We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional french restaurant in the middle of downtown São Paulo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Casserole

Le Casserole
Largo do Arouche,346, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil (Centro Historico)
(11) 3331-6283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #631 of 24,929 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Traditional french restaurant in the middle of downtown São Paulo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is one of the most old and traditional french restaurants in São Paulo and yet it is one of the best in its category. It's located at Largo do Arouche which had is charm in the past but not it's degraded and dirty, however, it's worth the visit. The decoration of the restaurant is old but charming and the staff is very well trained and polite. The food is really great. I love the calamaris they serve there. Good options of desert although they don't have Crème brûlée, which is expected at a french traditional restaurant. The wine list is very expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    46
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

In a city full of outstanding restaurants, this traditional French Bistro stands out in its class. Excellent service, wonderful wine list and fabulous food in a romantic setting. Understandable why it has been around for 6 decades and a favorite for locals. As good as anything you will find in Paris

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Take your credit card...especially if you enjoy wine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited La Casserole for a quiet birthday dinner. It was a Tuesday evening, very quiet with more waiters visible than clients! Indeed, for the first hour we were the only clients! But by the time we left, numbers had swollen to 14. On arrival, one could immediately sense the classic style of this bistro, and the menu provided clear evidence of an excellent 'melange' of traditional French cuisine. We were not disappointed; the quality of food was everything we had been led to expect, especially the steak accompanied by a true sauce béarnaise. We were, however, disappointed by the slow and often inattentive service and by the quite extortionate costs of wine. Even by São Paulo standards, the wine was ridiculously and unjustifiably expensive, with the result that we had to limit our choice to an unexceptional bottle of Chilean red wine whilst still paying in excess of R$90. So, quality and ambience good but remember to take your credit card if you intend drinking wines, and try to avoid the early part of the week; it is most probably well frequented later in the week and on Saturdays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A classic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A great classic in São Paulo centro. The restaurant has been around since the 50s and standards have remained the same. It's a lovely wonderful place to go to for a lovely lunch or dinner. Great service, lovely restaurant and good food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I have greatly enjoyed this wonderful classic ever since we were married 22 years ago, and I believe that it has been there for at least twice that long. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Casserole also viewed

 

Been to Le Casserole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Casserole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.