We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marakuthai

Marakuthai
Alameda Itu, 1618 | Jd Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01421001, Brazil
(11) 3062-7556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 24,920 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Cuisines: Contemporary, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent, spicy food, very creative and still cheap when compared to similar restaurants in Sao Paulo.
For an even better experience, try Marakuthai in Ilhabela (same menu, awesome ambiance)!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    59
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Sao Paulo to have something different yet typical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Probably my favourite place in Sao Paulo nowadays. The entrees are really amazing, ranging from Brazilian cheese and nuts to shrimp crispy meatballs. Main courses mix Brazilian, Thai and Indian cuisines. Go for the chicken curry, it is quite different from what you usually expect. As for desert, the yogurt cream is something special. Presentation is incredible and the atmosphere is cozy. Prices are a little bit higher than the usual for Sao Paulo, but ok for the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Marakuthai is one of the best restaurants in São Paulo, don't miss it, excelent food, amazing place. Renata Vanzetto the Chef is a wonderfull girl that cooks like a queen. Amazing food experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I've been there a few times when in Sao Paulo. The food is always surprising, different and caters for all tastes. I'm allergic to a few ingredients that are common in asian food but the chef is alwasy able to make a modified version for me. Thumbs up from me.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have to tell I was there and was amazing, the menu is a surprise and everything was special!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marakuthai also viewed

 

Been to Marakuthai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marakuthai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.