We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious hint of Indian Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gopala Hari

Gopala Hari
Rua Antonio Carlos 429 | Consolacao, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01309-011, Brazil (Consolacao)
+55 11 3283-1292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 28,834 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Consolacao
Description: Lacto Vegetarian Restaurant, with an Indian touch.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious hint of Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Unlike its cousin next door, Gopala Madhava, this one actually has a hint of indian cuisine and is not lost to fusion experiments that abound in the city... the pakoras are crispy, the tadka dal actually has ginger (when was the last time I had that in this city) and actual achar accompanies the meal.. so, my recommendation would be to indulge... remember, if you are expecting real, authentic indian recipes, you would be disappointed but I don't think you will have a bad time if you go to see what indian food in general tastes like. The service is nice even when they have a long queue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    72
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, affordable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It ticked all the boxes for us.If you go in lunch rush-hour, you will have to queue for a table, but I think that's always a good sign of a restaurant.

It is a set menu- different options every day. If your in Sao Paulo, you cant leave without eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good vegetarian lunch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

everything was new for me. the place doesn't look the cleanest one, that's why I can't give higher rate, but the food was good and I'd go again to try other sets.
there may be a line, but it's worth to try at least.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correggio, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“U.F.O.= Unidentified Food Object... but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was attracted by the nb.1 rating of this restaurant in Sao Paulo. Given the very low price range indicated, I was expecting something odd. The place is characteristic but very basic,nice area, mainly young people, fast turning tables. I ordered a set menu and got a few vegetarian dishes. Althoug I was unable to define clearly what I was eating, it was good. Spices were used moderately and left some room for ingredients taste.
I think that the 5 notches ratings of this place are all from vegetarian oriented clients.
I found no reason to rate this place more than average, and not certainly a place where I would dream to return : there is so much choice around!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice looking place but very average and bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Decided to go after seeing this was Sao Paulos number one restaurant on trip advisor as I'm a huge fan of Indian food.

The place has a nice ambience but the food is only average at best. I'm not sure if all the other people writing these reviews are vegan, but compared to most Indians Ive been to (including in India where I travelled for two and a half months) this food is very bland. Come to think of it lack of meat is no excuse as all the food I ate in India was vegetarian and was mostly delicious.

Each day is a set menu with just two choices. Today one was a feijoada dish and the other a pesto pasta - neither of which Ive ever seen in an Indian restaurant before! These are not typical Indian dishes. Very strange. The rest of the meal consisted of very bland salad and rice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gopala Hari also viewed

 

Been to Gopala Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gopala Hari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.