We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa 579

Save Saved
You added Casa 579 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa 579
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Dr. Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 235 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money in Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at Casa 579 for a couple of days in their private room.

Casa 579 is located in the quaint Santa Teresa neighborhood, a bit away from the touristy areas of Copacabana and Ipanema. However, transportation is quite accessible - you can catch a bus or kombi right outside, and a 10 minute ride down the hill takes you to the nearest metro station( Largo do Machado ). It is basically a charming house in a quiet neighborhood- so not too many shops/restaurants in the immediate vicinity, which could be a plus or minus depending on your point of view.

Our stay was quite comfortable. Teresa and the staff are quite helpful with directions/suggestions, and the taxi service they arranged to meet us at the airport was very useful. Breakfast was great. The house itself is nice- breathtaking views of both Corcovado and Sugarloaf mountain from the roof terrace. Some of the fixtures are a bit dated- we had a problem with the locks on our room, but to their credit, the staff resolved this as soon as possible, despite it being a Saturday night.

Overall, good value for money in Rio, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    49
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
69
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed twice in Casa 579 both on our arrival at Rio (6 nights) and at the end of our stay in Brazil for another 2 nights.
The place is wonderful : an outstanding view, a great area to discover (Santa Terasa is so different from the noisy city, and charming with great street art all over) as well as very convenient with the Bondi at two minutes (the Bondi is the little tram which takes you downtown...a great and fun ride).
All of that is topped by the warm welcome of Teresa and her crew. Teresa is always helpful and has a solution for every request.
Casa 579 is the best you can find in Rio at this price.
I wish I had a similar address in Sao Paulo where I go twice a year for business.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I arrived late after problems with aircraft and a thieving (official) taxi driver, but there was no fuss, my name was on the board. The casa is located in an old "arty" part of the city way up the hills. You can even arrive there by tram ("Bonde") if you know where to get off. I stayed in the dorm which was OK, toilets and bathrooms with a few small problems. But i saw the rooms upstaris and they were very brightly coloured and artistically decorated. After arriving from Europe or America, the breakfast is extremely exotic, tropical juices, delicious cakes, unusual things, jelly, strange yoghurt. The guests in the dorm enjoy the same breakfast as the other rooms !
The owner/manager helped me with the theft. There is a wonderful rooftop with bar and sundeck, where you have a great view of the city and Christ Redeemer statue and sugar loaf mountain. There is a very cheap small restaurant nearby , serving typical Carioca food (black beans, rice, Farofa - grilled Manioc flour). There is a bus service to the centre costing 2.2 Reals , although i could never quite work out how to get the bus back (Rio bus stops have NO numbers). Taxi costs 10-12 Reals to the Casa.
It is located really high up on top of Santa Teresa, fairly long way from centre. There are some restaurants 1 km down the hill

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Beutifully decorated, loved the bright colours. Clean, spacious rooms with fantastic views from our balcony. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Dog lovers will also enjoy the stay with the resident pet dog Belinha. Santa Teresa a lovely spot to locate yourself in, transport easy to decipher.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

The terrace on the top floor is the HIGHLIGHT of the place offering the BEST views in Rio de Janeiro - the bay, Pao de Azucar & el Corcovado. You will also hear the AVE MARIA before morning mass at the -catholic church- down the hill, as well as the birds chirping in the morning mist.

Excellent service and helpful staff. Good and fresh breakfast including baked goods and juices. Very colorful decoration providing a welcoming feeling (no frills). Stayed in a private, spacious and comfortable room with a private bath, however, the bed was a bit hard. It is the place you need if you want to write, read or just collect your thoughts. One great feature is the refrigerator for guests to keep goodies or left overs.

Make sure you have the name of the streets to provide to taxi drivers, it is a bit difficult to find at night.

Teresa and the staff were most helpful in every aspect. Felt welcomed and safe at Casa 579.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

It was my first time to Rio and so I didn't know anything about the city and good places to go to. I found Casa 579 on the internet and it had great reviews, so I decided to go there. Away from the loud tourists in Copacobana this is and oasis of quiteness and it offers the best views over Rio, I doubt if there are other Pousadas who can match that.
The owner Teresa was very helpfull and friendly, she organised a cab for me at the airport which brought me there.
The Casa has a great comunal area, the best roof terras, is clean and not to expensive. There are busses every 10 minutes who will drop you of in Lapa (the place for outside parties) or at the metro station.

I had a great time and would recommend this place to anyone!

Thanks Teresa, Steven

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Booked in for two nights and ended up staying seven - Casa 579 is that kind of place. We had beds in the cheaper shared room - only eight beds in a huge room - but it´s nothing like a normal hostel dormitory - very comfortable and quiet and secure.
And everyone gets to enjoy the amazing views and really excellent breakfasts. Some people suggested the location might be a bit out of the way but we found it excellent - very easy to get into Lapa or onto the metro with very frequent minibus and kombi services. Brilliant restaurant up the road, Gauchos, serving vast cheap meals. And Santa Teresa´s main shopping area is great, lovely bars and restaurants. Make sure you walk five minutes back up the road from here to see Gituleo who makes amazing figures out of recycled materials - he´s a gem.
And we really enjoyed a trip to two local favelas which gave a much better understanding of this part of Rio life.
If you´re not there for Carnaval make sure you go to the samba rehearsals on Saturday night - Teresa will tell you how and arrange a taxi etc. The staff here were all great in helping us get around and get the most out of Rio from walking to Cristo to football at Maracana. A really different place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa 579? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 579

Address: Rua Dr. Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 579 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 579 is a stylish boutique guesthouse located in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro. With excellent facilities and an amazing roof terrace with 180 degree views of Cristo Redentor, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Guanabara Bay, it makes the perfect place to stay to avoid the soulless high rise hotels of Copacabana and Ipanema and see the “real” Rio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Casa 579 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 579 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa 579 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa 579, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.