We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best day of my vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Public Market

Central Public Market
XV de Novembro Plaza | Glênio Peres Square, Downtown, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
+55 (51) 228.9513
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Shopping in Porto Alegre
Type: Architectural Buildings, Malls, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This neoclassical architecture building was opened in 1869. With over 100 shops and stores, there is great variety of options: restaurants, fruit and fish stores, and a famous ice cream parlour.
Porto Aleg
1 review
“The best day of my vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My mom and me went to a water park in december, 20, 2012. The name of the park was "Pedacinho do Céu". I think the park is very good and very funny, but the food is very expensive and the park were always crowded.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    177
    53
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A place to browse and shop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Central Public Market of Porto Alegre is a place where the locals go for groceries and special items. You can buy fish, sausages, crafts, religious items, spices, fresh produce, meat and the tradicional tea (chimarrao, yerba-mate) and all the acessories for it. Inside the market on the 1st floor has a few restaurants and coffee shops, one osf the best ones is "Casa de Pelotas" with a big number od sweets from the south region of Brazil and an amazing coffee.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's very worth to go and visit this market to feel the real spirit of Rio Grande do Sul!
Nice place to buy Mate, organic food or the best souvenirs from town!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Porto Alegre public market is a clean, spacious area, a great place for a stroll on a Saturday morning. There are many food and produce stalls, and you can also buy some regional souvenirs there. The food court is pretty good; I just had coffee there, and it was excellent. Don't expect to find many English speakers there. Parking can be a problem around the market. We parked a bit farther away and took the time to walk around the central area, which is quite nice and not so busy on weekends

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mercado Publico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

there is this coffee shop named "Cafe do Mercado" where i always go to have a shot of expresso, the best.. i bought 10 kilos last time i visited in May 2012, not all for myself but to friends in US of A craving for great tasting coffee. when in the area, make sure to try the coffee, you may have to get in line, but worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Public Market also viewed

 

Been to Central Public Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Public Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.