We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Campinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Campinas to your Saves list
Mercure Campinas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Aquidaban 400 | Centro, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13026-510, Brazil (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johnston, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for Business Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at the Mercure with a group of business travelers. The Mercure's clean rooms and great complimentary internet make this a good choice for business travelers.

The rooms are clean and well appointed with synthetic wood flooring. I found the flooring to be nice, as it provided a more "clean" feeling than out of date carpeting. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. The bathroom is more of the same: a clean, modern area that has most of what you would need. My one tip is that the hotel's water pressure is astounding. The sink faucet will send water directly into your clothing if you are not careful. I actually flooded the bathroom by running the shower for 5 minutes as the drain can simply not keep up. Wireless internet is complimentary and works well. I was able to call home over it without issue. The Mercure's selection of television channels even includes some english speaking options, a nice touch. The only complaint is that the rooms lack irons, ironing boards, and alarm clocks. An iron and board can be requested, but the board arrived dirty and with holes in it. If you are without your own alarm, the wake up call is your only option...and the phone options are all in Portugese.

The location of the hotel is OK, and our group did walk to the nearby "Costelaria Carro de Boi" one night...but I'm not sure I'd suggest wandering around the area much after dark. The staff were all quite friendly, and the small restaurant has both buffet and menu driven options for dinner. For $20 a day I'm not sure the breakfast buffet is a good value, but does contain a decent array of rotating options. The exercise area is located on the roof, and has a nice view...but is very limited in scope. The same goes for the pool, it is very small and seems more targeted towards those looking to exercise. The hotel itself lacks a sundries shop, but the well appointed mini-bar has many of the things you'd want...even Gatorade.

In general, this is a cost effective option for business travelers in Campinas or Indaiatuba. You will find clean rooms, a friendly staff, and modern amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    368
    119
    21
    10
See reviews for
124
88
58
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

As many other Mercure hotels this one is pretty decent. The location is not the best but offers easy access to the main roads. Good service, clean room, good shower. For one or two nights on a business trip this a good choice. Pricewise, I always find hotels in Sao Paulo and Campinas expensive. Some other good options for the same price you may find at Cambui (residential neighborhood).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Modern public areas and rooms. Everything you would need in a business hotel. flat screen TV, minibar, business centre, internet access.

Most reception staff speak some english, some better than others and are generally helpful.

If you prepay for breakfast make sure that it is registered properly as you could end up with an argument on check out or in the dining room.

Dinner menu choice limited but food OK and they will go off menu if asked. Breakfast average but reasonable selection of fruits, meats and cheeses. Hot selection consisting of 2 types of sausage and scrambled eggs only. Nearing the end of my trip I would have killed for a fried egg as all hotels seem stuck on the same choices.

Parking at a charge but considering location in the centre to be expected.

All in all a good comfortable modern hotel but lacking character or atmosphere as hotels like this tend to do.

Room Tip: Rack rate is high so shop around for the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Clean, well-equpped, modern rooms with flat screen TV, refrigerator, etc. Friendly, professional customer service at check-in and check-out. They spoke some English. Excellent food in the restaurant. Free internet service. The only negative is that the downtown location had some surrounding neighborhoods that did not look safe. So I did not walk around outside after dark. However, I am a business traveler and this hotel was an overall excellent choice for me. I would definiitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I would recommend that the hotel is good to stay. Restaurant has limited options for vegetarians. No microwave in the room. No free water. Has 24h internet free. They has some English speaking staff as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Campinas

Address: Avenida Aquidaban 400 | Centro, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13026-510, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Campinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel offering 196 rooms. The Mercure Campinas hotel is located in the town centre, only 3 kilometres from the Cambui entertainment district and 20 kilometres from Viracopos international airport. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar, parking, meeting rooms and a business centre. The Mercure also offers an outdoor swimming pool, a sauna, a solarium and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Campinas Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Campinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.