We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended Offside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos to your Saves list
Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos
Street Rozalia Paulina Ferreira, 2776 | Costa de Dentro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 220 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mannheim, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Recommended Offside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Beside the Floripa crowds and flanking the National Parc Lagoa do Peri, the pousada sitio dos tucanos offers a perfect option to stay some relaxed days on Santa Catarinas famous Island. Located in the south, about two KM beyond the Village of Pantanao do Sul, you’ll find a huge green hillside property. Very basic, but clean and cozy guestrooms are available in the main house as well in a ‘longhouse’ as known from Borneo. Longhouse-rooms have balcony without any spectacular visibility, therefore with a burbling creek outside and surrounded from the atlantic rainforest. Good breakfast, friendly hosts, a naturally pool and spectacular scenic flight performed from the two domestic Macaws every morning. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Deep in to the hillside, surrounded by lush Atlantic Rainforest, is the rustic guest house owned by German expatriate- Gerta. Simple accommodation in original rustic cottages situated next to a river- which enhances the serenity of this environment. Rooms are basic but clean. There are no modern facilities like TV, internet etc. This pousada is about being with nature. It is simply wonderful if you want to be remote- physically and spiritually.
A naturally dammed rock swimming pool with lovely grass area to relax on. Beautiful views of valley below and beach (which is about 3km away). There are bicycles for guests use, but a vehicle is really required if you want to go anywhere urban. The warmth of your host Gerta and her team- including two toucans- make this an ideal retreat for those wanting to escape the trappings of modern day life. There is a restaurant on site with homey, healthy meals. This guesthouse’s extensive grounds and natural environment make it a perfect place for a secluded yoga or meditation retreat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My partner and I stayed here while visiting friends near Florianopolis. After seeing what the scene was like in Florianopolis, we sought out a small guesthouse off the beaten path. Luckily we found this pousada, for it was perfect for us. About 30 acres embrace the main house and lodge, and the auxiliary rooms. The pousada has the cleanest, tastiest water I've had anywhere in Brasil.

The owner, Gerta May, was attentive to all our needs, and we found this to be a really relaxing place to stay, and especially loved the nature trail that goes up the mountain and around the property, with a small creek running through it. Lots of birds! We were fortunate to see toucans while there.

The check is experienced in world cuisine (he's from Germany), and also makes Auyurvedic meals. As a vegetarian, I was very pleased with his delicious offerings. We ate both breakfast and dinners at the lodge. Outstanding food!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

While planning a visit to the beautiful island of Santa Catarina, I was having difficulty in finding accommodation far from the restless crowds - until I found the Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos. This gem of a guest house is located at the end of a dirt road, high on verdant hill overlooking the fishing village of Pantano do Sul, near the southern tip of the island.

If you savour peace and quiet, and rustic and charming accommodations appeal to you, then I highly recommend this pousada. The property is surrounded by lush forest, and the main guest house is situated next to a percolating stream. The view over the village and out to the ocean is stunning.

The innkeeper, Gerta May, is warm and charming and has many excellent recommendations. Much of the island is over developed, but Gerta May knows where the most beautiful beaches and colonial towns are located. Our stay at this pousada was the highlight of our visit to the south of Brazil. It was refreshing, relaxing and most enjoyable.

  • Liked — Location, lodging, hospitality
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos

Address: Street Rozalia Paulina Ferreira, 2776 | Costa de Dentro, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jantar e massagem com solicitacao antecipada. 1 Translado por dia para proxima praia como cortesia. Distancia da praia mais proxima: 2 KM. Translado para aeroporto: R$ 70,00. Internet wi-fi funciona proximo a recepcao, nao abrangendo todos aptos. Piscina com agua natural. Agua mineral. O diferencial da pousada e a natureza abundante. Mata atlantica conservada, vista para mar, trilhas, corregos, passaros, borboletas, aliados a tranquilidade e otimo atendimento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos Florianopolis, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Sitio Dos Tucanos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.