We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio surf n stay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rio surf n stay to your Saves list
Rio surf n stay
Rua Rai mundo Veras ,1140 | Recreio dos banderanties, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22795- 115, Brazil (Recreio dos Bandeirantes)   |  
Hotel amenities
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excelent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you are looking for surf, quiet place, and looking forward to meeting people from all around the world that is the right place!

My only complaint is that it is a bit far from everything in Rio de Janeiro, except for Barra da Tijuca, so if you plan to go a lot to Copacabana, Ipanema, Lapa and other places like that, I would suggest paying for the Tour with the hostel, or to be ready to suffer with Rio`s public transportation, or save money for the taxis...

Yet it is a nice and peacefull place, which for sure I will always choose to stay in Rio de Janeiro. :)

Also the staff are great people!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
7
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rio surf n stay is a spot you shouldn't miss if you want to see a different rio then just copacabana and havaianas. To get a more real experience of rio de janeiro this is the place to be. the hostel is real close to some really beautifull beaches (dont miss prainha!!) and a less tourist place. its a really good place to surf. the staff is really nice and personal, the owner took us to have some reall nice meat in the 'favela' close to the hostel, that is not a favela as you may know on the tv but just a place were people live, work and eat. it was a really relaxing experience and whas really worth the trip. maybe a little bit more difficult to find then ipanema but the people who live there were really nice to us and showed us the way. we never felt unsave and had a real good time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Best place for surf !!
close to beach.
quiet and clean, nice stuff.

I love it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

To put it simply. I had a blast. Local area had really cheap dining and shopping. Great beaches and friendly staff. Spoke reasonably good english and would even go out to party if you got to know them!

Room Tip: If you dont want to get eaten alive better bring strong bug repellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Rio Surf and stay really let us down. We booked the Rio Carnival package at a huge expense. On arrival we followed their directions to the hostel, only to find that the bus 360 does not leave from the bus station. The location was much further away from Rio than the websites suggests. Their ´campsite´was the front lawn, and the property was off the beach next to a favela. The facilities are poor as the showers shock you and are cold.

On a more personal note, we hired a transport from them to the airport for 3am that never came. We had to roam the deserted streets looking for a taxi. We had paid R$100 up front and it took Rio surf and stay a month to pay us back. Worst of all the taxi that we finally took cost us less than R$100.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nice and quiet place in Rio. The place to be for surfing. You just have to cross the road to be in Macumba. One of the best (or the best) wave in Rio.

The team is very very friendly. They can arrange for you the pick at the airport and extra activities...

Thanks to them, I spent a really great time in Rio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

It's a hostel of two halves. The poeople make it great the facilities are pretty poor.

Generally the rooms and hostel are run down and clearly have had no investment for a long time. It's a shame but it seems like the owners are relying on the guests to make the experience great and not doing much themselves.

I still enjoyed my time because of the people but it could have been so much better if the rooms very better and staff were more helpful/informative.

My advice would be find a different surf school.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio surf n stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio surf n stay

Address: Rua Rai mundo Veras ,1140 | Recreio dos banderanties, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22795- 115, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Recreio dos Bandeirantes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 467 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Surf styled House with a beautiful tropical nature land setting, 1 block back from the Surf beach Macumba. A great get away from the main Rio City,with a local bus ride in 1hr you arrive into the hidden gem of Rio. Relaxed, safe and preserved beaches with amazing nature land scape. This Surf Hostel has all surfing equipment for all levels and certified English speaking instructors. Rooms are all with ceiling fans and newly renovated and cleaned daily. All our rooms have ensuites and lockers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rio surf n stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Surf n Stay Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio surf n stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.