We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second-hand type of hostel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 3Dogs Hostel

Save Saved
You added 3Dogs Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3Dogs Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Cel. Artur Godoi 51, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04018-050, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 360 Specialty lodging in Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second-hand type of hostel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Staff is great despite of how much work they have there (carrying heavy beer crates, cleaning the toilet - the poor receptionists do that!, cleaning ladies are never seen at night, place is usually a mess at night). Its not confortable to hang in there, everything looks very worn and old, like the sofas in the garden, dirty and torn with the padding coming out, and the hammocks stink like a bum had used it. The bathroom is always with a dirty floor and the toilet paper are hanging with a crappy pipe tube(?!). Dirty and very thin walls, to noisy. The owners made ​​clear his aversion to its customers, it is clear that the hostel is just a money-maker and everything will be let creepy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3DogsHostel, Manager at 3Dogs Hostel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to write us a review!

Im very sorry that you think this place is just a money maker. I, one of the owners, love living in this place, and try to make it as homely as possible.

As an owner, I haul around heavy beer crates, and I also unclog the toilet. I tell people about the best places to see in the city, and, if there is time, I have a beer with guests. Some of these jobs are dirty or heavy, and some are very enjoyable (the beer part ;-). I expect of my staff to do the same jobs as I myself do.

During your stay, we had problems with a cleaner not showing up to come to work regularly. We have let the cleaner go, and attracted some very good ones, that enjoy working in our team. Their spirit shows in their work.

Since your stay in October, we adjusted the cleaning schedule (bathrooms 5x per day) but they don't work at night, because these women have a family with kids. We wash hammocks regularly, and the new sofas for in the garden are coming next week.

All the best and enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
13
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Good location: calm neighborhood, close to metro and bus stations. And that's it. There are only two unissex bathrooms for the entire hostel. Bathrooms are dirty. One of them doesn't have a sink, so you'll have to use the laundry sink. My room had no window, the only daylight was through the clear tiles. They had a party until late hours and there was no cleaning until the next day. Definitely a no-no.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3DogsHostel, Owner at 3Dogs Hostel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Hi&thank you for your review.
Since this was your first time reviewing a HOSTEL instead of a HOTEL, we recon this was your first stay in a Hostel. Only 1 letter, but a world of difference. Perhaps you are better off in a hotel where everybody wears neckties, you have your own shower, and are not confronted with other cultures or parties until midnight. The first 4 words on our websites are "Your Party Starts Here!".

Your room has a window that opens as well, we have no idea how you could have missed that. Our bathrooms are cleaned multiple times per day, but there was 1 designated party toilet. Luckily there were 2 other bathrooms maintained in good condition throughout the whole ordeal. There were about 50 people at the party that had a great time, we're sorry to hear you didn't. :-(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Booked this hostel on booking.com and arrived to find out our double room was taken and only 2 beds left in a 6 bed dorm. After an 8 hour bus journey this seemed more appealing than finding somewhere else in Sao Paulo in the dark on a Friday night of a holiday weekend where everywhere was full. After going upstairs and lying on the potato sack like mattress we decided not to finish our holiday in a room in a smelly old house. After telling the owner this we were told it wouldn't be possible to cancel as we had now taken the room, even though they had done similar if not worse to us by taking our booking when they did not have a room. We then were given false information of an address of a hostel we could go to. I would not recommend staying at this hostel , we travelled Brazil and this was by far the worst hostel we have seen.

Room Tip: Do not stay here find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3DogsHostel, Owner at 3Dogs Hostel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review!
We are sorry we couldn't make clear the fact that you didn't have a booking with us, because your credit card was not working. We sent you email about the problem with your credit card, about 1hour after you had made the booking, informing you of the problem, and of our cancellation of your booking.
When you came here anyway, we offered you the only 2 beds we still had available, which you gladly took. After 2 hours of using the beds and other hostel services, you decided that you didn't want to stay anyway, and were not going to pay either. Even in the face of having customers leaving without paying for used goods, we took the time to find you another hostel. We are sorry that this other hostel did not have the correct street address on it's website, apparently.
Our mattresses are 1.5 years old, made of top-quality D33 foam, and we most certainly do not have any peculiar smell in any of our rooms. We trust that your comments were made out of spite more than based on fact, and regret you felt the need to ventilate your mall content as such. We feel we did all we could and more to take care of your problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Since the moment i walked into the hostel, i was welcomed warmly and received a bunch of useful info about the city and logistics. the people that run the place and work here are very nice. hostel clean and convenient to reach from the airport. beautiful park nearby! fede

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

i really enjoyed this hostel, we have stayed in so many in south american and very few have everything - if anything. 3dogs comes very close to having it all.... the atmosphere is friendly and warn. everyone is helpful , there is lots of common space, a good kitchen, cheap drinks, day and night activity suggestions, great breakfast, and nice rooms(bright, not crowded, with lockers). there is also lots of thoughtful touches that nicely wrap the whole package.... like hot chocolate and rum nights and music to shower too! Parking for motorbikes was also a massive plus!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

It's an amazing place run by a young Polish - Dutch couple, newly opened (as of July 2010). We found it by an accident I have to say, on one of travel forums, but the choice was perfect. It's located in a very safe area of Sao Paulo, near the convenient and fast subway system with many food shops and restaurants open till late. You can walk the neighbouring streets even at night, not bothering of any sort of danger. The place is full of young and energetic people, with whom the onwers spend time talking and laughing. Rooms are big and very, very clean, as the whole place is too! Great breakfast served in the morning. Go, stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

What a great, sociable place to stay. Clean, welcoming accommodation with very helpful staff and a friendly atmosphere made staying the leafy suburban hostel a joy. Conveniently located for the metro and shops, it manages to stay out of the hustle of the high street. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 3Dogs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3Dogs Hostel

Address: Rua Cel. Artur Godoi 51, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04018-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 360 Specialty lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 3Dogs Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big City Oasis. Peaceful Green Neighborhood. We've recently moved and refurbished our private rooms, and some of our dormitories. Check out Our pictures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your 3Dogs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3Dogs Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3Dogs Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.