We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location close to Jackson and Tetons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Saddle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flying Saddle Resort to your Saves list
Flying Saddle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   18878 Hwy 89 & 26, Alpine, WY 83128   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location close to Jackson and Tetons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just 25 miles south of Jackson and much less expensive than Jackson accommodations, Flying Saddle Inn is a perfect location for visiting the incredible Tetons and surrounds. Vistas from upper rooms are breath-taking - Snake River and Rockies! Clean, reasonably priced, good restaurant and bar. Indoor pool, spa, exercise room, beer & wine store, etc., etc. We've stayed there several times! Will do so again!

Room Tip: Upper rooms with view of river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    67
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
66
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Flying Saddle Resort had a beautiful lobby with a liquor store and gift store available. The bar, restaurant, pool, and room were lovely. The liquor store had a drive-in window and a great selection of wines. There were beautiful mountains surrounding the hotel. It was peaceful and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. The room is big and spacious. The views around the resort are outstanding. The restaurant is overpriced and the food is not that good. We were in the older section of the resort. It was clean and comfortable and very spacious. The only other negative was the distance to and from the resort to get to Jackson. However, the drive was absolutely gorgeous. You follow a river in almost the whole way and you are in a canyon. We saw several Eagle nests too. There was a lovely place across the street that we ate breakfast at one morning. But $45 for a simple egg and toast breakfast is a bit much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent restaurant for evening meals and a peaceful location surrounded by beautiful scenery, it was close enough to Grand Teton park. Linen was tired, but everything seemed clean. Staff were friendly, we had to pay for breakfast but the internet was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Carolinas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were exploring the beautiful Wyoming area and drove by the Flying Saddle and decided to stop. The beautiful flower baskets hanging outside the patio, as well as a beautiful pond in another outside patio area drew us in and made us curious as to their food. Factor in the number of people already seated gave us the impression it offered good food.

Well, the food was okay, but not quite good. I ordered the french dip and the roast beef was processed meat, somewhat rubbery. Others in my family received their order wrong...it was returned and the correct item brought, but since we had to wait so long for our server to even take our order when we arrived (I guess we sat a table not assigned to anyone), receiving a couple wrong food orders didn't help raise our opinion. It seemed poorly managed and staff was confused.

But an A+ for the exterior decor, location and landscaping. Their gardener does a beautiful job...although our meals didn't satisfy us, our eyes were delighted to take in the beauty of their seasonal flowers. They do a great job in that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Flying Saddle Resort in the end of June. It was a wonderful room, a great view and the rate was affordable.
The rooms in Jackson Hole were quite high in price, the cabin we had was worth the drive from Alpine to the sight seeing in Jackson Hole. It was a 27 mile ride from Jackson to Alpine, the ride followed the Snake River and some of the mountain views are quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the cabins, they are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I arrived at this beautiful location with our two Australian Shepherds on July 14, 2013 after 10 days on the road returning to our home in Monterey, California from a month on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. First, I have to say that it is not easy to find acceptable, clean hotels that take dogs. We used Trip Advisor to help us find the best hotel in each town that accepted dogs. (Please note: very important to CALL the hotel first as at least 30-40% did NOT accept dogs even though advertised to the contrary.) This motel got good reviews which is why we chose it, but we found out when we arrived that the rooms allocated for pets are in the oldest, unrenovated building and were extremely dated. This was one of the two worst rooms we had on our trip to and from the East Coast (20 nights total).
On the positive side, the location of this resort is beautiful: landscaping is lovely and we enjoyed a cocktail on a bent wicker bench at the edge of a short cliff overlooking the Snake River. This was delightful and hard to beat. Also lovely was the new/renovated reception and welcoming front desk people. We had dinner in the attached restaurant on the patio (dogs allowed, but we did not bring ours). The food was acceptable, but not great: we had a steak which was overdone although we ordered rare to medium rare and two caesar salads which were smothered in dressing (one of my pet peeves) which obliterated any crispness the lettuce once had. The hotel wanted $9 per person for breakfast (the ONLY time we encountered a fee for breakfast in our 20 nights on the road, so we went to a wonderful cafe across the street and had a great egg/ham wrap.
When we opened the door to the room at 7pm after 8 hours on the road from Cody Wyoming through Yellowstone, we were transported to the 1980s....a flowered polyester bedspread, fake wood headboard and an old, dark, patterned carpet. The mattress seemed old and had lost any firmness that was once there. It was not comfortable. There were two sinks on a laminate counter in the bedroom with gold faucets. When we opened the door to the bathroom, we found a large room with beautiful carrera marble on the floor and surrounding the large jetted tub. I was excited until I saw the sign on the tub that said "Tubs Jets Inactive."
There was no microwave or fridge in the room, although there was a TV which we did not use.
The room seemed clean (although I'm not too sure about the carpet as the dogs were very interested and spent a lot of time sniffing in various places which is not a good sign.)
If these rooms in the old section are renovated, this resort will receive 5 stars.

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you have pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying Saddle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Saddle Resort

Address: 18878 Hwy 89 & 26, Alpine, WY 83128
Location: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying Saddle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Alpine, Wyoming resort offers spectacular mountain views, a steakhouse serving hand cut Black Angus beef, our famous all-you-can-eat salad bar, or relax in our western bar complete with saddle bar stools. Our relaxing and peaceful setting and convenient access to a wide variety of outdoor activities makes us the perfect choice for your next memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flying Saddle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Saddle Hotel Alpine
Flying Saddle Alpine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Saddle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.