We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Targhee Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Targhee Resort to your Saves list
Grand Targhee Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Ski Hill Road, Alta, WY 83414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Grand Targhee offers a more relaxed ski getaway than the large resorts we normally go to. The lines were short the skiing was excellent, the pricing was competitive & the surrounding area is freakin' awesome. We stayed at the Teewinot Lodge, and found the rooms comfortable & got a good nights sleep. I will go again in the future.

Room Tip: We requested a room w/ a view when making the reservation & got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Honestly we didn't stay at the resort. We took a shuttle from Jackson and skied for the day. I liked it better than Jackson Hole. I am not a very good skier and it was better for me. It had snowed a foot overnight and the trees made it one of the prettiest places I have ever been. What was really cool was that you could also ski thru the trees better than anywhere I have ever been. It was cheaper to ski here even with the cost of the shuttle. I believe it cost $99 for the shuttle including the lift ticket and they picked us up right from the hotel in Jackson.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

And doesn't really have much appeal. Think Howard Johnson's circa 1975. The bathrooms are quite small and the rooms are as plain Jane as they come. I was originally given a room in the building just to the left of the registration building (room doors exit to the outside). There was an issue with the room (wasn't cleaned) so I was "upgraded" to the building on the right (lucky so). This rooms a 3, the other was a 1.5 and I'm pushing it a bit to give it the other .5. That being said the beds comfortable, the walls are too thin, but for $115 and on the mountain it's a fair value. And, honestly, I'm not here for the room, I'm here to ski!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our car looked like a white loaf of bread when it was finally time to leave. My husband and I stayed in the Sioux Lodge and appreciated the spacious rooms, microwave, and frig. If we would have had kids though, it might have felt crowded. We did have a locking closet on the balcony, for skis and snowshoes, much appreciated. We ate two meals at the Branding Iron restaurant, very good, and the fancy s'mores were fun. We are cross country skiers and appreciated access to the trails without getting in our car. However, there is one main trail, one mile long, to reach some of the rest of the ski area. It is a black trail, with hills and curves, so if you are a beginner, it could be a challenge. Also, if limited in time, say you just want to ski an hour, then a chunk of that time is just getting to the other trails. Overall, enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, quiet, friendly, inexpensive and worth the drive from Jackson Hole! The snow is phenomenal. On a given big snow day, you might make 5 runs before crossing another track. The hotel is nicely appointed with a southwestern flair. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge from Dec 20-25, one more day to go. This resort is a hidden gem and you can tell that whoever is running the resort is doing it right. Firstly, the staff are very accommodating in the Hotel and Restaurant. Our room was spotless every day and the Hotel is a "Green Environmental Focused Resort".

The room was much nicer than I expected with Brand New super comfortable beds, TV, Full bathroom with bathtub. We slept very well as we were skiing all day so did not hear anything after 10:00 PM. The Lodge is rustic in a good way with lots of local made furniture in the rooms as well as the restaurant.

You can park your car outside the lodge so you can see it pile up with snow, the grooming machines can be heard about 7:30 AM and there is some noise from people leaving early but not a big concern. The rooms are not sound proof but nothing bothered us at all.

I understand now why they refer to this as some of the best powder skiing anywhere as I experienced it today - nothing short of incredible. There was a good foot of Powder on many of the runs that was amazing. It is Christmas season and I think the longest wait in line was 60 seconds to get on a chair lift.

There is a kids area so this is an ideal family vacation spot if you have young kids.

We ate at the Branding Iron two nights and the food was great - I had the special Pork Chop with Ginger Potatoes and Beans / Carrot. My son had 1/2 pound burger with French Fries as well as a great salad bar. I was totally impressed with the service and the quality of the food - John's was our server and he was terrific.

We rented a car from Jackson and it is about 1.5 hour drive, we drove at night and it is a windy drive through the Mountains but was a clear night. I would recommend driving during daylight hours and looking forward to it on our return as the Teton Mountain range looked spectacular from the flight in.

In closing - this really is a hidden gem and if you want a Ski Holiday this would be on the top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just returned from 2nd Spring skiing trip at Grand Targhee. Was among the best vacations my family has ever had. It's not particularly fancy, but the facilities are clean and comfortable and the cost is reasonable. The Ski instructors are extremely patient and professional, and the snow is some of the best in the world (from what I've been told). My wife and I came with our 6 year old, along with two other families, a bunch of finicky New Yorkers. And we all loved it. If you care more about the skiing than the glitz, and you want to get a great family introduction to the sport of skiing in a friendly, comfortable environment, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Targhee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Targhee Resort

Address: 3300 Ski Hill Road, Alta, WY 83414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Targhee Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Targhee Resort is a year round mountain resort situated on the western slope of the Tetons in Alta, Wyoming, accessible only through Teton Valley, Idaho. Located in the Caribou-Targhee National Forest, the abundance of light powder snow (more than 500 inches annually) and lack of lift lines creates a great mountain experience with plenty of elbow room. The Resort is continually recognized for its great snow, genuine western hospitality, scenic beauty, excellent value and commitment to sustainability.During the winter, Grand Targhee is your Powder Paradise in the Heart of the Tetons averaging over 500 inches of champagne powder a year and the wide open slopes will provide endless opportunities for exploration! There are two mountains for you to explore with over 2,000 acres of lift served terrain, over 2,270 vertical feet, and an additional 600 acres of terrain reserved exclusively for Snowcat Adventures. Make sure to check out their other snow activities including dinner and a sleigh ride, 15K of Nordic skiing, fat “snow” bikes, daily snowshoe tours with the Resort Naturalist and a full line-up of après music at the Trap. The mountain is about an hour drive from Jackson Hole, WY, an hour and a half from Idaho Falls, ID, and only a short 5 hour drive from Salt Lake City, UT.During the summer you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep the whole family content. From scenic chair rides, mountain bike trails, outdoor pool and hot tub to a rock climbing wall, horseback rides, fly fishing, dining, shopping and more, you’ll never find down time while at Grand Targhee Resort. Our mountainside accommodations offers quick access to biking and hiking trails and offer a central location for you to book any summer activity you can think of. Grand Targhee Resort is a magical setting for weddings and is ideal group gatherings and business conferences. With our breathtaking scenery, clean air and our secluded feel, you will be able to step away from the stresses of everyday life in our idyllic alpine setting. Four separate meeting rooms of varying capacity and our mountainside conference tent combines over 9000 sq. ft of conference space. Our full time concierge and conference planners can arrange everything from accommodations to meals, activities, meeting rooms, theme parties, off-site world renowned fly fishing excursions, golfing, and mountain bike guided tours. We have something for every outdoor enthusiast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Targhee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Targhee Hotel Alta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Targhee Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.