We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food plus an Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcao Rio's

Porcao Rio's
Av. Infante Dom Henrique s/n | Aterro do Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Flamengo)
(21) 3461 9020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 8,451 restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $25 - $139
Cuisines: Barbecue, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Flamengo
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food plus an Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was recommended this place by two separate Cariocas (locals) and I must say I was not disappointed.

This is a traditional Brasillian BBQ restaurant, the meats are endless and the tastes are amazing. There is also a huge buffet with salads, seafoods and other items that are included.

The service is very good (you can pretty much be eating right after you are seated).

If you come during daylight, get a seat by the window so you can see the amazing view of Sugar Loaf and Flamengo beach.

It was difficult to make a reservation so we just went to the restaurant directly and got a table (LOTS of seating).

Be prepared to eat too much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contato C, Marketing Digital at Porcao Rio's, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We appreciate your visit and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    865
    479
    197
    95
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maia, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What an amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great salad buffet, from carpaccio to great variety of salad, gambas to cheese, and even the sushi is unbelievably great.
great variety of meat, all very well prepared.
View to the bay and to Sugar Loaf Mountain is terrific!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“An experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a Rio institution and is popular with tourists, businessmen and local families alike. Great rodizio food, brilliant views. Been a couple of times and latest visit not as good as previously. The never ending procession of grilled meats is wonderful, but we were having a business lunch and the waiters just kept coming and coming with more food without taking notice of the "traffic light" system on the drinks mats. It has worked on my previous visits but it was ignored this time and my host had to slow them down so we could talk and eat in a more leisurely fashion. Shame, the service was intrusive.
Nevertheless, somewhere you must go in Rio. Really tasty food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contato C, Marketing Digital at Porcao Rio's, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific for meat lovers and also good for others”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great location and a very good restaurant. Basically a churrascaria and therefore (very) big on meat, it also has a wide range of options on the buffet for those who prefer other things. The range and quality of the meat is the best I've seen anywhere.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contato C, Marketing Digital at Porcao Rio's, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for - fair price considering good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I`ve no doubt saying that Rio`s best churrascaria (rodizio steak house) is Porcao. I always advice it to my friends from abroad (and usually follow them to the restaurant...). The price is not cheap, of course, but you really get what you pay for. Not only the barbecue is great, with many meat options; even my wife, who's not that meat addicted, enjoys going there because of the japanese and salad options.
The view is also astonishing, with Botafogo bay and the Sugar Loaf.
THE eating experience in Rio for people from abroad - although there are better, really gastronomic options in the city, but not churrascarias. Porcao is synonym for churrascaria in Rio (out of Rio, the best, in my oppinion, is Recife's Spettus).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contato C, Marketing Digital at Porcao Rio's, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting and recommending our establishment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcao Rio's also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Porcao Rio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcao Rio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.