We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$$$$$ but gooooooood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antiquarius

Antiquarius
Rua Aristides Espinola 19 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22440-050, Brazil
+55 21 2294-1049 / 2294-1695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 9,040 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hell, Norway
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“$$$$$$$ but gooooooood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Are you into portuguese cod cuisine and such served in a very fancy environment? This is your place. To me, the whole thing is for business purpose or cod addicts. Awesome if company pays for it, otherwise, stay away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    88
    32
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Prepare your wallet $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

TOtally worth experience if you are into food.
But get your wallet prepared: it is expensive. But i must say: every penny is worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton,Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Portuguese flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very upscale restaurant. Dress up. The menu is Portuguese. Try any of the codfish variations. Food is a little heavy in the Summer. The
Portuguese desserts are sweet and egg based. Once in a lifetime experience. Expensive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Expensive, overrated and bad attention caro, sobrevalorado y mala atencion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Mi experiencia personal en Rio de Janeiro fue que todos los restaurantes mas recomendados fueron malos, caros y pesima atencion (parecian haciendonos un favor), mientras los botecos de barrio, los pequeños bares con ofrecimiento de comida y donde habian personas de la vecindad fueron excelentes y amables. Este restaurante es de regular calidad en su comida y como dicen en mi pais " se creen las vacas que mas cagan"

My personal experience in Rio de Janeiro was all most recommended restaurants were bad, expensive and worst attention (seemed doing us a favor), while botecos in neighborhoods, small bars offering food and where there were people from the neighborhood were excellent and kind. This restaurant is to average quality in food and as we say in my country "They believe cows that more defecate"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was recommended to us as an old Rio classic restaurant serving the highest quality Portuguese cuisine. Old, yes. Classic-I hope not. The interior is filled with 1950's kitsch art (the kind sold along the fences in Piccadilly in London ("calendar" art). The Portuguese specialities which were supposedly the attraction were dried out and tired. (Perhaps leftovers from lunch?) Service barely competent. Upon our arrival the restaurant was deserted but it was full when we left with Brazilians who apparently have a very different opinion. A major disappointment especially when coupled with very high prices (relative to quality).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiquarius also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Antiquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.