We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good situation in Santa Teresa and Lapa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MangoMango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa MangoMango to your Saves list
Casa MangoMango
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Joaquim Murtinho 587 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 259 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“good situation in Santa Teresa and Lapa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Small hotel in the hill in Santa Teresa, just 5minute by feet to the active night life of Lapa.
Service is correct and the room are just enough for a few nights. the rooms are located in small bungalow on the hill.
The night life in Rio is famous and this you can hear also from your room.
But Samba is always in your head in Rio.
Good place for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
13
52
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there and loved the area it's in. It's not near Copacabana, so if you want to party on the beach it's not the place, though it is in the middle of Santa Theresa which is a nice artistic area with lots of little shops and restaurants and great views of the city. And it's easy to catch buses down into more of the Central area of town.
The house is nice, though the photos make it look nicer and the price lead me to believe the photos. Breakfast is good, though not excellent.
Staff are super helpful, speak great english and have map of the area with local places they recommend.
Will stay there again if we can get one of the cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Casa Mango Mango was the perfect place for us to stay in Rio. The place has an air of shabby-chic cool and was spot on for exploring the cultural delights of Santa Teresa, and the rest of Rio's attractions. The staff were incredible in everyway - the sort of assistance and personal touch that would be beyond the ability of a high star hotel. A special thanks going out to 'Sid', Gabriel and Indiana at Casa Mango Mango who helped us get the most out of our stay.
Thank you! Simon (Brother) & Victoria (Sister)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's a decent place to stay. We decided on this place because it was quite a bunch of us traveling together for a friend who was getting married in the Santa Teresa area.
Our room was very small and really basic but was clean...some of our friends had bigger rooms that actually were well decorated.
The breakfast is the morning was ok and the staff was pretty nice. It was our first time in Rio and I will not go back in the Santa Teresa area...Now that I know where to go , I would definitely stay in Ipanema or the beach area....more stuff to do, places to eat and better neighborhood.

Room Tip: pay a little extra is worth it in this hostel, you will get a much better room. If you want to chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for a weekend - really relaxing and the staff are so helpful. Julie, Indiana, Sadakne and the guy (who's name I cant remember) were so friendly. Nothing is too much hassle- recommendations of where to eat, ordering taxis, checking flights etc. There is a really great atmosphere in the house- very peaceful, with beautiful music. As a business traveller it was a welcome change as I stay in so many boring hotels. I will certainly return to Casa Mango Mango :)

Room Tip: I stayed in the main house Room 2 - Afro Brasil. Really, really spacious and lovely view of the Cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here during Carnival and was a great location particularly for the parties in Lapa. The hostel is clean and has a nice outdoor space and swimming pool great for cooling off. On the downside our room was in the basement and subsequently smelt a little damp. Our friends had one of the outside rooms that were not particularly good as they weren't as advertised on the website. The room was very small and did not have a proper toilet door (just a bamboo curtain) which isn't ideal for a twin room (unless you are VERY good friends)! Make sure you find out what room you are in beforehand,the ones in the main building on the 1st floor looked nice. Breakfast was good apart from the watered down juice which disappointed us every morning. Lunch however was very good if you want to eat in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Overall our five night stay was very enjoyable . The house has wonderful history and rooms that are spacious and grand for the price . The breakfast is good .The house and it's external and interior areas are in need of some loving attention . The reception team ( temporary ) actually made our stay , their attentiveness and welcome made our stay personal , however the management and owners seem distracted and non involved , perhaps tired after having the house for the last ten years . The staff  other than reception can be surly . The pool was out of action for most of the time during our stay and was finally cleaned at the end of our five day stay . Having said all of the above , we would return if the opportunity arose to be back in Rio de Janeiro , as the house has a  wonderful presence when staying in the Santa Teresa area , which is  a wonderful place to stay , absorb and explore. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa MangoMango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MangoMango

Address: Rua Joaquim Murtinho 587 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa MangoMango 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MangoMango is one of the few places to stay in Rio where you can relax in a magnificent colonial, tropical setting and yet be right next to the best nightlife and activities this marvelous city offers. Set in a quaint cobbled street in the old part of the city, Santa Teresa, Casa MangoMango offers easy access both to beaches, forest and city. The house is on the the hundred-year old tram route, only ten minutes from the city centre. The house itself is a huge colonial mansion, guarded by two magnificent bi-centenarian mango trees. Hence the name, Casa MangoMango! Resplendent with original features, the house has been restored and decorated in funky, upbeat designs to cater for every taste. And outside, in the lovely, tropical gardens, there’s a cool pool too! Built by Julia Lopes, a Brazilian novelist, journalist, playwright, and lecturer, the house hosted many a sarau for the literati of the early 20th century. Today we try to keep her spirit alive by inviting local artists to display their work and employing local musicians on our multi-lingual staff. Our musical and artistic events may well be some of your best holiday memories in Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa MangoMango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mangomango Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa MangoMango Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MangoMango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.