We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for birders!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serra Dos Tucanos

Serra Dos Tucanos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serra Dos Tucanos
Save
You added Serra Dos Tucanos to your Saves list
Cachoeiras do Macacu, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for birders!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great place for birders. Andy the ownership has got a little piece of paradise in the sort after Atlantic Rainforest. Warm and friendly place. Andy and the staff are always at hand and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are good. Although just off the main road, the noise from the traffic is minimal. Each evening and lunch there is a nice homemade meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I spent eight days here, having arranged an inclusive package (accommodation in a room overlooking the garden and birdfeeders, all meals, and guided birding excursions each day) directly with Andy, the owner. The small lodge (sleeping a maximum of 14) is extremely comfortable and serves excellent home-cooked food. Our room was very clean, with a good hot shower, and the lodge has wifi access if you want to stay in touch with the rest of the world. Although it's situated on a busy main road and there is some traffic noise, we didn't find this a problem either while sleeping or birding around the grounds. For those going birding, Andy is very knowledgeable on all the local species (including many endemics), and is an easy-going yet highly professional guide with a great sense of humour. And you don't necessarily have to venture out of the garden - the fruit and nectar feeders pull in a wide range of species, including specials like Blond-crested Woodpecker, and there's a small hide available for photographers.

In short, we had a fantastic time, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend SdT to any birders looking for an introduction to the birds of Brazil's Atlantic Forest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I had a marvelous time at this lovely lodge in the Atlantic rain forest. The austral autumn turned out to be a great time to visit, as the lodge was less crowded than in the spring. The programmed itinerary was adjusted to our needs, and bird guide Cirilo helped us find some very difficult species. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the meals were healthy and tasty, and the garden was visited by beautiful tanagers and hummingbirds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at Serra Dos Tucanos Lodge, this is a FANTASTIC place, comfortable,clean,friendly the food was excellent and the guide Cirilo was brilliant at finding the birds for us to see.

Andy and Christina who own the Lodge could not have been more friendly and helpful .

This is a place for nature lovers who wish to relax in beautiful surroundings, but is only two hours away from tourist attractions in Rio.

There are many hummingbird feeders and feeding stations that are replenished regularly so that there is constant activity from birds that would normally be more difficult to see which provides excellent photographic opportunities along with a small bird hide.

Room Tip: There are two rooms larger rooms upstairs with a balcony where seating and a table are provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerque, France
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location along a busy and noisy road. But let's be honest. Most of Brazil sounds like this.
Free cachaça at 5.30 pm. Choice from 8 different brands.
Artificial fruit juice. Absolutely incredible, every Brazilian b&b, bar or restaurant has a stock of frozen portions of exotic fruits, allowing them to make tasty fruit juices. And most of them have a selection of a few seasonal fruits for truly fresh fruit juice. But not here! It's just coloured powder.
Walks: Expensive. In lots of other eco-lodges, they're included in the price.
Food: Normal, but it would be tastier if the day activities were a little bit more intense.
Guiding: It's all about the birds. Don't dare to ask the guide what kinds of colourful fruit are growing near the entrance of the farm you're passing by. He doesn't know them, because he knows only birds.
Tracks: Dissappointing. The one closeby is along an old concrete road, counts only 500 metres, and then you have to return exactly the same way. Boring.
Birds: Lots, but check my fellow reviewers for that.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a four-night stay here. We were really looking forward to going having seen the Malcolm Ryder DVD about the place and read glowing reports. In retrospect, we would have been better staying for longer at REGUA and just spending one or maybe two nights here to investigate the grounds and feeders. Firstly, we were dis-satisfied with the location. The lodge, though well-situated in relation to the National Park, is just off an extremely busy and dangerous trunk road that has traffic thundering up and down day and night. The noise was horrendous and you could not get away from it even whilst walking the badly-signed trails in the grounds. Secondly, we paid a lot extra for the de-luxe room overlooking the feeders which has a whacking great palm-tree in the way! Absolutely no chance of enjoying a relaxing time on the balcony watching the birds feasting on bananas etc.Thirdly, you felt like you were at boarding school with threats of being fined 30 reals if you irrevocably stained the sheets or having your washing removed if you left in sight of the other guests. Not only that, but it would be put through the system and you would have to pay for it - a tad expensive when they charge 3US$ to wash a pair of socks! it rained all the time we were there (not Andy's fault) but there was nowhere to hang your clothes for them to dry out and certainly not out of sight. The food was OK to good - no real problems. Packed lunches consisted of 2 sandwiches, a piece of fruit and a choice of snack bars. There are organised birding tours you can go on but there is only one guide, Cirillo. He knows his birds and recognises his calls but you cannot have exclusive use of his time. Everyone has to share so try not to book whilst there is a big birding group staying. Pleasant lad. Speaks excellent English. The tours can be expensive. Our first one lasted 2 hours and cost 120reals (£40) each).. A day trip at 160 or 180 is better value. We had to abandon one of our day trips because of the weather and we were only charged for half a day which is to their credit. Tea, coffee and water are freely available all day and there is a covered verandah from which to watch the feeders or just relax generally. You can also sit inside on comfortable sofas (so long as your clothes are clean). Soft drinks (3US$) and alcoholic drinks are also available on a trust basis i.e. sign in the book for what you have taken. Free local rum is served at about 17h30. There are plenty of reference books available but you must not take them outside. You will have to print off your own bird list before you come - they are not available at the lodge and neither is the little book of birds of the area. You have to buy that n advance too, We found it invaluable.Lots of little niggles but the birding is quite good and some of the trips out are really good. There is also a photo hide in the garden and there is a swimming pool though this was filthy at the time of our visit. We did enjoy listening to the frog chorus throughout the night - particularly the hammer frogs - and there were some nice orchids in the grounds. The river is nice. Everywhere was clean though the rooms smelt horrid, possibly because of the damp. Please note too that you can't really walk anywhere from the lodge - the road is too dangerous with no pavement and accidents daily and there is nowhere to walk to anyway! it is easy enough to get a taxi to the nearest town, however, or to go birding independently and the lodge will arrange that for you.

Room Tip: The de-luxe room at the front has 2 wasps' nest on it so you cannot sit on the balcony. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Andy Foster, the English proprietor was very helpful in assisting me to put together a tour of Brazil in August'12; apart from accommodating my wife and I at Serra dos Tucanos he also went out of his way to put me in touch with other reliable guides and tours throughout Brazil- Ubatuba,Itatiaia,Iguazu,Chapada and the Pantanal ( I wish I'd taken up his suggestion for the latter!).
The stay at Serra dos Tucanos was excellent - it is located within a national park with good birding on the trails and many fabulous birds frequent the well maintained gardens and the feeders. With Cirilo as a great bird guide we also took some wonderful excursions to different terrains within easy driving distance. The lodge itself is set in beautiful surroundings with a large veranda where you can relax and watch the birds and the friendly staff provide very good food, service and accommodation.
We would certainly recommend Serra dos Tucanos for birding and relaxation within driving distance of Rio; Andy arranged for us to be picked up by Eugenio who provided a wonderful 2 day tour of Rio including not only the major sights but also great birding in the Botanic Gardens and Tijuca Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serra Dos Tucanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serra Dos Tucanos

Address: Cachoeiras do Macacu, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Serra Dos Tucanos Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serra Dos Tucanos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.