We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK spot but dont go out of your way to visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gula Gula - Jardim Botanico

Gula Gula - Jardim Botanico
Av. Alexandre Ferreira, 220 - Loja a - Lagoa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22470-220, Brazil (Lagoa)
+55 21 2537 8906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #675 of 9,035 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, Dessert, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“OK spot but dont go out of your way to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Gula Gula has many spots all over town. Each has consistently ok food. And this location is no exception. Worth a try but don't go out of your way to visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    78
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything was magnificent. The food was amazing and it was ready in no time. The restaurant was quiet and relaxing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This Gula Gula is Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Again, there can be a Q, so being early is not a bad idea. It's young, lively yet cozy. Good service, and the plates are well served. What ever I ask for, something a little elaborated or that might sound too simple, is always tasty. The desert my son and I go crazy about is the "White chocolate pie withe red fruit topping".

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place to eat!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I saw this restaurant in the guide, but you are always afraid of what can happen. The place is just beautiful a very romantic! At the beginning they gave the portuguese menu so we were not sure of undrestanding but then they gave us the menu in English. However we decided to take the risk and try the specials of the day, which were a lilltle bit cheaper. The food was nicely decorated and tasted amazing! Its a place you should go!!!! I really would like to go again?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The meat, the fish and the chicken at Gula Gula are very good, but my preferrence is the salad with strips of meat , mango , lettuce and grated cheese. Light for the body and delicious for the taste. There are other great saladas and very good quiches. I recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gula Gula - Jardim Botanico also viewed

 

Been to Gula Gula - Jardim Botanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gula Gula - Jardim Botanico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.