We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza Bistro Tropical

Zaza Bistro Tropical
Rua Joana Angelica, 40, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-030, Brazil (Lagoa)
(21)2247-9101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 8,661 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my second visit to Zaza, having been impressed with it in May 2011. We attempted to get in early in on our stay, but there was such a long wait, we took the advice of the staff and booked on line for a subsequent night - too easy!

The cocktail list is long and impressive, but we opted for the local caipirinha whilst reading the menu - we soon found we were sitting at a dodgy table with a problem with one of its legs, so the staff happily moved us to another table - a better one in fact - so smiles all round!

Not your every day predicable menu, but some interesting combinations from a range of influences and continents - I remember deciding was a tough choice. We enjoyed the tasting seafood platter and for mains had the Namorado fish with grilled banana, hearts of palm and asparagus in chilli oil and grilled squid and octopus with red rice, tomato and lemon confit spicy farofa.

The restaurant is not cheap (but this is Rio), but the lovely setting (even if out on the balcony and it is blowing a gail and the rain pouring down, with the staff pulling the blinds down then up when it eases!), friendly service and imaginative and well presented food - along with good cocktail and wine list - make for a special night in a central setting on a corner in Ipanema and a place well worth visiting.

Highly recommended - and do book in advance on line - it's easy to do. I would happily return here on my next trip to Rio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    379
    80
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

For a dinner or after-beach drink, Zaza is a great place with perfect atmosphere. The menu is full of fresh starters, tasty main dishes and exciting desserts. They have a great cocktail menu, but we were totally captivated by their sparkling wine - local Brut Nero is worth a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We thought we made reservations but turns out they were full. Danielle was kind enough to squeeze us in and am I ever glad. A very eclectic place with great food. We walked several blocks over a few nights and no where was a crowded as ZaZa. It clearly is the place to be! Do not miss this when visiting Rio.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Favorite dining experience in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited Zaza Bistro and couldn't be more delighted by the experience. The setting was eclectic, and very tasteful, the staff was hospitable and the food was out of this world. I would highly recommend this to any food-lover or traveller passing through Rio.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“All kinds of beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

All kinds of beautiful people…. tie-wearing and shorts, partying and romantic cuddling…the very nice, homely atmosphere attracts everyone! It’s the not-usual restaurant setting and decoration that gives Zaza her special ambience. And then, of course, the food. The chef clearly got his inspiration from all over the world: Africa, Europe and definitely Asia. Very tasty dishes! Ambiance and good food combined with a excellent (helpful, personal) = top restaurant!
Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza Bistro Tropical also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Zaza Bistro Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza Bistro Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.