a laptop), so you can´t have both connected unless you pay and still bathroom wallpaper is torn in some places.

Room Tip: There is a construction just in the front of the hotel, ask for a high room to avoid ALL the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza

Address: Alameda Santos 85 | Paraiso, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#79 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza Hotel Sao Paulo
Paulista Plaza Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.