We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and helpful personnel, but low maintenance of the rooms and very little showers for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Santos, 2233, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-002, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast + Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 301 hotels in Sao Paulo
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location and helpful personnel, but low maintenance of the rooms and very little showers for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Renaissance is a pricey hotel located one block from Av. Paulista. I didn´t think it was an international chain until I saw it was Marriott. My room had scrapped furniture, the bathtub had hairs and the shower is so small. Internet is not included, and they charge 50 reales.

Pool opens until 8, so if you are on business and have an early start, you cannot have an early swim. On the contrary, the spa opens at 7 and hotel guests can use the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi for free. Breakfast buffet is very good.

Personnel are also very helpful. However as someone else had booked it for me, and I saw on the web page of Marriott that they had a better rate, they wouldn´t even accept to talk to me about the rate and the reception person didn´t want to call the manager.

I wouldn´t stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance São Paulo Hotel.
I apologize for the issues you encountered in the room. I have personally shared your review with our housekeeping and engineering teams to assure incidents like these do not occur again. We have recently renovated our deluxe rooms, and we will soon be renovating our club rooms and suites. Regarding the internet charge, I am happy to say internet is available free of charge at our lobby, Spa and Pool area, in addition to being included for guests staying at our club rooms and suites.

Variance on room rates can occur and it really depends on the time of booking and the best available rates being quoted during a particular time frame. That being said, I apologize for not responding as expected to your request at the reception.

Please let me know your future travel plans should they include a return visit to Sao Paulo as I would enjoy personally handling your next reservation. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Vanessa Martins I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    235
    59
    21
    11
See reviews for
33
151
47
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, CO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Reality is that Sao Paolo is a very expensive place to travel on business. As I have learned the hard way (see previous review of another Sao Paolo hotel), go down market by staying in unknown/lesser know hotel properties and you quite certainly put business travel productivity on the line. Be prepared to spend upwards of $350/nt on a decent hotel. This is Sao Paolo,

Rooms in this property are small. Cost of cocktail drinks and hotel car service are at par with Manhattan, NY prices. This is Sao Paolo. Be prepared to spend.

Front desk, executive lounge and hotel car dispatch personnel are top notch. I have observed them to be consistently competent professionals.

Room Tip: The added cost of having executive lounge access may be worth it because it provides a great venue f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the positive comments about the staff and the executive lounge.
We understand business travel can get very expensive, especially in a large city like Sao Paulo. Thinking about that, we offer special benefits for guests staying in rooms or suites with access to the Executive Lounge, that include daily breakfast and happy hour, with snacks and beverages, in addition to complimentary internet, a business center and meeting rooms for the business traveler’s convenience.
All of that, with an incredible view of the city, from the 23rd floor!

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Gil Zanchi I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location, Hotel has been refurbished and is much more up to date!
Gym is very good ,but you have to pay to use the health suite!.
Good internet connection everywhere I found, even sitting by the pool!

Food is wonderful, room service is quick and the food still hot when you get it!
Area around the hotel is safe and the shops are good !

Room Tip: Away from lifts as can be noisy when people waiting to go down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance.
I have shared your comments with our entire team, including the chefs and cooks responsible for preparing your room service meal. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our recently renovated deluxe rooms.
In addition to that, I am glad you were able to use our Fitness Center. Please allow me to say that as a guest, you also have free access to the sauna and Jacuzzi area of our Spa. The massages and facial treatments are the only services charged separately.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Ana Monte I Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was very nice in appearance. Nice decor, clean, pretty top notch. Great gym and lunch area by it! Restaurant was good too.

But, the concierge was not very knowledgable or professional. I was there during Carnival and she told us the hotel had a source for Carnival tickets to a special area. We agreed to buy the tickets, but then we kept waiting hour after hour for the tickets to be delivered to the hotel. The information we were being provided (that the source was on his way, etc.) was not truthful. Then, the concierge left for the night (end of shift I presume) and didn't bother to tell us (we were waiting in the hotel lobby bar) and we had to start over with the hotel desk to figure out where our tickets were.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us regarding a less than favorable situation that occurred while a guest at the Renaissance Sao Paulo.
As a hotel, it is always our intention to provide a memorable experience for our guests. Based on your comments, it is apparent that we failed to live up to our own standards and for that, we sincerely apologize.
Once again thank you for making us aware of this situation. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future. Rest assured we will do everything in our power to ensure your next stay is memorable in every way.
Ana Monte I Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location, good service. Clean room. Worth staying on the concierge level - but the suite wasn't much of a suite. The food and drinks were quite nice at the club level. The downstairs lobby bar appeared to have quite the night life. Water pressure wasn't great (18th floor) but acceptable. Enjoyed my stay here and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Better deal with the Marriott reward card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Last easter a went to Sao Paulo, another time i've choosen Renaissance.This time i've taken a suite junior with free acess to vip lounge and that made the difference.
The food at VIP Lounge was very good as well the satff and service at all.
The room's city view was amazing during the day and much better at night.
The lobby has a very good "ambience" with wellcome drinks but i did the check in at VIP lounge.
Very recommended.
Nice experience.
The pool area is too small for the number of rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a 22 or 23th floor room because the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great hotel, good location and professional staff.

Rooms have been recently updated, I have to say I prefer the past Renaissance decor, but the new is acceptable.
Room wifi is chargable which is dissapointing when most large chain hotels now offer this complimentary.
Nice new coffee bar in the hotel Lobby, but £4.50 for a small Illy coffee is rather excessive for Brazil prices.
Hotel Is the best area of Brazil.
Great restaurants, bars and shops near by.
Hotel staff are excellent. Very professional, approachable and exellent standards of English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel

Address: Alameda Santos, 2233, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#12 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel Brazil
Sao Paulo Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.