We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for the internet!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Campinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Campinas to your Saves list
Tryp Campinas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great except for the internet!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This hotel has the best rooms, restaurant, and location of any in Campinas, however, the internet is HORRIBLE!!!! I've never been more unsatisfied with a hotel's internet in 20 years of international travel. IT's supposed to be the #1 or #2 best hotels in Campinas, and they advertize high speed internet... That is a lie. We travel on business, and need true, high speed internet and I doubt I'll stay here again because of it. It's too bad, it's a nice hotel - a little pricey, but good all around. Also, the mini bar chick was stealing the hotel maid's tips.. after I complained, she won't refill the mini bar...

If it weren't for the HORRIBLE internet, I'd give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    229
    54
    18
    4
See reviews for
59
49
19
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good hotel located in a convenient and safe area. Several options of restaurants, bars, coffee shop (Starbucks) and bakeries just a few blocks away. Breakfast is good so is the room service. Reception staff is kind and efficient. Pricewise it's slightly cheaper than Mercure and much cheaper than Royal Palm Tower. Brazil is becoming an expensive country to visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the back yard if you need to stay working in your room. There's a high school...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very good hotel. Big and comfortable beds, clean rooms, very quiet at night. Close to stores and restaurants. Great breakfast. However, I needed them to post a postcard for me (something ive never had a problem with anywhere else in the world) and they were not helpful at all, the person checked many things in the computer and after 10 long minutes said she couldnt do it and acted as if it was something so difficult to be done, I had to come back the following day and ask someone else, which I found annoying. But i would stay again, good experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José dos Campos, Brasil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed on this hotel for 3 weeks on a business trip.
The room is good, the breaksfast is very good.

But the best thing about this hotel it is location.

It's on the Cambui region of Campinas. This is the busiest night life neighborhood on Campinas.
With a short walk from a lot of restaurants, bars.
You'll find something to do every night and very close from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was also a nice place for us and we were very comfortable in here. This hotel was less noisy, as this was located in the middle of a residential area. Close to the central square,

Nice and friendly staff, not very fluent in English, nice and confortable room, spacious restaurand which is adjacent to the poolside.

The hotel had a good variety for breakfast. I would recommend this place who wants a quite and a cool place to spend their day

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We like hotels to be well located, we like them to be safe (of course), but high on my list is somewhere I can sleep ! Unfortunately (for me), this is not high on this hotels list.
So what is wrong ? - Lets start with ...........
The Walls - Walls are thin, I can hear voices, coughing and TV through them
The Ceiling - The same as walls, but you can add foot steps and shower noise too
The Windows - Not a problem on the front because the road is quiet
The Doors - VERY clunky and noisy, you can not only post my bill under the door, you could deliver my luggage. So lots of noise leakage from the hallway, such as the chamber maids, who feel the need to shout down the hallway early morning, every morning - Ok well I am off to the Marriott for the weekend, just to get some sleep

Room Tip: Top floor would rule out Ceiling noise form above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I try to stay at this hotel every time I'm in Campinas. The room is what you'd expect from a business hotel, simple furniture, a desk and no carpet on the floor. Staff is friendly and work to accommodate your needs. But what I really enjoy about it is the location. It's in the Cambui area, walking distance to the best bars and restaurants in town, very safe and quiet. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Campinas

Address: Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Campinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia and Expedia so you can book your Tryp Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Campinas Hotel Campinas
Sol Melia Campinas
Tryp Campinas Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Campinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.