We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location mediocre service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Targhee Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Targhee Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Targhee Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 East Ski Hill Road, Alta, WY 83422   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Alta
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family really enjoyed the location, the ski lift, hikes, and pool. We stayed in the suite that could sleep 8. This was a 2 story room. The room had a microwave, fridge, table, 2 person couch, toilet/sink, and pull out bed upstairs. Not enough seating and odd not to have a sink with the "kitchen" area. The pull out bed was very comfortable but the edges of the bed were bare metal. My husband sliced his toe pretty badly on the corner of the bed and my children banged the corner many times. We had to put pillows on the floor to protect our feet and ankles. This could be a cheap fix with a plastic corner guard.

Downstairs had two bedrooms: one with two bunk beds and the other with a queen. At night we discovered the bunk bed room had no lights due to an electrical problem in the room. A lamp was brought in.

A plus is the quiet rooms, you cannot hear the ppl in the adjacent rooms. A minus is 1 shower for a room that sleeps 8.

Breakfast came with the room. The food was good but the service was terrible. Both days we had to ask for drinks. Both days we were told excuses, "we only have 1 person working or we just had a rush." It's not to hard to know the occupancy rate and be able to staff for it. The servers were friendly when you finally were able to get service. I heard someone ask the waitress if there was an ice machine and she didn't know where it was.

I wouldn't go there again because I thought the price of the room wasn't worth it. I'd stay down the hill in Driggs, ID.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very clean room, affordable, free hotbreakfast was excellent bonus. The grounds are beautiful in summer and the staff super friendly and accomodating- a little off the beaten path, but that is what we like in a resort. A+++

Room Tip: Teewinot is a little nicer than the Targhee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On July 24th, 2013 my wife, nephew, and I arrived late to the lodge. If I have a tip to give it's arrive while there's some sunlight left, because driving around the backroads of Alta can be very tricky. Once when we realized you had to weave around the mountain there sat Targhee Lodge. The rooms were older, but cozy. Thank goodness for the fan, because there was no air conditioner. The breakfast wasn't great...at least in my opinion. The pool was a nice surprise. Looking around there seemed to be a little for everyone...a climbing wall, ski slopes, shops, a general store, etc..The views from where this lodge sits are amazing.

-One last tip don't count on the GPS to work all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed one night in July 2013 in the building to the left of the registration building. These are very basic motel rooms. A bit musty, a bit outdated, the beds were not the most comfortable, but the room was clean and served its purpose. There is a full sized hair dryer in the room. No bath tub, just a stand up shower. I would lean toward 2 stars based on the room alone, but I'm pushing it up to 3 because of the prime location (at the base of the ski lift) and because the staff couldn't have been nicer. They were very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is another one of my fav's as far as a places to snowboard go, I have been here many times and its always a good time. This is a fairly large mountain and they get a LOT of snow every year which is what keeps me coming back. Most of the lifts are fast, they have on that's pretty slow but that doesn't bother me much. Its not all built up like it neighbor Jackson Hole, and it doesn't get nearly as crowded. I would take this place over Jackson any day, I recommend that day trip cat skiing as well, that always a good time, and on a clear day might be the most stunning landscape that you will ever ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I cant begin to say enough good and positive things about the management and staff at Grand Targee Resort. A recent holiday music fest brought us to the resort under very warm conditions
and a few glitches with our accomodations. Every staff member including management made
sure that our stay was incredible. They created a very accomodating vibe that made our experience great. although not the four seasons the attitude and welcoming nature of everyone at this resort far make up for it. I cant wait to visit again this winter. a laid back and beautiful place for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I just spent the last couple days doing some spring skiing here. It was great--especially for mid April. This is the place to be late season--reasonably priced and a down home feel with no glitz--Love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Targhee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Targhee Resort

Address: 3300 East Ski Hill Road, Alta, WY 83422
Location: United States > Wyoming > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Targhee Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Targhee Resort is a year round mountain resort situated on the western slope of the Tetons in Alta, Wyoming, accessible only through Teton Valley, Idaho. Located in the Caribou-Targhee National Forest, the abundance of light powder snow (more than 500 inches annually) and lack of lift lines creates a great mountain experience with plenty of elbow room. The Resort is continually recognized for its great snow, genuine western hospitality, scenic beauty, excellent value and commitment to sustainability.During the winter, Grand Targhee is your Powder Paradise in the Heart of the Tetons averaging over 500 inches of champagne powder a year and the wide open slopes will provide endless opportunities for exploration! There are two mountains for you to explore with over 2,000 acres of lift served terrain, over 2,270 vertical feet, and an additional 600 acres of terrain reserved exclusively for Snowcat Adventures. Make sure to check out their other snow activities including dinner and a sleigh ride, 15K of Nordic skiing, fat “snow” bikes, daily snowshoe tours with the Resort Naturalist and a full line-up of après music at the Trap. The mountain is about an hour drive from Jackson Hole, WY, an hour and a half from Idaho Falls, ID, and only a short 5 hour drive from Salt Lake City, UT.During the summer you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep the whole family content. From scenic chair rides, mountain bike trails, outdoor pool and hot tub to a rock climbing wall, horseback rides, fly fishing, dining, shopping and more, you’ll never find down time while at Grand Targhee Resort. Our mountainside accommodations offers quick access to biking and hiking trails and offer a central location for you to book any summer activity you can think of. Grand Targhee Resort is a magical setting for weddings and is ideal group gatherings and business conferences. With our breathtaking scenery, clean air and our secluded feel, you will be able to step away from the stresses of everyday life in our idyllic alpine setting. Four separate meeting rooms of varying capacity and our mountainside conference tent combines over 9000 sq. ft of conference space. Our full time concierge and conference planners can arrange everything from accommodations to meals, activities, meeting rooms, theme parties, off-site world renowned fly fishing excursions, golfing, and mountain bike guided tours. We have something for every outdoor enthusiast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Targhee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Targhee Hotel Alta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Targhee Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.