We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views and easy transport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa 579

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa 579 to your Saves list
Casa 579
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Dr. Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible views and easy transport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I wish to rave about the views you enjoy whilst staying in this lovely hostel. To recommend it for all it offers from excellent facilities to its wonderful staff and great environmental ethos and thought but I wish above all to dispel this myth about it being far away. Yes, thankfully this great hostel is not in Copacabana (who wants to stay in a sleazy place?!) or in Lapa with its endless sleepless nights but it has wonderful transport to anywhere in Rio! Buses are few paces away on the main road and Combivans , the local way to travel by the way, pass just outside its door. By the way fares are very cheap.
We met Theresa, Natalya and Hilga who helped us so much and encouraged us to go to a Samba school rehearsal which turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Go and find out yourself what wonderful place this is.

Room Tip: Please do not be put off by the location, I think it is a plus really to be somewhere quiet and wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    50
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
69
52
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here twice now 6 months apart. While it is not in Copa or Ipanema, CASA 579 sits in Santa Teresa. The view is unreal and away from the hustle of the beach areas. The morning breakfast is plentiful and the staff is more than friendly. This older home has been transformed to a "hostel" with dorm rooms and also private rooms. I stayed in the dorm rooms so I don't know what a private room is like, but I would only imagine it is in line with the rest of the high standards at this property. I have traveled a significant amount and stayed in a ton of different places and CASA 579 rates as one of the best. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I totally loved this hostel:Our beautiful room with fantastic view, plenty of hammocks and the great breakfast made me want to stay in this hostel all day. However, due to friendly and helpful staff and buses, that are running very frequently right in front of the door we did make it uptown, to the beach etc.
As it has been said before, the hostel is not centrally in Santa Teresa, but neither is it far away and the way down leads through very nice streets, so I didnt mind this at all. Safety was not a problem either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Highly recommend this friendly and cosy hostel with a splendid panorama of the city. Santa Teresa is a beautiful area of Rio and access to vibrant Lapa is easy. The hostel atmosphere is very inviting and relaxed - the staff also very helpful in advising on public transport or entertainment options. Great breakfast is served!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a fantastic homely place to stay, with an amazing roof terrace view. There is also a welcoming lounge. The best thing was the staff who are very friendly and really helpful with tips on where to go out, and which buses to get etc. It is a great place to wander around Santa Teresa or Lapa from, and really easy on the bus or vans. I also had a lovely afternoon visiting the nearby favela with Nathalia, and I would really recommend this!
Self-contained rooms are reasonably priced and comfortable, and include an abundant breakfast.
Swinging in a hammock on the roof terrace is the perfect end to a Rio day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's a very nice place to stay! A great view from the roof. The staf is also great. If you want some to do, they have a lot information and they arrange it directly.
If you like breakfast, or a freshly baked cake. Then is this the place to be!
Instead traffic in the morning you will hear birds.

A little problem is the distance to the centre of Rio. You always have to take a bus or a van. And there are two dogs in the hostel of the owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really loved this place! It is like a mansion on a hill that has been converted into a hostel. The staff were great and super friendly, not to mention patient with my issues and questions. The breakfast was very good and abundant, and spending the afternoons on the terrace watching the sunset made up for being so far away from the beach. The only real downfall of this place is that it can be hard get back at night (or leave late), taxis seem to be reluctant to go up the hill if you are not coming from far away, so it would be nice if there were some stress-free alternative. I seemed to have bad luck with some obnoxious people staying in the room next to mine. Although, I loved that there were not rules posted on every wall like at many hostels, and it was almost always peacefully quiet, some "quiet hours" in the early morning would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa 579? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 579

Address: Rua Dr. Julio Otoni 579 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 579 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 579 is a stylish boutique guesthouse located in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro. With excellent facilities and an amazing roof terrace with 180 degree views of Cristo Redentor, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Guanabara Bay, it makes the perfect place to stay to avoid the soulless high rise hotels of Copacabana and Ipanema and see the “real” Rio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Casa 579 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 579 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa 579 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa 579, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.