We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Picanha!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garota de Ipanema

Garota de Ipanema
Vinicius de Morais 49, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21072-540, Brazil (Lagoa)
2523 3787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #438 of 9,756 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $22 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Picanha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a very casual restaurant in Ipanema. Tables are close together and the restaurant can be a bit noisy. Service was fine. We went specifically because we heard the picanha was great, and are so glad we did! The meat comes on a cast iron skillet with a fire under it. You can cook the meat more over the fire if you like yours a little more well done. It was absolutely delicious, and I don't usually like beef! Prices were reasonable. Would recommend coming for the picanha!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    559
    200
    80
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A piece of history in Ipanema, good time and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Started the experience with roving sambistas (musicians that walk the street and play at the open windows, hoping for a tip). Lunch choice of chicken with rice in a white sauce with cheese and mushrooms was very good. Chicken parmesian was also an excellent choice. Fun atmosphere. It is all about Vinicius de Morais and his bosinova song Garota de Ipanema. A must visit while in Rio! One block from Ipanema beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just forget this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is the most touristic place in Rio. food is cooked without any care, the veranda is chaotic and badly maintained...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After figured that was the bar where garota de ipanema was written, i had to go!
The carioca vibe is what make this place. Nothing better than a open place being reached by the breeze from ipanema beach to run out from the warmth of Rio!
Good food and good portions, in other hand, the waiters didn't have a good english level, and neither the best mood ever.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Hey it's all about the song! And the food and drink are good too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First of all, we enjoyed the food and drink at the bar that was made famous by a song. If you don't love the music and in particular the song then the experience could be considered just good instead of fun and exciting. Contrary to other reviews here I thought the ambiance was just fine and liked the way the dining room opened up to the busy main street some blocks from the beach. And our server was attentive and helpful.

We ordered a selection of cheeses and appetizers and were surprisingly good. We watched locals order the Picanha beef that looked great and a fun experience to boot. The food and drink were very reasonable for a tourist mecca.

I had a couple of local beers and a caipirnha setting the mood as we watched the bustling streets, and seeing in my mind's eye that beautiful young woman from Ipanema slowly and gentily swaying down the street as she made her way to the beach.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garota de Ipanema also viewed

 

Been to Garota de Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garota de Ipanema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.