We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very local and worth visiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Braseiro da Gavea

Braseiro da Gavea
Praca Santos Dumont, 116, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22470-060, Brazil (Lagoa)
21 2239-7494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 8,660 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very local and worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant is very popular and have very fair food. Not fancy, but worth a visit.
The picanha is very good, as a must side dish, I recommend the potato chips (batata portuguesa), just the best in town.
The sausage as a starter is also recommended.
It is always very busy, so if you are not getting there very early, around noon for lunch, be ready for waiting a bit.
The place is also very busy at night.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo j, Marketing e Atendimento Virtual at Braseiro da Gavea, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Google Translation
Muito obrigado pela avaliação e volte sempre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    162
    25
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The bill is not right...........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Food and service were average. The problem was the bill.
The brazilian friend we went with knows that restaurants in Rio tend to add items to your bill that were not consumed.
Several items were added to our bill and a few drinks were at a higher price than on the menu.
When we confronted the waiter he clearly was not surprised which made us believe that these were not honest mistakes. Our brazilian friend was so upset that she went to talk to the manager of the restaurant who told her off.......
If you cannot go somewhere else make sure that the bill is correct!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo j, Marketing e Atendimento Virtual at Braseiro da Gavea, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos a avaliação e esclarecemos que trabalhamos com seriedade e honestidade sempre. Pedimos desculpas se houve algum mal entendido e esperamos que retorne logo que puder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Don't miss this authentic traditional braseiro to enjoy delicious picanha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This restaurant, a braseiro, is by its name, specialized on barbecued meat.
It's not very touristic since is in Gavea maybe out of touristic routes but is the best place to dine in Rio.
Don't expect a fancy elegant restaurant: is traditional, popular and old but serves the best picanha in town.
Make sure to reserve and ask for a table outside by the porch.
When you arrive and sit down they serve you a pork sausage: don't miss it! it's is simply delicious.
For the main course we ordered some picanha accompanied by hand cut potatoes, farofa and broccoli rice.
Picanha was of excellent quality, tasty and perfectly barbecued. Price is around 25 euro per person including beer..
I strongly recommend this place if you want try authentic carioca experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo j, marketing e relacionamento web at Braseiro da Gavea, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Option for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The restaurant is located in a quite nice area of the city, Gavea

It was crowded but the service was still realible and good. A bit noisy, however.
The picanha fatiada was very good as well as the beer.

As an overall a very good place to try out while you are in Rio.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I don't know any Portuguese aside from hello, bye and thank you and we had no trouble here as they have English menus. Sure enough the staff don't speak much English, but with an English menu it isn't really necessary. Food was great, we shared #295 a Brazilian beef fillet which was delicious and worked out to about $20 each. It came with 'crazy rice' (like fried rice), fries and another kind of crumbed carb type side which I forget the name of. it looked like we were the only non-portugese speaking ppl there, our waiter was very friendly despite the language barrier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo j, Marketing e Atendimento Virtual at Braseiro da Gavea, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you. Staff Braseiro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braseiro da Gavea also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Braseiro da Gavea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braseiro da Gavea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.