We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castelmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castelmar Hotel to your Saves list
Castelmar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Felipe Schmidt, 1260 - Centro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010002, Brazil (Formerly Bristol Castelmar Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Florianopolis
Joinville, SC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The site of the hotel shows many nice photos of good accomodations and premises. However, when I got to the hotel, first of all, I received very bad treatment from the recepctionists, who were all rude and totally lost. The elevator is really old and kind of scary.
Still, my biggest disappointment was when I got to the bedroom. It lacked safety, it had very old furniture, it was not perfectly clean and not comfortable at all. The bathroom was filthy and there was a very old shower.
There were some stains on the bed blankets (don't know if it was blood or wine), the curtains were dirty and didn't open properly and I could not leave the hotel because I was afraid someone would break into the room as anyone could enter just by kicking the door. Fortunately I only stayed there for one night. I have taken many pictures to confirm what I am writing here. Please, don't stay at Castelmar in Florianópolis.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    89
    101
    38
    27
See reviews for
69
43
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurth, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I and a job mate stayed there during 3 nights. The room was old fashion and dark. The furniture old and the toilet didn´t present a very good appearance…the courtains could not be opened properly, 3 lamps were broken and the mini hygienic shower didn´t run. The key electric system was supposed to turn the devices off, but didn´t work as well.
The cable TV broke on the second night and I couldn´t access the Wi-Fi net, which we considered very complicated to understand. It had too many login pages and passwords to deal with. By the way, the TV was standard, not LCD, what was not a big issue.
The gym room was equipped with 3 treadmills and some weights. There were no equipments to work muscles.
We learned that this hotel had been originally a normal residential building and has been switched to a hotel afterwards. We also learned that Tower 1 (or A) was refurbished and looks nice, but Tower 2 (or B) is still looking like the 80´s (or 70´s…). Our room (515) was located in Tower 2.
There was a kind of living room with absolutely no utility at all.
By the way, 515 had 2 bedrooms and this huge (for Brazilian standards) living room. No decoration was a feature that really impressed us (not in a good way…).
The breakfast was reasonable, in the last day its air conditioner was not working properly. The staff was friendly. During the check out I reported these issues to the front desk and one lady simply give me a form to fill in…

Room Tip: Tower A is newer than Tower A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João Francisco M, Gerente at Castelmar Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Fred
We appreciate your feedback and we would like to clarify that our hotel has changed its management in early 2012 and has been through some refurbishing to better serve our guests. We would like to apologise and invite you for the next time in Florianopolis come to check out our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Old and dirty hotel in a very nice city. Needs major restoration and upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed at the Bristol Castelmar Hotel for 4 nights during a conference that was held at the same location.

Upon entering the hotel you are greeted with a large loby, with some interesting decoration and your typical cocktail bar. Checking in to the hotel was done with ease, no complaints there.

Opening up my hotel room door, I found a large "apartment" like room (because that's what it really was; an "apartment" hotel). A reasonably large living room, with a sofa, a table and some chairs. To one side of the living room was the bathroom, probably the worst part of the room. The bathroom was tight, and while not dirty, never seem to be very hygenic. Thankfully, clean towels were provided daily. The bedroom itself was also large and offered complete cable service. While the bed was nothing special, it was sufficiently comfortable for a good nigth's sleep.
The major fault of the room was the lack of drapes to stop neighbors from above to sneek a peak into the living room.

The morning breakfast was complete and offered a vast selection of breads, fruits and juices. Hot foods weren't vast but those that were offered were well prepared.

In terms of location, it isn't far from the local market (10-15min by foot) or the large shopping mal (20-25min).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I need to stay in this hotel, due to a meeting. All the others are sold out.
They gave the worst apartament they had: Apartment 104. It is on street level, so it was not possible to open the windows. The guy in the front desck said that they had problems with security in the past, so due to this they lock the windows.
When you look throguth the glass you just see the street and a office that is no more than 5 meters from the hotel.
The apartament has a lot of space, but everything is old. The staff is OK.
Florianopolis has a hundred of better hotels. Even if you need to stay in dwontown I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castelmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelmar Hotel

Address: R. Felipe Schmidt, 1260 - Centro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010002, Brazil (Formerly Bristol Castelmar Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelmar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castelmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Florianopolis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelmar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.