We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go by your first impression - Praia Azul is wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praia Azul Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praia Azul Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Praia Azul Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Francisco Gurgel 92 | Ponta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090 050, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Natal
Vermilion, Ohio
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Don't go by your first impression - Praia Azul is wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My initial reaction upon entering our room at Praia Azul in Natal was not positive. While the common areas - the pool, the breakfast area, the front desk and library - were outstanding, our room was, well, tired. The furniture was worn, soft furniture had sloppy slipcovers, our chairs were way to low for the only table etc. That said, I would still highly recommend Praia Azul. Like the other 2 hotels we stayed in while traveling in Brasil, it lacked some basic "luxuries" like a coffee pot, dressers or a single clock. What it did have was space and a wonderful location at the less crowded end of Ponta Negra beach. We reserved 2 rooms on the second floor of building 3 - the ones with the Panoramic views. Our 2 boys stayed in one and my husband and I the other. The boys had wireless internet, we did not. It was available in the lobby and there was a computer available to purchase minutes. Internet was spotty but I'm not sure it that was the hotel or Natal. The beach was a short walk downhill and was stunning. There are vendors all over the waterfront renting chairs and selling all kinds of things. Breakfast was great with lots of variety of fruit, meat and cheese and breads. There were also hot items like eggs, sausage and the ever present manioc. Staff at the front desk and housekeeping were friendly and helpful even with our little Portuguese. Our room was well cleaned each day and the common areas were spotless. Security was highly visible all over Natal. There was a locked door to the beach that you had to buzz to get in and out of. This door was locked for the night around 8:00 and then you had to go around to the main entrance where a guard was always posted. There was also gated parking. Each room had a separate bedroom with mirrored sliding doors (could have done without that in the morning). There were 2 small balconies. The main room included a TV (the boys had theirs in the bedroom) with a couple English channels, a couch, chair, extra twin bed and kitchenette with sink, microwave and small fridge. The shower was great! Praia Azul is at the end of the 1.5 mile boardwalk. There are many shops and restaurants within walking distance though we rented a car for half our week so we could visit a couple of other beaches. Since we got a special rate of about $80/room /night oceanfront including breakfast, I think we got a great deal. I grew to really enjoy the hotel and would stay there again when we are in Natal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    102
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
81
70
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My wife just stayed there, nice hotel, but left the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the outside door, yet the maids tried a few times to open, but she turned them away. When she left for a bit to the pool, her purse was still on the bed, sign on the door and they came in and stole $500 real from her! When she told the desk, they could care less and said it was her fault.Yet, for instance, I had a place in Porto de Galinhas in December, where I left the safe open accidentally, and the maids left a note that because of this, they left the room immediately as to not cause issues.
My wife told the hotel again on checking out, and they could care less about the thieving people working there(I almost think they desk guys get a cut as well maybe).
Thieves thieves thieves!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Located at the north end of Ponte Negra Praia, just at the beach. The service was good and the staff very friendly. The meals in the Hotel are as good as in the restaurants in Natal and are quite cheap. The breakfast buffet is not huge but the choice is good. The rooms are clean and very spacious. It seems that the whole complex was built as an appartment house and not actually as a hotel. Therefore the rooms are actually appartments with a living room, something like a kitchen (without a cooker) a bathroom and a bedroom.
As the hotel is at the north end of Ponte Negra, it is a 10 minutes walk along the beach to the place where most restaurants and shops are located. There are only a few restaurants next to the hotel.
The hotel is nothing special and ranges somewhere between 3 and 4 stars. What makes it special is its price. It is very cheap (you might find prices at around 200 Real per night for 2 persons during carneval, if you browse the web), even cheaper as many so called pousadas which do not offer the same comfort and service. Compared to other hotels/pousadas in other places of Brasil offering the same prices, Praia Azul is just perfect.
Natal is a nice place but the trips (i.e. buggy trips, trips to other beaches like Pipa, which is 2 hours from Natal) are expensive (too expensive in my opinion) and normally do not fulfill the promises of the agents selling you the trips. It might be more advantageous to rent a car or buggy and to travel to the beaches and dunes on your own. Praia Azul does have parking spaces.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

