We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampa Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sampa Hostel to your Saves list
Sampa Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil (Pinheiros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 402 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good Hostel, in a nice part of sap Paulo. The stuff was really friendly and always willing to help. Only negative to say about this hostel is that's a little but price. But definitely a recomandation if you are willing to pay a little more.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
7
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're going for cheap and basic this is your spot. People are really friendly and it has a positive feel. But personally I would have liked a little more charm and comfort. The building is rundown, pretty bare. But hey, what was I expecting. For the price, it's a good deal. I wouldn't have minded to pay a little more for a little more charm. The place two doors down the street seems to be just that: Giramondo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Martino, I´m really sorry that you didn´t like our structure, but rundown it´s to much to say about the house. I don´t know why you had this feeling because in December we made all the maintenance for the high season and everrything is fine, but maybe you didin´t feel so comfortable, it happens sometimes when we are travelling... Thanks for your comments, we are going to check everything again and try to notice the problems that you mencioned. Best regards, Sampa Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What I loved about the hostel was it's location. It's in Villa Madalena which is where I would live if I had to move to São Paulo. Laid back, adorable area. The dorms are standard and clean. The common area is fine. The staff is helpful. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hope to see you again, thanks for your words! Best regards, Sampa Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hostel is very cosy and charming. The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything you need. The rooms are simple but clean and they do have lockers. The breakfast is included and very nice. And they still have computers with free Internet access for people who are travelling without smart phone-like me :) The hostel is located in a very nice area, you find a lot of art galleries and shops, shops with handmade things, a big library (they even have English books! ;), as well as restaurants and bars. Some blocks away there are also typical shops for shoes, clothes, ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love this place, clean, well equipped friendly hostal in the great location of Villa Madalena, the super cool are of Sao Paulo. But whats really special about this hostal is the staff working there. They are all very nice and make you feel really welcome there. They help you with all your little requests and know a lot about the city and what tourists might need. I could feel they are enjoying their job. I hope to be able to come back soon, cheers guys :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at Sampa Hostel for three nights and was very pleased. The environment was so nice and the staff so helpful and friendly so it felt like we had knew them for a year. Well almost. We got maps and all the advices we needed. The breakfasts was also one of the best on my trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Va
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed 12 days at the Sampa Hostel, and I highly recommend it! The location is great -- right in the center of Vila Madalena, a stone's throw from great bars and restaurants. Friendly staff, they took me in as a part of their family and made my time in Brazil very memorable! Thank you Sampa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Address: Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 402 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.