We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Julio Prestes Cultural Center - Sala Sao Paulo

The Julio Prestes Cultural Center - Sala Sao Paulo
Praca Julio Prestes, 16, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01218-020, Brazil (Centro Historico)
+55 (11)3367-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 298 Attractions in Sao Paulo
Type: Civic Centers, Cultural
Attraction details
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Definitely enjoyed the time here. Fantastic programs with nice atmosphere. a must do when you in Sao Paulo.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    298
    40
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Impeccable concert hall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This venue is considered one of the best in the world and I agree with this definition! Good parking, perfect halls all around to circulate, great gift shop, restaurant, bar, impeccable facilities! The concert hall itself is amazeing and the whole building was transformed from the grand early 20th century massive train station into a centre of excellence for classical music and the home for the São Paulo Orquestra. I was very lucky to be invited to a box to the first of only two concerts by Philippe Jaroussky! This was the most incredible way to be introduced to this umbeliveble place!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The only place in São Paulo with such an atmospherre for classical music with varied programs and real lovers.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a fantatic experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Definitely the best Sala in San Paulo. The welcoming is great and great program. If you ever have some times to spend in San Paulo you should go there. Need a reservation.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unless you are going for an actual concert, skip!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My family lives in Campinas, about 1.5 hours north of Sao Paulo. We brought my husbands family here and it turned into a disaster. When we first drove up we saw the most horrible sight I have seen: about 150 homeless people with makeshift homes, mattresses on the street, sleeping or openly smoking crack pipes in the middle of the day. While cops were monitoring!! I guess they only care if something gets dangerous for other people. When we got out of the car I was hit with the worst smell I've ever smelt in my life. There were pools of human pee and feces everywhere. I've gone traveled on trains in Thailand, lived through Carnival in Brazil and I have never smelt such an overwhelming stench of human excrement.

When we finally got to the entrance we learned that the train station is in the same building, I'm not sure how this sounds during concerts?? We tried to get inside but were denied entry because there was going to be a concert later that day. 6 hours later!! I speak Portuguese and even tried to pay the full amount and said we would be out in 30 minutes but they still refused.

Unless you are going for an actual concert I say skip this. The outside is horrendously disgusting with all the homeless people near the train station, and apparently unless you have tickets to a concert you will not be allowed inside during a concert day even if the concert is 6 hours later.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Julio Prestes Cultural Center - Sala Sao Paulo also viewed

 

Been to The Julio Prestes Cultural Center - Sala Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Julio Prestes Cultural Center - Sala Sao Paulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.