We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Araujo 141 Consolacao, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01220-020, Brazil (Republica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 309 Hotels in Sao Paulo
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The room was nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. The Staff were not very friendly but not rude either. over all a great and awsome stay at this hotel. I traveled and stayed here in 2010 and I am traveling again this year 2012.
This Hotel is RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Pedro.

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    175
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
43
32
30
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

İt is a good value for maney in the busttling part of the city of sao paulo. İt is cheap. This hotel generaly is camfortable but staff coul be more polite

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Louren

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The bathroom is dirty (use your flip flops to shower), the walls have mold under the curtains, the paint have fallen off in some parts, the towels are old (some with a couple of holes) and the room is dirty (specially in the corners).
The front desk is kind and efficient and the hotel is near to a subway station.
There is free parking if needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Paula

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for informing suffered, we are renovating the hotel, is a time consuming process but we are working on improvements. I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for four days in May 2011 on a business trip part of a large group.

Arriving early in the morning didn't phase them: room ready and indeed straight into breakfast (it was that early) as they held the room overnight and hadn't cancelled booking. OK: had told them in advance. Very busy front desk but staff were helpful and some spoke English or Spanish.

Room was perfectly OK. High enough up to avoid any street noise but still with oxygen. Two double beds; very good size room, easy to walk around and clean. Bed firm and comfortable.. excellent mattress. Nice full size sofa Not a great view but it gave a flavour of SP.

Bathroom. not quite up to the same standard: looking tired with limited "extras". If one improvement needed it is to the bathrooms.

Had slight scare on last morning when I managed to lock passport and tickets into the room safe and not be able to open it. I really wonder why I bother with those small safes. Anyway the services guys turned up; worked on it and finally drilled out the lock with a speeddrill and panic over.

Wandered up to the roof: fantastic views and was sorry to not have stayed longer to use the rooftop pool.

Walked around the neighbourhood, felt safe. Great street art!

Can see why the hotel gets such a good rating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
KontikiLondoner

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

After using this site for years to filter out hotels for business trips (and leisure), I have rarely (maybe only once) been disappointed with a high ranked TA hotel that I stayed in. However, just based on the rating for this one hotel, I am beginning to question the wisdom of that (or at least will be MUCH more wary of ratings in the future).

I understand how the site works, it's not the TA management assigning rankings here, it's actual customers. BUT, to indicate, no matter the formula, that this particular hotel is 5th best in SP is just ludicrous.

I am not even going to go into many details, because there wasn't really one specific point of discontent for me....just that the entire, overall experience was crappy. From the awful shower fixtures, to the worst beds I have ever slept on in my life (single, mind you), to the nasty carpets, dirty walls, and horrible hall colors...I can list 10 hotels off the top of my head that are so much better than this one, and not much more expensive.

The location, for business OR pleasure, IMO, is downright bad. This is in the middle of a terrible part of downtown, with drug addicts and hookers surrounding the hotel. Basically one of the red light districts (maybe that explains the high rating? Businessmen like it for their nooky fix?)

I HOPE this is just one more anomaly in TA ratings, but certainly I would suggest management take a good hard look at the positive reviews on this one.

Business travelers, don't even think about this one. I was even embarrassed to tell my clients who asked where I was staying this time!

Room Tip: My best tip to get a good room: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Edder.

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for informing suffered, we are renovating the hotel, is a time consuming process but we are working on improvements. I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The room, the service, the food, housekeeping, laundry service, and the location were excellent. The hotel has a restaurant that offers free breakfast and your choice of menu items or buffet for lunch and dinner. There is even a small grocery store right across the street.
The neighborhood is just OK, considering you are located in a very large city. Safety concerns are that of any major USA city.
You can reach the hotel from the airport (GRU) via the Red & Blue airport bus for only 33 Reals.
I highly recommend this hotel for both business and vacation travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Audipilot.

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Fridge has space for your own stuff. In-room safe. Shower, not bath - bath products are very poor, and you only get one towel - but the bathroom's otherwise fine.

I was pleasantly surprised to be allowed to check in at 6.45am. Some front desk staff speak English; they are very polite and helpful regardless.

Opposite the hotel is a 24-hour Econ supermarket to stock up on water and supplies.

Location is off the west side of Républica square, two minutes' walk from Républica metro or from the first stopping point of the international airport bus. These two minutes are fine in daylight, sketchy after dark, and outright dangerous after midnight - so don't be tempted to walk the four minutes home from the gay bars around Vieira Carvalho, just get a taxi - they are cheap and plentiful.

I'm not usually a fan of the grossly inconsistent Comfort chain, but this one's a decent one. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGERALCHD, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Kenny.

Thanks for helping us and choose the Comfort Hotel Downtown. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you again and be able to thank him personally.
I am at your disposal to do what is necessary.

Be present throughout Brazil. It's the least we can do for you.

Daniela Moris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Downtown

Address: Rua Araujo 141 Consolacao, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01220-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Republica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sao Paulo
Comfort Hotel Downtown Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.