We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rifoles Praia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rifoles Praia Hotel to your Saves list
Rifoles Praia Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Coronel Inacio Vale 8847 | Praia de Ponta Negra Via Costeira, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090040, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Natal
Uruguay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Nice beach resort. I usually go to Brazil on holidays, and I must say the service and style of the hotel si above the standard (take into account that even though places are beautiful, service in most of the seaside is usually basic tending to bad). The room we chose was a standard one. It was clean, small but nice, with a grat view to the sea and pools and a small balcony. Air conditioner, shower and cable tv worked ok. Each day the hotel maid brought us candies, tides & sun schedules, and weather forecast. They gave us welcome "caipirinhas", that we drank in the pool bar. Restaurant has a great view is lovely. Food is a little bit poor. One day we wanted to have dinner we had to wait an eternity, since they served rooms first. Breakfast is generous, and ok.
Location is superb since it is located in the beach, at the end of Ponta Negra. Far enough from the noise, but still close. 3 blocks from the mall, wich can be useful.
3 great pools, beach service, kids club with games and playstation, life guard.
In conclusion: a nice beach resort, greatly located, with great view. Not comparable to the charming and romantic pousadas in Pipa, but ok if you want to be in the beach but near the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    351
    124
    35
    31
See reviews for
313
308
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed in this hotel in february. The hotels itself finds it a 5 * hotel. Our Travelagency says it is a 4* hotel. We are well traveled in Brasil and know very well the differences in the stars in Brasil. For me this hotel is an overal 3+ star hotel.
Staff is very nice. Very helpfull. ALthough they do not have a map of Natal. They tell you to buy one in their shop (!!!!!!!).
The rooms are not big but they are very clean. The beds are excellent. This is a big plus. Great shower.
The breakfast is absolutely a big minus. They have the hot water but not the teabags. So almost every morning I had to aks for tea bags. The coffee is terrible. If you ask an expresso they let you pay for it (!?!?!?!) It looks like they have many kinds of breads but the taste is all the same. Old and dry. The lady that bakes the eggs and typical brasilian things is very nice. The music they play very load at the breakfast is every day the same: a kind of Glenn Miller. Annoying and totally out of date.
The location of the hotel is a big plus. Close to all kind of restaurants. And if you go to the beach at the hotel the drinks are much cheaper than at the swimming pool. ROnaldo and ROsie (his sister) are running a beach bar. Great caiparinhas and other cocktails. Rosie is a darling. A pity the hotel charge you for pool/beach towels. Bring your own. Great food the beach sellers make you. The pancakes (with all kind of fillings) are great. Also the fresh made prawns are very nice. My advise: Ponta Negra is very nice to stay. Lovely beach and warm water. Many foreigners. Go out for dinner to meet brasilian people.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We got there around 2 am due to a night flight and our room was smelly and hasn't been cleaned yet...we had to wait almost an hour for another room to be cleaned, and we were afraid we had made the wrong choice. But that's the only bad thing that happened in our seven days in Natal, the hotel offers a great breakfast (you can't miss the tapiocas with cheese or coconut and condensed milk, excellent location (in a central point of Ponta Negra beach, you can walk to go to restaurants and to the mall) and helpful staff members.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This Hotel really needs new staff ,the service is crap ,In the morning you go and have breakfest and tables are full of dirty plates ,the staff don´t even look at you if need your table set ,you have to do it yourself.the service at the beach is ok if get there early or else you won´t get a chair.
Everyday I got back to my room and never had towels nad to wait for ages to get them, had room with a view to a brick wall ,
No nightlife at this hotel not a show or live music.
The only thing good about this hotel is the food at dinner time.
Never going back to this dump.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

The hotel is beautiful and in an excellent location. However is not prepared to provide good services to a high demand of guests during high season.
A few basic problems: no enough waiters to clean the tables during breakfast. Not enough beach towels early in the morning.
You call room service and they take forever to assist you. Towels are replaced but they forget the hand towels, the conditioning, etc. You need to call to ask for it. The hotel charges rates for use of beach towels and for the room safe. All 5 star hotel dont charge for this. There is also a environmental fee which is ok but you need to be aware.
Anyways, if you dont care about good service and agility the hotel is OK if you plan to stay in tours most of the days. But if you like comfort and good service, be careful with what is promised.
They also sell excelent beach views and we stayed in a room with a view to a wall and there was no other room available to exchange.

