We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel outside Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade Paradiso to your Saves list
Promenade Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida das Americas 487 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-000, Brazil (Barra da Tijuca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Santa Maria, RS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Business Hotel outside Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

If your intention is to stay here and visit or do business in Rio downtown, avoid this Hotel. It's a good Hotel to stay when attending a conference or exhibition at Rio Centro Center or relaxing at the Barra da Tijuca Beach. Check in and check out was not quick and easy, at least the front desk staff was friendly. Rooms are OK, clean, Cable TV and Wireless service good. Room service and loundry service are better than average. Location of the Hotel is very good, if doing business in Barra da Tijuca. The Porcao Barbecue Restaurant is only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    57
    23
    8
See reviews for
34
46
13
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was cheated by a travel agency promising that this hotel worth to pay almost USD1000 for 2 nights during the Rio Carnival. It was the narrowest room I have staid ever. (you have litteraly to squeeze your body through the room and the bathroom).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed there for a week. Room was quite large with included kitchen and a good bed, but due to the thin walls and the non-fitting door it was sometimes really loud, even when somebody just walked down the floor and you always hear the traffic of Avenida Americas (six lanes).
Pool and gym are more than okay. Breakfast offers limited choices of food (for me too less fresh vegetables) and the coffee was awful.
Crew and service is upper-average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick_yap
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked on Hotwire, we were at the mercy of our budget. Still, things one should know:
1. the beach is a 30 minute walk by the side of a major thoroughfarE.
2. one way in and out of Barra Tijuca, and it is a 30 minute cab ride away from Leblon. With traffic, up to two hours.
3. The hotel is on a HORRIFIC 10 LANE HIGHWAY (Avenidas Das Americas). The only thing better than sucking down gallons of bus exhaust is the thrill and terror of being killed by a speeding Peugot just trying to get some morning coffee.
4. The front desk staff would not cross the lobby to pee on you if you were on fire. When we walked in, the woman was on the phone with a friend, and continued her conversation without even a glance upward. She performed the same charming trick when we tried to hail a cab. At the end of our stay, she gave us a wonderful encore: a 45 minute check out while we stood in front of her. (I believe she was either playing tetris or updating her facebook status).
5. The hallways and rooms are tiled. Every morning, we were greeted by the cacophonous gaggling of our hotel maids who seemed to really enjoy dropping objects on the ground, just to punctuate their riotous wall-of-sound conversation. If you like paying 275 dollars a night to stay in a Motel 6 and get treated like poorly... then by all means.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Despite requesting twin rooms when making the booking they ignored the request, despite e-mailing them 5 times they ignored the e-mails, was told on day of arrival that there where no twin rooms available.

Why any Hotel acts in this way amazes me.

Useless

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal qc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during the Carnival season 2013. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and serviced us in English particularly by Alana who was an ever smiling. We had our room at the back with a view of pools from the balcony. The room was rather small with two beds but it was on the quiter side and away from the very busy highway next to the hotel, so we did not mind. The room price included breakfast, which was very good with plenty of food and well serviced by the staff. The breakfast room was located next to the pools and in lush green trees and vegetation setting. We had some housekeeping problems which were resolved very promptly. Communication with the housekeeping staff can be challenging.

The hotel is situated in Barra Area in South Zone. The whole set up reminded me of Florida. The hotel was in a very secure and safe area. It is a bit far from the airport, City and other well known tourist attractions such as Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon beaches, Christo the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf peak, etc. A taxi will cost between R$ 60 to100 to most of these places. We explored all areas of Rio.by a superb bus and Metro system that we found the most convenient, cheap and fast way. One can take a bus on a scenic route to Ipanema and then continue on the Metro to anywhere in the City for a total cost of R$4.75. The city buses to almost all locations can be boarded not far from the hotel.

There is a shopping Mall on the opposite side of the highway but for groceries one has to walk to EXTRA super market about 400 m away. A bautiful beach is only 15 minutes walk and a ferry crossing. Ask for complimentary ferry crossing cards at the front desk.

Our flight departure was early in the morning. The front desk arranged for our wake-up call, taxi and advance breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back preferably facing the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeptEcommerce, Manager E-commerce at Promenade Paradiso, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that had great experience in Promenade Paradiso.

We will be happy to have again the opportunity to have you as our guest.

Graciously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is located in a very safe and quiet environment. Far from the busy Copacabana or Ipanema or Centro. It's well guarded. Their bed was comfortable, bathroom ordinary, nice view from the balcony at the room. They have good breakfast, pool, sauna, gym. nice facilities for their price. The people who are usually booked here are very decent and quiet. Not the loud type you'll find in the Centro area. I must say I had a satisfying experience.

From this hotel, you can go to Barra beach which is even better than the famous Copacabana and Ipanema I think because it's not crowded. We were told also by a Brazilian friend that elite and Brazilian celebrities swim there.

Just across the street, you'll find a shopping mall - Citta America and Downtown. It's easy to get a cab if you'd like to go elsewhere like Lapa or the beaches. Also not very far from the hotel are posh nightclubs which you wouldn't find in Copacabana-Ipanema area.

So from this hotel, you can pretty much go anywhere and it's no hassle. To go to Centro by ordinary yellow cab will cost around BRL 70. To Copacabana, we paid aircon cab around BRL 60. And by bus, will cost you BRL 2.75 per person regardless of the distance. Signs are visible on the bus, Copacabana, Ipanema...etc. You can go to nightclubs (Avenida Armando Lombardi) by taxi will cost you around BRL 20 (night rate). There are many nightclubs/bars/lounges/dance clubs to choose from.

Room Tip: choose a room with view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Promenade Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Paradiso

Address: Avenida das Americas 487 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#53 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade Paradiso All Suites offers a large swimming pool and a wide range of facilities for business meetings and conventions in the Barra da Tijuca district. In between sightseeing tours or outings in Rio de Janeiro, walk just 10 minutes from the 4-star hotel to reach the beach. If you prefer to relax, you can take a nap by the pool, forget about the time in the sauna or read a book on the balcony of your room or suite. The Promenade Paradiso All Suites also offers a bar and restaurant where you can experience authentic Brazilian dishes at reasonable prices. Hotel Chain: Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Promenade Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Paradiso Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Paradiso Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.