We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mori Sushi Ohta

Mori Sushi Ohta
Rua Da Consolacao, 3610, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01416-000, Brazil
+55(11)3898-2977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 24,921 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good sushi, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I like Japanese food, sushi, sashimi and tempura in particular but I am not a big fan of fusion Japanese food...strawberries on sushi is quite an interesting idea..not for me, nor is cream cheese in any disguise.
My fellow diners enjoyed it, the place is buzzing, food is fresh and there is a great choice to be had...if you ask for it.
Like other reviewers, it's very good as a concept, particularly the service but its not excellent Asian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    136
    43
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grasse, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“overhyped or wrong name....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I read all this wonderful and poetic reports about this restaurant, so we rushed today to go there and experience a new way of Japanese sushi cuisine. Well, to be honest - we could not find it. The staff is very friendly, the salmon (plenty-full) and tuna (also plenty-full) are fresh as is all the other food. Some taste combination with strawberries or other sweet flavors - i.e. the ginger, very good b.t.w. - are special indeed.
But overall this restaurant failed to excite us. We have eaten many Japanese restaurants around the world, but this one is not any where near to the top - to be honest. The choice of fish is rather limited and although i went for their house specialty menu - it failed to excite my taste. It is simply a good average Sushi restaurant with friendly staff - so nothing wrong with it, but by all attempts i could not see where the many other reviews found the special aspect here.
So it will remain a one off visit, despite that the fish/price ratio was amazingly good - big portions!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had the executive lunch which consists of 3 courses. With the waiter's help I chose the "Executive Combination" as the main course. The items were arranged in a very attractive way it all looked fresh and tasted great. The service was optimal and I felt that I am sitting among people who are enjoying their meal as much as I did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely selection of sushi and sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can strongly recommend a visit to this restaurant when you want to take a break from the Brazilian meat dishes. I had a set of small dishes, which all were very tasty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ruins you local sushi place forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

You wont want to eat at your local Sushi place ever again this restaurant ruins it. It's amazing bothy the quality, range and details of the dishes served set a new level in Japanese food for me. You sit then they serve wave after wave of delicately prepared dishes that you may have never

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mori Sushi Ohta also viewed

Sao Paulo, SP
 
Sao Paulo, SP
 

Been to Mori Sushi Ohta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mori Sushi Ohta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.