We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Campinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Campinas to your Saves list
Tryp Campinas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here two nights on business recently. The hotel is well located in a relatively quiet areas that has a few bars and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. There was a large breakfast buffet with a good variety although not all of it looked very appetising. Overall an very good hotel for business stay in Campinas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr. TonyW1961,

Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to welcome you again at TRYP Campinas! We will be looking forward to welcome you back at TRYP Campinas! Best Regards , Jacques Bezençon – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    229
    54
    18
    4
See reviews for
59
49
19
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spend four nights in the Tryp Hotel, in Cambui, Campinas in early January 2013. This was a great location and close to restaurants. The Entrance and Lobby area was very impressive. However the bedrooms were very average for a 4* star hotel and the bathrooms were small. The internet connection was very poor and very slow (but it was better than no connection at all). The staff were friendly and could speak some English. We had breakfast one of the mornings and unfortunately it was very average and most the equipment in the dining room is also old and worn. However on check out the hotel receptionist tried to charge us for breakfast on two mornings. They did rectify this mistake, but it was done in such a manner that that they were just doing it to shut me up. (Of course this could be a langauge barrier, that I felt different than the way they meant it) but I did not like this attitude This is a hotel that could do with a big face lift. Once again the location is Excellent and the neighbourhood is very safe. Overall our experinece was enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Group T,
Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas for your stay in Campinas. We are glad to receive your comments about our location. We would like to kindly ask you to accept our sincerely apologies to not correspond your expectation with our staff receptivity. Your impressions are greatly appreciated and help us to improve the quality of our services. We have immediately taken all the necessary measures in compliance to the responsible area in order to improve this aspect for your next stay. It will be a pleasure for us to have a new opportunity to welcome you back at TRYP Campinas. Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My first stay in Campinas and I am pleased to have stayed in Tryp. Very clean and well managed. Personnel are multi-lingual which helps those of us who are not fluent in Portuguese. I was a little disappointed in the quality of the work out equipment; four treadmills and an elyptical, but the pool is great for lengths. Breakfasts are buffet style which allows you to get in and out quickly. Well positioned in the city too. Colleagues mentioned their air conditioners did not get cool enough but I did not agree with that criticism. I was comfortable with the temperature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. TravelNutFromPA,

Thank you for choosing Hotel TRYP Campinas for your first stay in Campinas. It is a pleasure to receive your comments specially about our housekeeping and breakfast services. We would like to apologize for not having fully met your expectations with our Fitness Center and we will be working to improve our equipment. We will be looking forward to welcome you back at TRYP Campinas! Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very comfortable room, polite and helpful staff, excellent breakfast with many options to chose from, nice swimming pool, small but well equipped gym, great location close to restaurants and shops, what else would you ask from your hotel in Campinas? My teenage daughters loved staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente geral at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ecrescia, thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for sharing your daughters´experience with us. We hope to welcome you and your family again at TRYP Campinas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, US
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Overall the hotel is good, it's hard to get to by car if you have never driven in Brazil. There are a lots of good restaurants and local pizzerias and bars near buy, Starbucks is 2 blocks away (opens at 7AM not earlier).
I have tried breakfast and room service and the food is good. The restaurant downstairs is noting over the top yet decent food with good service and a good option if you had a long day at the office. The staff speaks decent English and the communication was never a problem, I have asked about local shops and they are well aware of the local knowledge.
The taxi service is very decent during weekdays and it looks like a lot of local and international business folks choose this hotel because of the neighborhood. I feel the rooms are smaller than a normal hotel in US and they have a light colored carpet and the carpet appears very used and dirty, Bathroom and the shower is good.
I have noticed a long line for checkouts on Thursdays and Fridays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street as the apartments are looking right into your room. Stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente geral at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Ravifour
Thank you so much for choosing the TRYP Campinas as your choice in Campinas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service, the staff, the restaurant and the surrounding area of the hotel.
We hope, soon, have a pleasure to welcome you again at TRYP Campinas! We take this opportunity to thank you for your comments, which help us to improve the quality of our services. Yours sincerely, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed at this Tryp many times over the past few years. I always find it a pleasant place for business travel in Campinas. As many other reviewers have indicated, it is in a great location since it is within walking distance of a number of restaurants, and a Starbucks is only a couple blocks away.

Additionally - the hotel is not on a main traffic artery, which makes the nights much quieter and restful. I have stayed at another hotel in Campinas where this was not the case and the traffic noise kept me awake most of the night.

The only reason I give this a 3 rating instead of 4 is due to their exercise facility. It is sorely out of date and some of the equipment is non-functional. As a road warrior trying to keep in shape, this is an important feature to me, but may not be as important to others.

Given the choices in Campinas, this is where I recommend you stay if you are traveling on business in or around Campinas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente geral at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr Jupperman,
Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas as your stay in Campinas. We are very glad to receive your high evaluation about our services and location: Cambui neighborhood offers the best restaurants and bars of the city.
We would like to apologize for not having fully met your expectations with the Fitness Center. We will be looking forward to welcome you back many other times in the future! Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am stayed in this hotel during Sep'12 and Oct'12. Very good hotel in a proper locality. The location has plenty of Bars and Restaurants within the walking distance. Rooms in the hotel are decent for business stay. Very friendly people. Has a nice restaurant inside the hotel and also has swimming pool and a gym. Breakfast buffet available in the morning. Only thing about the breakfast is its almost the same menu every day, so if you are staying for a bit long long you get bored of that. Probably the hotel should try to have some variation in the breakfast. Other than that, a good hotel for business travelers. I'll be back again this Nov again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Campinas, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Anirban Ghoshal,
Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas for your stay in Campinas. It is with great pleasure that we receive your comments about our Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service, the staff, the leisure, the restaurant and the surrounding area of the hotel, which really is one of the best points of Campinas. We would like to kindly ask you to accept our sincerely apologies to not correspond your expectation with the buffet breakfast. We have immediately taken all the necessary measures in compliance to the responsible areas in order to improve these aspects for your next stay. We take this opportunity to thank you for your comments, which help us to improve the quality of our services.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back many other times in the future! Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Campinas

Address: Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Campinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia and Expedia so you can book your Tryp Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Campinas Hotel Campinas
Sol Melia Campinas
Tryp Campinas Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Campinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.