We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful!!! Thief!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beats Hostel Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beats Hostel Sao Paulo to your Saves list
Beats Hostel Sao Paulo
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Alameda Ribeirao Preto, 258, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01331-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 392 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Be careful!!! Thief!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good thing... Friendly staff at reception. But beware because I was victim of theft in the bedroom and I have a srong reason to suspect the staff cleaning! There are lockers and I used it for my personal belongings but my toiletry bag that was stolen!!!! Was a lot of cream expensive and special for my skin!!
Also do not count on breakfast! That one is really poor!!!!
They ask 30 reals for a laundry!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeatsHostelSaoPaulo, Proprietário at Beats Hostel Sao Paulo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review!
Unfortunately you didn't lock your very expensive skin product away in your locker. Please always lock away valuables in lockers, because you share your room with other that you don't know in any hostel.
We're a bit unhappy that you publicly accuse our cleaning lady, with whom we never, ever, had any problems, or insinuations, regarding your issue. We've looked on the cameras, together with you, to see who was in the room during the 5 hours that you marked as the time that you lost your product. Unfortunately it was very busy that day, and during that 5 hour period, 5 different guests entered your room, all people that had booked a bed in that room.
Our breakfast is pretty standard for a hostel, fruits, bread, ham, cheese, strawberry jelly, coffe, tea, biscuits. Everything you need to start your day up well, I hope you can agree. There are plenty of hostels that do not even supply breakfast in this city!
At the time of your stay the price of 10kg of laundry washed, dried, and folded, was indeed R$30,00. The laundry company 2 blocks away asks R$14,00 for one pair of pants, so really, our price is quite reasonable. We make a point of keeping the prices of additional services and products, as well as our beds, lots cheaper than anywhere in our neighborhood.
We hope you enjoyed your time in Sao Paulo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
2
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Like the title says, if you're just having a one night lay-over in the city, this place is fine.

Pros:
Cheap price; great location at the heart of the city, close to the metro, big supermarket and a big mall; breakfast is quite good; wi-fi is a speedy delight; the hostel offers a laptop for just R$ 1 for unlimited time!

Cons:
The rooms are too small to fit 10 people in my opinion; lockers are not large enough to store big trekking packs; smokers smoke near the kitchen/reception room and that's very uncomfortable to me; reception staff should pay closer attention to the bed management system, because twice have a new guest taken over my bed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Basically an alright hostel. While most of the staff is really friendly one of them ( it's the one with shaved hair on the sides) is extremely unfriendly. He wouldn't say a word to you while ordering drinks. Instead of playing the usual good music he watches tv shows over the big speakers on a Friday night at a bar. After i asked him to play some music he rolled his eyes played one song (momma Mia theme) and then went back to his show. And by the way they have got a bed bug problem.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeatsHostelSaoPaulo, Owner at Beats Hostel Sao Paulo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review. We're sorry for the problem with the staff. The person you're talking about doesn't work with us anymore. We question a little bit the ethicality of posting a pic of a person along with negative feedback about that person, while reviewing a hostel. The bedbug problem has been identified and resolved. We hope you enjoyed São Paulo, happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Hi! This is definitely the best party hostel i've been to. the atmospere is great. The guys at night love parties and throw in some good music. Good deals for drinks. I think the happy hour could be longer perhaps. In the weekend the beautiful breakfast lady made me forget my hangover. Must go to Agosto street 5 mins by taxi. Only thing is shower curtains too small and short. Minor thing i told them about. Thanks all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

it was my first time in sao paulo and i admit i was a bit wary of everything but the staff couldn't have been more wonderful, making me relaxed - the fact that the breakfast was amazing also helped!
to sum it up, it's a friendly, cozy place with nice beds and unexpensive: everything a hostel needs to be

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

A friend an I originally booked rooms at 3 Dogs hostel but for some reason most likely via the booking website it didn't go through. So on arrival to 3 Dogs we found it was fully booked and we had no beds reserved. They recommended this new sister hostel saying it has same facilities and as it was closer to Av Paulista we decided to go with it. Maybe it's because it's still early days but from what I've heard about 3 Dogs you cannot compare the two. One receptionist was particularly unhelpful and rude and actually said we could not have breakfast that was being served while we arrived because our checkin wasn't till 1.30. That's the first time a hostel hasn't allowed you to have breakfast like that as most know you're only there that early because of an overnight flight or bus. The staff also had little traveller knowledge of what's on and where's good to go for things. The bedrooms were compact, I haven't got a problem with 10 beds in a room but there was little floor space and bunkbeds were up to 3 beds tall. They seem to also only have two toilet/shower combo rooms for the whole hostel, bar the ensuite room, so their floors were always wet and grim. Having stayed here has made me make sure I reserve enough in advance that I get the hostel I want to stay at. Definitely won't be returning unless there's no space elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeatsHostelSaoPaulo, Owner at Beats Hostel Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Hi there and thank you for your review.
There are in total 5 showers/toilets, for 32 beds that makes 1shower for every 6 guests. Perhaps you missed the one behind the kitchen. Perhaps you also missed the 2 meter square map next to the entrance, marked with about 20 specific highlights of the city, how to get there, when to get there, and duration. After your review, I've instructed my staff to do a more thorough walk through of the place. We do hope to see you again in Sao Paulo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

good bar, cold beers, many showers and cool rooms!

Room Tip: the 10 bedded dorm is the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beats Hostel Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beats Hostel Sao Paulo

Address: Alameda Ribeirao Preto, 258, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01331-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 392 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beats Hostel Sao Paulo 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beats Hostel Sao Paulo is a PARTY Hostel. City center, 400meters from the metro on vibrant Avenida Paulista, close to the clubs, bars and restaurants. Free daily Beats Shot of cachaca with acai!Beats hostel has a lively Bar, 6 clean showers, daily cleaning and free buffet breakfast with fruits, ham, cheese, milk etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beats Hostel Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beats Hostel Sao Paulo Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beats Hostel Sao Paulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.