We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff, good conditions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Asturias Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Asturias Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Asturias Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Mahatma Gandi, 14 Senador Dantas, 14, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20031203, Brazil (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very kind staff, good conditions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff is very kind,they organised trips for us, they gave us a lot of information and they were speaking English!!! Conditions are good, the only thing is that the hotel is far away from beaches, about 6-7 metro stops. There are some restaurants near by, and metro station just behind the hotel. The area around the hotel is kind of old town style, totally different from Copa Cabana and Ipanema.

Room Tip: Maybe better to be on higher floor as otherwise the music from the restaurants below is too high som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments about your last stay with us. We are very happy to know that your experience here was quite amazing. Our high priority is provide the best in excellence in the services and products and when read reports like yours, they emphasize that we are achieving our goals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    205
    69
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
80
28
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I arrived at 1 AM on 03/02/13 and the overnight manager promptly checked me in to the hotel, He made sure a room was blocked on the same floor to my mother, who would arrive the following day.During check in the bellman on duty,stayed on duty! He did not greet me or offer help at all to unload my luggage from the cab.Maybe he was just security due to the late hours,I am not sure. This is the problem with Hotel Windsor Asturias: Inconsistency! It was the reason I did not give this hotel a 4 star rating.While some members of staff can be extremely nice,others can just ignore you completely.Also,It seems they can only get you a car if you chose the overpriced cars parked in front of the hotel. They completely ignore you(and your 80 year old mother) if you decide to ride the yellow and much cheaper cars that are as safe and also air conditioned..
I had to ask permission to the general manager to have some family members visit me on the rooftop bar,which is unusually only for hotel guests.The view from the rooftop deck and pool is AMAZING! Manuel,the bartender at the rooftop bar was always professional and friendly. We don't drink alcohol so he made us,deliciously fresh lemonades and the coffee was superb.
Overall I had a good experience and the rate was much better than the other hotels in Zona SUl. My suggestion to the General Manager: Train your staff to smile a LOT more. It makes your guests feel more welcome,and believe me, they are almost there! Thank you all for everything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments. We are very glad to know about your nice stay with us. About your valuable feed-back, they will help us to improve our services, especially regarding to the topics you pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night and found everything to be in perfect order. Room was nice and big, parquet floor, very clean. TV was old and outdated as the only minus. Large bathroom!

Staff and service was perfect!

Breakfast great!

The area is a picture of the real Rio and not comparable to Ipanema, Copacabana or Leblon for that matter but safe never the less. We walked to and from popular areas in Lapa without any issues.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to express how we are grateful to read such a delightful and kind comment.
We thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in your next visit to Rio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor Asturias 6 -12 February 2013 for carnaval. In terms of location, it's a partygoers dream as it's slap bang in the heart of Cinelandia/Lapa for the street parties. But also within easy access of Ipanema, Copacabana and the other districts of Rio via the Metro.

The hotel itself was a little dated with 80s decor and sparse in terms of room furnishings, although it catered for what we needed. Breakfast was ok but became a bit tiresome, although the chicken nuggets were surprisingly good at 6am after the samba parade!

Front desk staff were generally very helpful and friendly, and booked our trip to the football.

View from the top of the hotel was impressive as you could see Christ the Redeemer, Arcos de Lapa and Guanabara Bay in the distance. However, the pool was tiny and there was a lack of available sunbeds.

Despite our room on the 16th floor and being there for carnaval, it's not good for an early night as the music can go on in Lapa until 4am...no matter how insulated the windows are, you'll struggle to sleep with the noise.

All in all, judging by the general quality of Rio's hotels, it wasn't bad but it just wasn't amazing either. Although much more reasonably priced by comparison to most other hotels in the city at this time of year. Probably a fair reflection of the reviews on TA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your valuable comments and your positive impressions about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed staying here, good location, better than other nearby chains/options. Good price, decent amentities. Would probably prefer beach location, but this was better for business needs. Restaurant was fine, other good nearby options. Staff at desk was much more helpful than nearby locations for a non-Portuguese-speaking business traveler

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
We really appreciate receiving comments from our guests, not only to strengthen our purpose to you serve all of the best way, but also to improve where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent ages looking at hotels before booking this trip and took a chance on this one in regards to location but happy we did so. Lots of places to eat and drink I the evening right on your doorstep and only a very short walk to Lapa where there are lots of lively places to eat and drink. Only a short metro ride to copacobana and ipanema. The hotel room was big and very clean and staff were great organising our trips and return taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your response. We are very happy to know about your stay and impressions of Rio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved our stay in here, the staff is very friendly and helpful.

During my stay we went to pick up our car rental at the airport and once I arrived there I noticed that I forgot some very important documents. I called the reception and they were prompt on helping us and sent our floor manager (with our permission) to acess our personal belongings and sent it to us throught the hotel's driver. They were very helpful and saved us a trip from the hotel and back to GIG!

Love you guys for that!

Don't miss the great breakfast with with fresh fruits, bread and delicious brazilian coffe! Yumy


(Note that this is not near any beach but with plenty of transportation! We were finished with beach settings after 30 days going around so it worked for us!)

Im looking foward to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerencia_Asturias, Gerente at Windsor Asturias Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thanks very much for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Windsor Asturias Hotel in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Asturias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Asturias Hotel

Address: Praca Mahatma Gandi, 14 Senador Dantas, 14, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20031203, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Asturias Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Asturias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Asturias Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Asturias Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.