We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa
Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo, 136 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST BREAKFAST IN BRAZIL!
Ranked #1 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have travelled a lot with my three now grown up children, and I always choose my places to stay by reading reviews of tripadviser, Before we went to Rio I did a lot of research, because I wanted to be safe nd stay in a nice place.We chose Casa Cool Beans and stayed there for four nights in July. It was the most amazing,fantastic and wonderful place, friendly, beautiful decorated,cozy,clean, and the best breakfast!
It is one of the best place I have ever been to! I am so glad we didn't choose one of the hotels downtown. The area is great, with the Gomez bar close, and very safe to walk in the area even in the evening.
The owners Lance and David were fantastic and helpful, not to forget the manager Sergio!
This must be the most hidden treasure in Rio!!
You feel at home and comfortable as soon as you enter the door.
I can recommend this place to anyone, if you don't want to stay at the tourist beach hotels. This is so much more Rio!
We will for sure stay there for our next trip, and I have already recommended it for my parents in law.This is a place everyone will love.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
302
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I are world travelers and habitually use tripadvisor for our lodging needs. However, we have actually never written a review to highlight any of our accommodations until today. We were so moved by our incredible experience at Casa Cool Beans that we wanted to share it with others. I hope you enjoy it and bon voyage!

_________

Nestled in the lovely and quaint hills of Santa Teresa, Casa Cool Beans is a refuge from Rio’s bustling life. The stately pousada boosts beautifully decorated rooms with original works of art. The chambers are serene, the beds are comfortable, and the showers are fantastic after a long day of sight seeing.

Mulling around the pousada, your nose may catch a waft of sweet floral perfume drifting from the nearby blossoming trees – the memory still trails me back home in the States. Along the way, you can find a wicker chair to catch up on some reading or lull by the pool overlooking saplings and hills. If you look closely, you may even find small monkeys playing amongst the trees…

Breakfasts at Casa Cool Beans are always a delight. The aroma of freshly baked bread and pastries invite you as you make your way to the kitchen. Passion fruit, sweet mangos, and fleshy grapes are offered. Fresh fruit juices change daily. Made to order omelets are offered and can be accompanied with freshly grown herbs from their organic garden. You can feast at an elegant wooden style family table or opt for something more intimate by the pool. The coffee is fantastically strong and prepares you for your day ahead.

The area around Casa Cool Beans is charming and authentic to the true life of a carioca. Colorful street art hug the neighborhood walls. Art galleries and capoeira studios unobtrusively dot the neighborhoods. At nearby local hunts, you can sip fresh caiparinhas or relish quality cacacha while enjoying feijoda and other cheap eats. The lively Lapa neighborhood (enjoyed best at night) is a stone’s throw away. Samba until dawn at “Rio Scenarium”. Buses or taxis can take you in or out of Santa Teresa – we opted for the latter.

What makes Casa Cool Beans so divine is in due respect to its hospitable owners David and Lance, their charming manager Sergio, and their endearing dog Mousse. Meeting them upon arrival was like seeing old friends. We had been in close correspondence with them since the beginning of our travel preparations in which they promptly answered any questions we had as well as easing our concerns about the safety of Rio.

Every morning we were greeted with such warm smiles. They offered assistance with composing daily itineraries tailored to our likings and offered reliable tour guides and drivers as an option (Note: we booked our tour with another guide we found on tripadvisor, please see my Rafa Torres review). We were pleasantly surprised upon arriving back to the pousadas in the evenings. Hand written notes accompanied by gifts of acai chocolates and authentic Amazonian jewelry were strewn our beds. Staying at Casa Cool Beans is like staying at a 4 star hotel...

We miss Casa Cool Beans dearly. If we ever have another opportunity to visit Rio, we will for sure hope to book a stay with them again. Thank you David, Lance, Sergio, and Mousse. We had the time of our lives!

-K

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at ccb earlier in Feb. this year for 3 nights going on to Florianopolis for a month staying with our son Daniel. We my husband and son Matthew met up with Dan at ccb. which is such a lovely place Lance was away but David made us so welcome, nothing too much trouble. We loved Santa Teresa and had a great tour with a great guide who also does pick ups from the airport. David and the staff had so many good ideas of places to eat and visit with maps etc. We would definitely stay here again. Our room was downstairs, us in double bed and our two sons in twin beds sort of above us . The breakfasts were lovely, so much choice and very fresh. One of the highlights for me was little Mousse, such a friendly chap, if you stay at ccb he likes water being splashed in his face from the pool. This review is late because I had done one before but it must have got lost somewhere. Thanks again guys for making us so welcome. Lynda, Martyn, Matthew and Daniel King love to Moussee please.

Room Tip: David and Lance will choose the best for your needs I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The renovated 11 room house in the Santa Teresa district is beautifully done. Our room was super spacious with a high ceiling. The hotel is located on a side street so traffic noise isn't a factor. David is at the breakfast stove every morning and both he and Lance are available for Rio touring advice and directions as needed. They will call on your behalf and purchase tickets for various tours. With their help we were able to hop on the subway at the foot of the hill and access the city. We enjoyed talking with them about Rio and life in Brazil in general.

Room Tip: Didn't see all of the rooms. Some of them have high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen am Rhein, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This marvelous Pousada is located in Santa Theresa, Rio's artist district. Although its some 20 min away from the main Beaches Copacabana and Ipanema, all of Rio's landmarks are easily accessible. The district is up-und -coming for the alternative scene, lots of bars and smaller restaurants, few fancy things, reasonable prices.
The pousada itself is simple and very well maintained by the two owners. Do not mistake a pousada for a 4* hotel, is has no TV on the room, no Gym etc., just simple rooms with beds, a closet and a minibar. The rooms are spacious, the ones we saw all had two double beds so, enough room for 4 people. It is very tidy, you can really feel that somebody put a lot of work and heart in it. Their service is incredibly friendly and attentive. They have a small pool on the top, not much good for swimming but to cool off on a hot day. A lot of plants and Garden around, lots of birds and some monkeys to see in the trees if you are lucky. The breakfast is simple and simply perfect. They get fresh fruits from the market nearby in the morning, its the best fruits I ever had for breakfast. You can have eggs, even fresh waffles, ham and cheese, coffee, tea, cereal...
I really have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having worked organising an even for Rio+20, I realised that I had not seen the "real Rio" so I had 2 nights with Casa Cool Beans, fabulous rooms friendly vibes, David and Lance are so helpful with information about the area and whet to do in the day. The views, bars, restaurants and atmosphere in Santa Teresa is just lovely, and the proximity to Lapa makes for some great nights out. Rio Scenarium was a great place to go. Thanks Lance, David and Mouse x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

With two days to explore Rio at the end of the worst work trip ever, all I wanted was somewhere to relax, unwind, and restore a little bit of reality before I had to trek all the way home. Having never been to LatAm before, I had no idea what to expect. The team at CCB exceeded any expectation I could have set. Friendly, kind, helpful, amusing, thoughtful - coupled with a fantastic location in this unsung but seriously cool corner of Rio. It is really a fabulous place, and they've done it up to a tee. Book early and go on the buggy tour which they can arrange with Dolores, who is an amazing Rio guide, as well as the Favela tour with Ricardo and Hang Gliding - insanely brilliant. Just please don't go there as otherwise I'll never get a booking when I want to go back?

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1, the double on the terrace - loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo, 136 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cool Beans B&B - Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.