We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Rio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Beleza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Beleza to your Saves list
Casa Beleza
Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
MAY 2015 - 20% OFF
Ranked #3 of 259 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Paradise in Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautiful pousada in quiet street of St.Theresa. Bindu is the perfect hostess and always ready for a chat and tips for visiting. Her house is amazing with large attractive rooms.
Delicious breakfast in tropical garden by the pool . Location is so peaceful after the bustle of Rio.
Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Hope to Côme back.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm and individuality. We stayed in 2 différent rooms and loved both of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    47
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
256
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I highly recommend staying at this beautiful inn while in Rio. The friendly staff, breathtaking gardens and the surrounding neighbourhood of Santa Teresa make this the perfect home away from home.

We appreciated the helpful and organized staff and the laid back atmosphere. There is nothing pretentious about this place nor the family and staff that run it. The rooms allow for privacy and are equipped with everything you need.

If you come home late and it's dark, don't worry! Bob the dog will guide you to your room. You can even hang out and feed the turtles- Cecil and Emmy Lou. Cecil especially likes mango rinds.

Venture out into the streets of Santa Teresa or into the core of Rio and get advice and tips about the places to see and eat from Bindu and her husband Antoine.

Seeing Rio was a dream and staying at Casa Beleza was like laying on the clouds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I travelled to Brazil with my husband and our seven month old child. Our stay at Casa Beleza was fabulous. Santa Teresa was our favourite area in Rio and our hosts were so hospitable. I would highly recommend Casa Beleza to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It was a pleasure to host your group here, and please tell your husband and his friend that if they ever want to open a Daddy Day Care here, they would be most welcome!!

Thanks so much for your review, I'm really so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you will come back soon!

Beijos
Bindu and Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We just got back from a week in Rio, we were so spoiled with our stay at Casa Beleza! From the moment we entered their beautiful property we felt so happy! I have absolutely no complaints and hope I get to go back in the future. Thank you so much Bindu, Antoine and your amazing staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I would have no problem recommending Casa Beleza to anyone who is visiting Rio. The location in Santa Teresa is superb, right in the heart of an exciting and artistic neighbourhood with a really cool local bar/ eatery minutes away. Bindu, who runs the place, is extremely friendly and helpful. Every day she would give us great tips on where to go and help us plan taxis and other itineraries. The rooms and property at Casa Beleza are gorgeous and there's a very good healthy breakfast included in the rate. The people who service the breakfast and maintain the property are very nice and accommodating. This is a real gem of a place and I feel very lucky to have spent a week there! Nothing but glowing remarks for this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked this excellent B&B for our first nights on our honeymoon trip in Brazil. Upon arrival we were picked up by a very helpful and friendly cab driver/guide which was recommended by the B&B. You can ask for it while making your booking.

Upon arrival at Casa Beleza the owner - Antoine - accompanied us to our wonderful tree house/bungalow room at the end of their garden. As we just landed from an intercontinental flight, he also offered us a welcome drink (great mint - pineapple juice) and proposed to leave the administrative check-inn for the next morning.

Every morning we were looking forward to the delicious breakfast served in the garden: fresh juice, home made pastry, an assortment of exotic fruit, ... During breakfast the host - Bindu - also gave tips for the day, based on the weather / shop closing days. Very well appreciated!

The owners were helpful and friendly, but did keep a bit of distance from their guests.

You should definitely book the tree house/bungalow room because of the nice view, the feeling of sleeping in the trees, the nice decoration of the room, the relaxing private terrace with hammock, ...

This B&B is located in the easy going Santa Theresa neighbourhood. You have nice restaurants and a great bars on walking distance. No need to take a cab to go / come back in the evening if you go to the Santa Theresa neighbourhood, we always felt safe. We particularly loved the bar called Bar do Gomez.

We always took the bus at the corner of Bar Gomez to go downhill and then took the metro to visit the other neighbourhoods in Rio. No need to use taxi's!

If you are in Rio on a Sunday, you should go by metro to Ipanema and Copacabana beach. The road next to the beach is then closed for traffic, so people sport and walk on the 3 lane road. Looks like on Sunday's all Brazilians go to the beach! Nice social event!

Excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: Tree house / bungalow room is a spacious room built at the end of their garden with a nice view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our stay in Brazil, and specifically Rio was made whole by our experience at Casa Beleza. Bindu and Antoine have created a little escapists paradise set in the most amazing lush surrounding of Santa Teresa.

Our rooms were immaculate, the bed comfortable, the shower hot, the air conditioner cold. The views out of the window of the Loft Room were picturesque, and the decor was both tasteful and creative.

The food (breakfast) and associated service was always friendly, thoughtful (we spoke one morning to Bindu about Acai and before we knew it, we were sampling a bowl of the stuff).

One of our classic European fears, when travelling to brazil was of course safety, and we attribute the great time we had in Rio to how quickly we felt safe, informed and empowered to wander around Santa Teresa specifically, and the rest of Rio's more interesting parts. The majority of this we owe to how skilled both Bindu and Antoine were at educating us.

In summary, Casa Beleza is a labour of love, that has been created by two very interesting people who genuinely do care about the travellers that walk through their front doors.

I would challenge you to resist the impulse to invite both Antoine and Bindu to look you up the next time they're in your home town. We failed.

on a side note. Bob, the dog, is a dog who thinks he might be a cat, or a Ninja or something. If ever there was an animal character to complete a story, then Bob is it.

Neal and Jeanne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
What you don't realise, is that we will indeed look you up one day!! Jeanne and Neal are one couple who really know how to spot a unique restaurant, a fun bar, or a great gig (not to mention their excellent knowledge of documentary cinema!), so we are truly honoured to learn that they enjoyed their stay at Casa Beleza so much.

And as far as Bob is concerned, perhaps, in fact, he is a ninja. He is (almost) head-to-toe in black, and I have often wondered about his collection of small swords and knives...

Thanks so much for your review,
Grande beijos,
Bindu and Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Beleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Beleza

Address: Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in an exotic mansion in the heart of Santa Teresa, Rio's historic and cultural district. Guests have to share the tropical gardens with the 3 turtles, butterflies and small monkeys! We are close to all the city's main attractions and the district of Lapa with Rio's best music and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Beleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Beleza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Beleza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Beleza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.