  • Liked — the location and the view
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Went to NATAL, BRAZIL in Feb2006 with my girlfriend and family.
This was my first time to Brazil. I'm a Portuguese guy, and here everybody loves Brazil. I was not very excited before going. We hear a lot of bad things at brazil regarding safety, thieves, etc etc.
NATAL is not like big cities as Rio de Janeiro or Sao Paulo. NATAL is a piece of mind. I could walk at night in the streets and feel safe. I could leave my mobile phone and wallet in the beach while swimming in the sea and nothing happens.
Brazilians are a very happy people. In Natal, as other locations in Brazil, there are very poor people, but always happy with a smile on their faces ;)

Regarding my vacation: I enjoyed the hotel, its a nice hotel, very good location in the beach. Breakfast is very good, the rest i don't know because in Brazil i can't eat in the hotel. I LOVEEEEE Brazilian food, and Natal has plenty of good restaurants to go lunch and dinner. Its also very cheap.
In the beach i could eat Grilled Shrimps for 2USD (3 REAIS) and drinks for the same price. There are many sellers and people selling food/drinks in the sand. They can be annoying if you let them talk to you. Otherwise they will respect.

There is a nice shopping center just 10 minutes away from the hotel. Taxi service is also cheap there.


FOOD LOVERS............
Good restaurants to go: (DON'T GO TO NATAL WITHOUT GOING HERE, MUST GO)
1) EAT ON THE BEACH (Many people will offer you grilled food and drinks (Caipirinha, Caipirosca, Hula-Hula, Coke, etc)
2) TABUA DE CARNE RESTAURANT (MEAT LOVERS)
3) CIPO BRASIL
4) CAMAROES RESTAURANTE


Make a visit also to "Morro do Careca" At the end of the beach, and if you have time, DONT MISS a 1-day trip to PIPA, amazing water, virgin beaches, and with good luck you can see dolphins.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

We booked this hotel through Thomson in London having looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor. Just before we left we saw a very negative review and began to wonder.

Firstly it is neither a 5 star hotel (Brazil Official Rating) or in Thomsons view a 4 star hotel. 3 star at best... So disappointing from that point of view.

Service and attention to detail needs sorting out. We were not given the room requested via THomson, direct telephone and e mail, which were all confirmed. Then took 3 days and a lot of hassle to get it changed to one we asked for, wth the hotel not being very helpful. We understand other guests were very unhappy with their rooms also because they were damp and had ants and cockroaches all over the room and in the bed itself (very bad).

They had a habit of leaving food and crockery lying about for up to 48 hours outside rooms and outside on the furniture. They did not clean the outside furniture for the whole two weeks we were there. So cleanliness was a problem for us.

Room service was hit and miss as you never knew when they would clean the room and then they had a habit of forgetting to do things and on more than one occasion even leave fresh towels. Rooms were not that great either, with some things not working.

On the positive side the breakfasts were not bad, the location was great and resort itself was wondeful. Eating out was also fun, a pleasure and not that expensive, but not cheap either.

All in all we had a good time which was spoilt by the hotel.

Would we recommend it, definately not, but Brazil yes.

The Thomson rep was friendly, but useless because as he said to us "I can tell them about these things but they do not listen".

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Quality of it all
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rifoles Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifoles Praia Hotel

Address: Rua Coronel Inacio Vale 8847 | Praia de Ponta Negra Via Costeira, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rifoles Praia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rifoles Beach Hotel & Resort is a seaside hotel located at Ponta Negra Beach in Natal. It is close to the main entertainment centers and the Centro de Convencoes of the potiguar capital. The hotel has a great pirate ship themed structure, where leisure and comfort will be present at every moment.You will have fun and joy with all of your family in our pool complex with a team of entertainers and a charming view to Morro do Careca. You will also be delighted by a dining paradise with fine dishes of regional and international cuisine in our restaurants and savor the best drinks at our bars. All this and many other excellent services performed to impress you.Come spend your best vacation with a lot of sun, sea and sand to walk on at this paradise of the "City of the Sun". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rifoles Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rifoles Hotel Natal
Rifoles Praia Hotel Natal, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rifoles Praia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.