We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teton Teepee Lodge

Teton Teepee Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teton Teepee Lodge
Save
You added Teton Teepee Lodge to your Saves list
470 W. Alta Ski Hill Rd., Alta, WY 83422   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alta
park city, ut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was on a guy's ski trip in college when my old Jeep broke down in the Grand Targhee parking lot after a long powder day on the hill. Somehow we managed to get up and out of the lot, then coasted down towards Driggs where we were staying. Fortunately, we lost the battle with momentum at the Teton Teepee Lodge. We ducked inside to get out of the blizzard, and to call a tow truck. While we waited for the tow to come over from Jackson (and with the closed pass it took 5-6 hours), the staff and guests at the Teepee made us feel right at home. We cozied up next to the fire, the lodge manager brought us beer, and the guests in the lodge even invited us to dine with them! This place will always have a special place in my heart for the hospitality, great atmosphere, cool guests, and the huge warm fireplace in the middle! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Licking, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We attended a wedding in Alta Wyoming in July 2012. This was our first experience at the Teepee Lodge. Very warm and friendly atmosphere. Not your typical hotel / motel accomadation. Great way to meet other guests. The large central gathering area is unique. The staff go above and beyond to assure you have a memorable stay. Very reasonable pricing.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal. Double doors help keep it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 17 years visiting the Teton Teepee Lodge with family and friends and could not recommend it highly enough!
The folks at the Lodge make your stay and ski vacation the most enjoyable ski or winter vacation possible. Coming 'home' to a warm, cheery lodge caps a great day at a super ski hill. You can 'dine in' (after a day of ski boots not taking off your slippers is a great thing! Or go out if you prefer - the options are there!) The shared 'living space' is great fun - several families we met there joined the annual pilgrimage - our group grew from the wonderful associations we made over the years.
After your first visit, like us, you'll want to return yearly for the comfortable, casual, friendly atmosphere, good food and good fun (not to mention fantastic skiing for all!) They spoiled us for ski vacations anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Teton Teepee is not your typical hotel experience, even in ski country. This charming throw-back to the 70's is in a great location, with great prices, and makes for a memorable visit. Read on for more:

LOCATION:
The Teton Teepee Lodge is about 1/3 of the way up Ski Hill Road between the town of Driggs ID, and the Grand Targhee Resort & Ski Area. From the Idaho Falls airport, it's a bit over 90 minutes by car, assuming the roads are clear. It would be a little quicker, again depending on roads, from Jackson Hole. Once there, you're a quick 6-mile drive up the mountain to Grand Targee, and less than 10 minutes back into town for dinner and shopping. NOTE: Getting to Alta WY can be difficult at times, if there are snow storms. Routes 31, 33 and even the larger Routes 20 and 26 are prone to road closures during heavy snow. So plan your path (and alternate routes) accordingly, if the weather in the passes is inclement.

PROPERTY:
The Teepee was built sometime in the 70s, and in concept remains frozen in time. As you enter past the reception area, you find yourself in a large circular common room with plenty of tables, games (foosball, ping pong, ...) and a fire pit surrounded by padded benches. The "teepee" description isn't that far off! Each of the 17 guest rooms are located around the edges, and each room has a locking double door. Up in one loft is a pool table and television room, and also offers a shelf full of board games and movies. In the other loft are large windows with fantastic views of Grand Teton when weather permits, and a bar area that is currently closed (but will hopefully reopen soon!)

ROOMS:
The rooms are small but laid out perfectly for a ski lodge. Outside of your door, vertical pegs can hold shoes, boots or ski boots, and do so directly above a heating register, which will dry your boots out overnight. Inside the room, similar thick pegs hang on the wall for coats and other gear. There is no closet, but there is a storage area with several cubbyholes of various sizes for all your small items, and a hanger area for garment bags or individual hung clothes. The beds are comfortable and clean. The bathroom area has a sink/vanity outside of the main bathroom, and then the bathroom itself contains a sizeable shower stall and toilet. There is a vent, as well as heat lamp in the bathroom itself, again for drying winter gear better.

The room was comfortable and just the right size for two people. The bed was fine, though the pillows were a bit thin -- extra pillows or thicker ones would have been welcome. There was plenty of hot water available at all hours, though water pressure could have been better especially in the mornings.

AMENITIES:
In addition to the items previously mentioned, all rooms come with a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Fresh fruit, toast & bagels with a variety of spreads, instant oatmeal, cereals & cereal bars, coffee, tea, juices and milk were all available. Breakfast is self-serve.

The Teepee is really a very social place. Unless you're going to hide in your room, the common area becomes a very friendly place in the evenings. The staff and other guests all congregate, often around the fire, to read, play games and just chat. We spent hours one night talking over a bottle of gin, and the next night with other guests over a bottle of wine! Great stories from fun people. The good news is that when you're done, the double-doors to your room block out most of the sound. Despite the group in the common room, we never were kept awake (or woken up) by noise.

