We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, ok Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege to your Saves list
Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Macuco, N0 579, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04523-001, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #117 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Location, ok Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hotel is pretty much what you can expect from a Mercure chain hotel. This one has a very good location, the restaurant in the lobby is good, and there are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance in this nice and safe area of Sao Paulo. The rooms...ok, kind of old, but clean and functional, so no complaints. It could be better. Service was fine, no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPrivilege, Manager at Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are grateful for receive feedback about your stay in Mercure São Paulo Privilege Hotel.

Really, Moema is a very cosy district, with several of leasure options.

The hotel is being gradually renovated. There are now seven floors fully renovated, very modern and comfortable.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the future to know a "superior" apartment and meet the new concept of comfort “Privilege”.


Kindly regards,

Fernanda Gomes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    137
    64
    15
    4
See reviews for
50
68
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 weeks in 2 different rooms on the 19th floor of the property. Had to change room halfway through my stay as the air conditioning stopped working. Staff tried to repair the unit then ultimately moved me when they couldn't. A little inconvenient, but my room was changed promptly, with little fuss.

Overall these renovated rooms on the upper floors were very clean, with very comfortable beds (maybe too many decorative pillows!), and I like the layout of the desk behind the bed. Very thankful for the mini-fridge to keep some beverages cold.
The bathroom was neat, but not sure they have been updated in the room refurb. Could use some new tiling, but shower/sink/toilet worked fine for me.
Noise from the hallway is minor, however, I could easily hear passing aircraft and traffic noise. (It it close to Congonhas airport, after all)

I thought the hotel restaurant was excellent for dinner, and OK for breakfast. There are tons of dining options in close proximity (walking distance) especially Mexican and Italian. In 3 weeks I almost never ate the same thing for dinner. Also close to 2 grocery stores (St. Marche and Oba) in case you want to pick up some fruit/snacks to keep in the room. Close to Ibrapuera mall (10-minute walk) and walkable to Ibrapuera Park (20 minutes).

Staff was overall very friendly, and do a commendable job of trying to communicate in English.
They took care of all requests professionally and hastily. They happily arranged for a taxi to the airport (Guarulhos) upon my departure for 130 Reais

My only other complaint is that the gym is in unacceptable bad condition. Tiny, hot and every other machine does not work. You are better off taking a jog around the neighborhood (which is very safe) as opposed to using the gym.

Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor seems to have renovated rooms (17+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPrivilege, Manager at Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear,

Thanks for writing about the Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege and the pleasant district of Moema.

The next phase of the renovation of this hotel will be the fitness center. We hope to offer a execelente space for gym soon!

Best regards,

Fernanda Gomes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm sorry to say that this was my most disappointing stay at a Mercure property. I've stayed in Europe and in India, but this was below par. List of things that are just unacceptable:
- carpet old and shabby
- sofa outright dirty. Never felt like sitting on it. Needs to be thrown out.
- bathroom sink leaking (always have to give it an extra quarter turn). Shower temp difficult to control.
- room A/C difficult to manage (room becomes too cold easily)
- seriously, which good hotel has a CRT TV these days? With a horrible remote that is wiped clean (can't tell the ON switch)?
- wake-up service unreliable. They actually send a guy to knock on your door. Which might work if the guy actually shows up at the requested time. One day he was >30min late. I could have missed my flights if I relied on them. No alarm clock or TV alarm in the room.
- front desk service was unreliable. Asked for iron/board many time. Standard answer - "we'll check with housekeeping and call you back" and they never do. You will have to go the basement to iron your clothes yourself on an old/ragged ironing table.
- WiFi unreliable. Slow and breaks down.

On top of that, the hotel is pricy. Wrong choice in Sao Paulo.

Only saving grace was the breakfast - which was decent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPrivilege, Manager at Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear,

Thank you for sharing your opinion.

We regret to hear that your experience at Mercure São Paulo Privilege was not up to your expectations. Be assured that I´m taking the appropriate measures to solve the problems that you´ve mentioned.

The hotel is being gradually renovated. There are now five floors fully renovated, very modern and comfortable. On your next visit, guests in an apartment "superior" and meet the new concept of comfort “Privilege”.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to Mercure São Paulo Privilege in the future when we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kindly regards,

Fernanda Gomes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on three separate occasions for business and I've found the hotel in general to be pleasant, comfortable and in a very nice location. Service has been very eager, if occasionally not quite up to European or American standards. Nonetheless, when I have had issues, the staff have been helpful and attentive. The rooms I have stayed in have all been divided into three sections; A living-room with kitchenette and microwave and TV, a Bedroom and a bathroom. The kitchenette was very useful, especially as there is an excellent supermarket just one block up the hill and I was able to keep some fruit and drinks cool in the large fridge. This area can be separated by a well-built wooden room partition. If you're traveling with kids, this would be a huge boon as you could get them off to sleep in the bedroom whilst still having the lights and TV on in the Living-diner room. The bed was nice and big and as I'm 1.9 meters this was a great benefit to me. The bathrooms I have stayed in have all been very clean but a little tired looking but the water pressure in the showers is fantastic, like a wash and massage simultaneously! The pool and spa area was being renovated on my last visit but is pleasant enough and lying on your back in the pool in summertime is welcome relief from the heat. Moema is such a buzzing area as far as restaurants are concerned that the hotel Restaurant is somewhat overpriced. 2 blocks away are so many great restaurants with such a wide range of nationalities that it would be a shame to stay here and not explore a little. Over all, OK place to stay.

Room Tip: I found that one room I had on the 20th floor was hot and I could hear the aircon or elevator noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPrivilege, Manager at Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure São Paulo Privilege. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

The hotel is being renovated. Soon our guests can enjoy a new product, much more modern and comfortable.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Fernanda Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Best location, near Ibirapuera Shopping. Hope the get the new rooms next time. I feel that the restaurant at the hotel need some improvements. But the service was ok in average. Iask for a bed for my 10 months old kid, and I was very happy that they were able to bring it at time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado,

Agradecemos muito por registrar sua experiência no Mercure São Paulo Privilege.

Esperamos que nos visite novamente em breve para conhecer nossos novos apartamentos!

Atenciosamente,

Fernada Gomes
Gerente Geral
Mercure SP Privilege
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed with my family only 1 night. We could accomodate 2 children and 2 adults. Good neighbourhood. Good breakfast. No luxury at all, just an all around good place to stay, a bit pricey as almost everything in Sao Paulo nowadays.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPrivilege, Assistant Manager at Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear,

Thank you very much for register your experience at Mercure São Paulo Privilege Hotel.

We hope attending all your expectations at your next visit.

Best Regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege

Address: Av. Macuco, N0 579, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04523-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stay in one of the most charming neighborhoods of Sao Paulo, near the gastronomic, cultural and leisure centers. Make their visit to the city much more enjoyable. Have a great stay at the Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sao Paulo Privilege, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.