We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but could be more cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gramado Cafe Colonial

Gramado Cafe Colonial
Av. Ernani Kroeff Fleck 1168, Gramado, State of Rio Grande do Sul 95680-000, Brazil
(54) 3282.2317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 291 Restaurants in Gramado
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food but could be more cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Was told that the famous Bella Vista Cafe Colonial is not the same as it used to be and that Gramado is now better. It does compare in quality with Bella Vista - and unfortunately price too, but they should re-think the ambiance. The place looks like a simple restaurant, and even though the food is excellent, comparing the cozy feeling at Bella Vista is not the same.
I do recommend if you don't care about that. And GO HUNGRY!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    162
    38
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“if going, don't have lunch, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Plenty of food, not counting the desert fridge. Good food and environment. A must go. I've been there many times, never get tired. Every trip I have one meal there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A lot of food, but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The food is nice and plenty, but too expensive for what it is. It is only worth it if you are very hungry.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This place should be shut down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Me and 5 other members of my family spent 5 days in Gramado and Canela and saved the last day to eat at the famous "Cafe Colonial". We were passing in front of some of these places and we decided stopping at Gramado Cafe Colonial because it looks like it has a great scenic view. I wish I could turn back time. It was the worst food experience I ever had in life. I still can't believe we had to pay 43 reais per person to have a awful and dry selection of cakes,probably recycled, fried chicken and pork and some artificial juices. The food was bad, really bad and the place is extremely cold and totally enclosed, so imagine having your feet freezing and eating the worst food of your life while you're being served by a grumpy staff! Don't waste your money and time, this is a real tourist trap!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, almost overwhelming selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Driving back from Canela to Porto Alegre after a fun day of site seeing with friends, we passed the Gramado Cafe Colonial around 5:30 in the afternoon. Not having stopped for lunch, we were famished. Famished is the operative word for anyone who comes to the Gramado Cafe Colonial. Not really knowing what to expect we learned that the concept of the restaurant is a traditional German/Brazilian breakfast brunch type meal that is served family style to the guests in your party. We counted 27 different dishes that were brought to our table, not including the huge selection of desserts after the meal, and not including white and red wine that we declined. We did, however, drink copious quantities of the never ending supply of grape juice that was replenished as if by magic. All kinds of sweet and savory breads, pastels, meats, vegetables, torta fria and basically any other type of food you could imagine was brought on platters to the table. The price per person is fixed at R$43 per person or around US$27. That includes the wine, grape juice, milk and all of the dishes brought to the table and dessert. Sodas, beer and cocktails are the only things that appeared to be extra. It was almost overwhelming, but terrific fun. We were concerned that the six of us could barely put a dent in the food that was brought but we were assured by the management that the leftover food is donated to a shelter rather than simply discarded. The restaurant itself was very clean and modern and the restroom facilities were also very clean and modern as well. Truly a great place to visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramado Cafe Colonial also viewed

 

Been to Gramado Cafe Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramado Cafe Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.