We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amir

Amir
Rua Ronald de Carvalho, 55 / loja C, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-020, Brazil (Copacabana)
55 21 2275-5596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 9,038 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Description: Para voces entenderem um pouco da historia do Amir, ele era antes conhecido com o nome de Canadian Shop, uma Deli com produtos importados, que ao poucos foi virando restaurante. Mas a paixao dos proprietarios pela cozinha arabe falou mais alto. Aos poucos foram surgindo algumas mesinhas, kibes, esfihas, famosos pratos do dia. Bastou isso para dar um pulo! Hoje podemos afirmar que o AMIR e um dos mais tradicionais restaurantes arabes do Rio de Janeiro. Temos o maior cuidado de selecionar todos os nossos temperos e manter a qualidade de nossa cozinha. No Amir voce encontra deliciosos pratos como arroz com cordeiro, kibe cru, shawarma, sanduiche de falafel, homus e entre outros. Possui dois ambientes agradabilissimos onde se pode desfrutar o melhor da culinaria arabe!
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went to Amir's on recommendation of a TA member I had private messaged. Good service and great food. I actually ordered the wrong thing by accident but it wasn't a problem as I was served an enormous platter of lamb cutlets, salad and fries. The lamb was delicious. My companion had a very tasty chicken pitta. Reasonable price

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    192
    37
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Mediocre food, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with some friends and the waitors didn't even know how the restaurant worked. We tried a lot of commom lebanese recipes and almost all were mediocre to bad

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a disappointment. / Qué desapontamento.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arabic Food, particularly Lebanese food, can be amazing - particularly the grilled meat dishes and the mezze (starters). As I heard a lot about Arab immigrants in Rio de Janeiro, I was looking forward to visit this restaurant that, according to Trip Advisor is supposed to be the No.1 Lebanese Restaurants in Rio.
This place is disappointing - because the food does not have to do a lot with the real Lebanese kitchen. They probably adapted it to Brazilian taste.
I had a Shish Tawouk, and it was one of the worst ones I ever had. The meat is not a Shish (Shashlik) at all, but just some shredded chicken. Unlike in real Lebanese restaurants, they did not marinate it at all, and it had definitely never seen a charcoal grill. This is why the meat was bland and even a big dry.
The rice was a mixture of Brazilian standard rice with minced meat (in good Lebanese restaurants you get rice with Arab spices and Saffron). The worst of it all was the Fattoush bread salad that was drowned in vinegar. The waiters were extremely unpolite, no smile - and they did even ask if I liked their food or not, although I spoke Portuguese with them.
Price just for this one dish was a hefty 49,50 R$. This place is typical Copacabana tourist trap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to this restaurant after seeing all these wonderful reviews but it wasn't good at all. The meat was very salty and as we felt really unwell afterwards, we believe it was to hide its age. The salad that came with it was sour. I also ordered a drink that looked intriguing on the menu - jasmin coffee - but it turned out to be a cup full of water with two seeds floating on top. This was it. Tasted bad. The dinner left us both with a stomachache, which typical for me is very unusual for my bf - a bad sign for Amir.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good Lebanese food with a bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The restaurant is situated a few blocks from Copacabana beach. The food is fresh and really good. We nearly left the restaurant because the people were not friendly. A friend told from Rio told me that the food was good, therefore we stayed and tasted it. If you know the Lebanese food (and therefore what to order) and don't wait to get a smile, just go and try it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amir also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Amir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.