We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family resort. Epic snow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Targhee Ski Resort

Grand Targhee Ski Resort
3300 E Ski Hill Rd, Alta, WY 83414
307 353 2300
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Alta
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Dining, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This resort is located on Teton's gentler west face and features some great powder runs.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Amazing family resort. Epic snow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were in Grand Targhee for 4 nights over President's day week. Barely had to wait in a line on the holiday and on the others days it was ski right up and get on the lift. It snowed every night and all but one day. We stayed in the Tower Residence right at the resort and it was perfect. A nice size for a family of 4. We could have easily fit a couple more in there. It was great having a kitchen to make breakfast and lunch. The on property restaurants were great also. We will definitely return.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    5
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Foggy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Not much for fresh snow and was so foggy the day we were here we couldn't see much. However did cat skiing 1/2 day the next day and that was great...fresh tracks, fun and good lunch.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best ski resort for your money and best natural snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have gone to Grand Targhee for years every since 1996. The friendly staff, great slopes, no lift lines and plenty of snow make it one of the best deals going out West. Our kids and grand kids all love to go there, and each has had their time in ski school, much to their delight it has given them the confidence to ski all the slopes at Targhee. The instructors, the staff and the whole mountain crew make it a joy to be there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Outstanding service and skiing at Grand Targhee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We go every year to Grand Targhee and always try to stay right at the ski hill. And as always, the skiing was great as was the service with the staff for the lodging, music, food and restaurant service. They held a room for us as we drove in from Bend, Oregon, not sure if we would get there before midnight, and sure enough, nice, warm and fluffy beds-slopeside made it a great end to a twelve hour drive. They have the best deal going for lodging and lift packages.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Powder in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was my second trip to Grand Targhee and it was awesome. We were staying in Jackson Hole, but found the Targhee Express (307-734-9754) which picked us up at the Jackson Lodge for the approximately 1 hour drive to Grand Targhee which is just 10 minutes past Driggs, Idaho. The trip is not for the faint of heart, as the drive takes you over Teton Pass. Our driver Jeff with Targhee Express is both a fantastic driver and skier. He knows the mountain well and gave us several good tips.
Grand Targhee is wide open and has terrain for all levels, but if you are an expert, this is your paradise. My 18-year old son and I were on a Father / son ski trip and decided to make the trip from Jackson and we were not disappointed. Deep powder, tree and glade skiing, it was unbelievable. Don’t miss the terrain off of the Sacajawea lift. This is big mountain, western US skiing at its best!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Targhee Ski Resort also viewed

Been to Grand Targhee Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Targhee Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.