The praia azul is a charming hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were cleaned every day & were of a reasonably high standard. The food in the resturant was good although a little inconsistent. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone with walking difficulties as there are a lot of hills/steep stairs etc to get up...in fact the whole resort is a climb! all in all we had a really enjoyable stay at the praia azul, which was one of the few highlights of which otherwise was quite a dull holiday. Ponta negra is a bit like blackpool during the summer holidays, the beach is very long but extremely narrow & tight & with all the usual chaos with a beach like this there is not much chill time to be had!! i enjoyed the food but leanne hated it so if you dont like seafood or steaks done rare then you'll be eating pizza & frango (chicken) all the time. A couple of good place to eat was the mexican cactus...now first impressions you'll walk away, it does need a good paint job & needs to get rid of the cheap plastic tables & chairs but the food is to die for. Felinni is a superb italian & boiiderio is a great steak house which is an great experience!! DO go to pipa its less hectic very sleepy hippy village where you can spot/swim with wild dolphins...the other highlight of our holiday! We flew with thompson which was actually comfortable & some how enjoyable, but when you fly with monarch i suppose anything would be more enjoyable. To be honest i dont we would go back to ponta negra maybe try somewhere else in brazil, one thing that struck us was the gulf between the rich & poor, its huge!!! we think we get ripped off for goods??? try being brazilian. one last thing if you think you can handle the sun (which we did!) then think again...started on the usual factor 12, went very quickly to 20 & ended up with 30....the sun is evil! you have been warned.
P&L

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — location & a member of staff stealing my beach towel from poolside
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogaz, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

This hotel has 3 blocks. I requested a room with good access and were luckily located in the front block with stunning sea views. The reception is on the top floor and has a ramp from the road. There is a lift to all 4 floors. From the ground floor there is good access to the pool area and bar/restaurant. The access is not so good for the other 2 blocks.
The apartments are delightful, spacious and clean with 2 balconies. There is no kettle in the kitchen although there is a microwave. The staff are very helpful and always smiling. The restaurant has a good menu and is very good value for money. There are plenty of other restaurants and bars within the vacinity. There is a fairly flat promenade at the front of the hotel which is about 1k from the centre of Ponta Negra and is accessable (although slighly bumpy) in a wheelchair this is reached by a very steep ramp from the front of the hotel. The beach is directly in front of the promenade and has about 15 steps. It is a lovely beach with loads of beach sellers who are very friendly and take no for an answer with a broad grin allthough there are many bargains to be had from sun cream to jewellery. The sea is quite rough and great fun but caution is necessary as there are no life guards.

  • Liked — Peaceful/no noisy children/no organised activities/sea view
  • Disliked — steps to beach
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in April 07 and can't think of a bad thing to say. The view from our pool-side room balcony was awesome - overlooking the ocean and watching the surfers morning and early evening was fab (surfers were really good 'cos the current is very strong - too strong to swim in). The room was spacious and well equipped with microwave and fridge etc but no hob or kettle. There was a separate air-conditioned bedroom that could be closed off (great is you've got kids!) and a small dining area as well as loung area and TV in bedroom. The pool area was peaceful and well maintained with a good sized pool and childrens pool. Although the reception and restuarant staff speak a little English, be prepared to learn the lingo - mainly Portugese - as Brits are definitely in the minority! (this is good 'cos you really know you're in Brazil - not Spain!!) The restuarant is fine with a good selection at breakfast and an adequate choice for lunch and dinner (try the Cuban chicken with the fried banana - our 4 year old loved it!). The beach is clean and safe but the sea is poweful, though we generally felt no real need to leave the hotel pool area. Locally, there are plenty of very cheap restuarants and the Praia Shopping mall about half a mile away is fully air conditioned and has a good food court ranging from steak to sushi. We couldn't do the buggy safari trip as our daughter was too young but the Mangrove Mystery trip was great. Property development is massive in Ponta Negra, so if you want a hassle-free holiday go soon, before the time-share ghouls start appearing! All in all, we had a fantastic, relaxing and entertaining holiday in Ponta Negra and the hotel was brilliant.

  • Liked — the views!
  • Disliked — not much for the kids to do apart from the pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed here over New Year 2005 for 2 weeks and don't have a bad word to say about it. I always read reviews of places before I go and was surprised to see no one had posted anything for this hotel. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach with a lovely little pool area overlooking the promenade to Ponta Negra. The breakfast was really good with everything you could want, fresh juice and fruit, sausages, eggs, etc. The staff were always very helpful and friendly and the room services was excellent. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the maids were again very frinedly and helpful.

I would recommend doing the beach buggy safari tour whichw as a good day out and try and get down to Pipa for the day and we went swinmming in Dolphin Bay where we experienced dolphins swimming really close to us in the wild.

In Ponta Negra there are many great restaurants which aren't expensive. When drinking you must try a Caipirinha, but be warned they are very strong. We had no problems eating food off the beach.

All in all a great holiday made better by the very personal and friendly hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Liked — Location on beach
  • Disliked — The Steps
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praia Azul Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Azul Mar

Address: Rua Francisco Gurgel 92 | Ponta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090 050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Praia Azul Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praia Azul Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praia Azul Mar Natal, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praia Azul Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.