Finally, the Teepee offers meal delivery from many of the best restaurants in town (Driggs). Place your order by 5pm, and they will bring your meals back for you to eat at the lodge. They'll even add the cost of the meal to your room tab, to settle upon check-out. We didn't use this service during our stay, instead choosing to go out to eat, but after a long day of skiing at Targhee, I can see how this would be a great service!

STAFF:
In a lot of ways, the Teepee is more like a B&B than a hotel. The staff take pride in the quirky history of their lodge, and treat visitors like family. They handled all of our questions and request promptly and professionally, and were a great bunch to talk to. Top marks for service and friendliness.

OTHER:
The lodge was closed for about 18 months for remodeling and upgrades, and only re-opened this ski season for business. So, at least for now, the Teepee is a little more quiet and subdued than in its heyday. In addition to the 17 guest rooms, the Lodge has split-gender dormitories in the basement, with built-in bunk beds and storage lockers. They used to pack this place full of ski bums -- some paying for private rooms, while others opting for a cheap bed in the dorm. Due to building & fire codes, they can't re-open the dorms anytime soon -- 1970's construction didn't really take 21st-century fire codes into account! So that little piece of history may be lost forever, but in the meanwhile, the refurbished and re-opened Teepee does manage to recapture a bit of its former magic.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay! Give it 4-circles, since it's a great lodge but definitely not a luxury experience. The Teepee has unbeatable prices though, especially compared to staying up at the Grand Targhee resort, and a friendly and welcoming experience you won't find many other places.

Absolutely recommended to anyone visiting the area, but especially those skiing during the season. We will be back, without question!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We came for a weekend ski trip to Grand Targhee in early Feb 2012, and found that we were sharing the entire lodge with only one other couple. Apparently this winter season is quite slow so far (due in part maybe to the lodge closing down for renovations this past fall?), but it certainly made our stay in this one-of-a-kind lodge even more memorable! We hardly saw our lodge-mates - fine by us - and the lodge staff (only one person on duty at any time - like I said, *slow* season!) were very good at meeting our needs and then letting us enjoy the time to ourselves. Previous reviews have nailed the description of the lodge itself. Some things to note - there two nice loft areas, one of which is devoted to TV/game space, the other a small bar (not currently in use? but could be really, really cool if/when it is!). We also learned that the 'basement' had previously served as (divided) boys and girls dorms, complete with bunks etc. This place would be truly awesome for larger gatherings - family reunions, weddings, Scout functions?, etc. - Adults in the 18 rooms, kids in the dorm? Anyway, very impressed and really hope it weathers this slow stretch - this is the kind of unique, memorable place you just have to root for!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand junction, colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

My ski group rents a house or condo somewhere in "ski usa" or "ski canada" every year. This year we had the great pleasure of staying at the Teton Teepee. What a laid back, comfortable and cozy stay! The personnel are terrific, attending to every need and treated us like old friends. The food was very good and always more than we could eat. We enjoyed the concept of family dining and common area lounging, meeting people from lots of different places who were all there for one thing: skiing.
A tremendous place for families, couples, singles....everyone!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

My husband and I go on ski-fari every other year--Hop in our car, and try to find good snow. We rarely make lodging arrangements in advance--We use the internet while on the road to locate places, then stop in to visit to see if it's what we want. Sometimes you spend a night somewhere you wish you hadn't--but sometimes you find a little gem--Teton Teepee Lodge is one of those gems. The whole place looks like something out of the heyday of the swingin' '70's--sunken circular firepit, bar with dance floor, lots of little nooks with squooshy couches to snuggle with your honey--it also sports an outdoor hot tub, TV room and game room. You can imagine Roger Moore hanging out here in some vintage Bond film. The whole place is teepee shaped (hence the name), with private double rooms radiating out all the way around. A fabulous breakfast is served family style at 8 in the morning (put out a sign if you don't want to be woken up), and the hostesses remind you why people in Wyoming (some vice presidents excluded) have a reputation for old school hospitality. The rooms themselves are kind of spartan, but very clean, all with private baths. There are also separate boys & girls bunks downstairs--perfect for a group with kids, or college students looking for a cheap sleep. This isn't some self-conscious, so-hip-it-hurts place--it's the real deal, and close enough to Jackson Hole and Grand Targhee ski areas that you could do both in one trip and never change hotels.

  • Liked — The vibe
  • Disliked — rooms could use some flavor
  • Tips/Secrets — stay here to ski both Jackson Hole AND Grand Targhee--much less expensive than town of Jackson accomodations
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teton Teepee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teton Teepee Lodge

Address: 470 W. Alta Ski Hill Rd., Alta, WY 83422
Location: United States > Wyoming > Alta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles down the mountain from Grand Targhee and only 2 miles from breathtaking Teton Canyon, the Teton Teepee Lodge, family owned since 1974, offers you a one of a kind mountain lodge experience. Gather around the sunken, central fireplace with a cup of hot cocoa and share stories of the day, play a game of pool, ping pong or foosball, or just cozy up in one of our 18 private guestrooms with a good book. Whatever your pleasure, the Teton Teepee is the perfect place to kick off your boots after a day of adventure in the Tetons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teton Teepee Hotel Alta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teton Teepee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.