We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved IT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoa Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lagoa Hostel to your Saves list
Lagoa Hostel
Rua Jose Henrique Veras 469, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved IT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

i hardly make any reviews... but this place made me feel like home. I ended up staying 2 weeks more than expected. everybody is nice, speak several languages and take care of you. Loved it. Would recommend to anyone !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
21
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Has the potential to be good - common areas seem impressive. However the room we were in was more like a porter cabin which is fine if it's clean but found lots of hairs in the bed and bathroom plus bedbugs. Bedbugs not just in our bed. Curfew on AC, no cups to be found, dirty crockery and fly ridden breakfast! Wouldn't return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a great hostel...we stayed in the private room with Air-con (which is only on from 8pm to 10am) we never made it to breakfast as we were always out partying...no thanks to the brilliant staff who knew where to go! They have lots of amazing recommendations for beaches as well. The location is superb; super safe area of Floripa, several big supermarkets, shops and bars. 2 big banks on the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erechim, RS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went to floripa for a weekend and I had a great time, the hostel is very clean and pretty new facilities, also they are under construction for a new meeting area, very nice! the staff was very attention giving us the best options about the night life, in special Rafael very nice guy. The hostel is just about few blocks from nice bars, pub and clubs, also, there are restaurants, banks and pharmacies all very close. I really recomend this hostel, when I come back to floripa for sure I will stay there.

Room Tip: all dorms are very nice, in the 2nd floor I believe they are little bit more quite than downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at Lagoa for about 4 days i think. We found the staff very helpful and they offered very good service. There is a free bus transfer to the beach, which is nice because it is a long walk. They do different beaches every day i think.

The hostel had a good atmosphere, and the staff always knew what was going on and what to see and do. Breakfasts are typical brasilian hostel breakfasts and not as substantial as we are used to in europe. but it will keep you going for a couple of hours.

This hostel exceeded our expectations and i am happy to recommend this hostel for any travelers heading to Florianapolis and santa catarina.

Room Tip: i would recommend staying in a room with no more that 4 beds, but that is my opinion. of course the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froideville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel is nice and well located (even though barra de lagoa is better). But the staff is very laid-back and propose tour that are cancelled at last minute because there's not enough people (so you lost half a day waiting for nothing).
They claim to have big discounts on club entry and bars, but eventually it doesn't work so you end up buying beers at supermarked and going to the lake side.
Without any prior warning, they raised the price for carnaval and announced that the same morning... not very nice as people are stuck there...
Won't recommend overall.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Spent xmas here and agree with everything the other reviews say. Only to add that the other travellers staying also seemed particularly friendly and it was a good place to meet people.
for anyone looking for a cheap eat Qurebims? is 5 mins away which has a good quality kilo buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoa Hostel

Address: Rua Jose Henrique Veras 469, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 309 Specialty Lodging in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lagoa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoa Hostel Florianopolis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.