We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Cost Benefit Ratio for the Center of Florianopolis Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valerim Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valerim Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Valerim Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Felipe Schmidt, 705 | Centro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010-001, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Florianopolis
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Top Cost Benefit Ratio for the Center of Florianopolis Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Last December, as part of promoting campaign, I spent 4 ( four) days at the beautiful Florianópolis and found Valerim Plaza through a site.

The hotel is part of a chain and has been renovated. The entrance is very nice, and has a cozy coffee / lounge area. The rooms are tidy, and the room service efficient. I had 3 meals there and all had good quality. The breakfast though was the best, huge. Great variety of fresh fruits and hot meals. They have a restaurant for the day and night.

The staff could get some improvement, in terms of "refinement", but overall , the sympathy made the difference.

The best quality: The centrality ( close to everything and you can move around without having to use a car) and cost benefit ratio. You clearly pay for a "3 star hotel" staying in a "4 star"

Room for improvement: They need to have a pool somehow...

I would definitely stay there again, specially with the packages/ promotions they have.

Room Tip: Ask for the very top rooms on the back, since they have a slight view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    90
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
28
7
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is neat and clean with a friendly and helpful staff. The April rate was reasonable in an otherwise expensive town. It's within an easy walk of the main bus station and tha market and 15 minutes from the Beira Mar boulevard. On the other hand, if you're in Floripá for the beaches, you may want to stay closer to them. If you rent a car, the beaches ar easily reachable, but beware of the beastly return traffic in the early evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Centrally located, nice breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Beds need some improvent. Air conditioning a bit noisy. Walking distance from the bus depot and the municipal market. One of the elevators broke down while I was there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

despite being quite pleased by how it looked on first arriving, this turned out to be a fairly standard business type hotel. To be fair,the breakfast was fantastic, but that's about all. The guy who checked us in was curt, he failed to activate the Wi-Fi connection for us, and the next day when I reported to him that there were tiny ant like creatures crawling around the room and bathroom that had clearly bitten me, he just shrugged his shouldered and said 'allergy'! The price was pretty good, as was the location, so I'm sure people will carry on choosing it - just don't expect too much if thou do. It's okay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the bed was large. The buffet breakfast was extensive, including fresh fruit, eggs and cake. Compared with other locations on our travels the hotel was expensive, but we were pleased with the comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of the long-distance bus station with your luggage and a short walk to the Mercado Central and the local bus station. We were surprised there were no bars or restaurants near the hotel, but found some within 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

i stayed in this hotel only one night (fortunately!) for 136 real.
rooms are freezing: i asked if i could have a warmer room, and they had no heating!i had to sleep with the sweater on.
Water in the room was cold, staff not kind and helpful at all, rooms are old fashioned and blankets have stains.
i found in brazil much nicer places for less than 136 real! I wouldn't suggest it to anybody.
Only breakfast and location (near the omnibus station) are ok.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza705, Manager at Hotel Valerim Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest, We’d like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
But in order to improve our rooms and our service, we’d like to know if you could contact us to find out which room you stayed so we can improve the room facilities and solve the problems you encountered.
It is very disappointing to us that you had this trouble during your stay with us, but we can assure you that measures have been taking in relation to the customer service.
We are really looking forward to hearing from you, so we can take some actions in relation to the bedroom too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010 via mobile

Used the hotel for three nights as a base for planning an extended stay in Floriaopolis. The room was fairly basic and somewhat noisy, but clean and functional. Staff was quick and attentive, readily available to help out with directions and information on the city. Breakfast was very tasty with a good variety.
Location is great for anything in the city center, within walking distance from most points of interest. Especially with the weekend discounts available, this hotel us a good value-for-money option in Florianopolis.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valerim Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valerim Plaza

Address: Rua Felipe Schmidt, 705 | Centro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valerim Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valerim Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valerim Plaza Florianopolis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valerim Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.