We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, quirky place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MangoMango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa MangoMango to your Saves list
Casa MangoMango
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Joaquim Murtinho 587 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic, quirky place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

After some problems with accomodation in Rio, this place really made our stay. The staff are fantastic and it is a beautiful old place - Santa Theresa is a great neighbourhood. We stayed here three times during a trip to Brazil in different rooms and also the dorms. Very clean and incredible breakfasts. They also organise some great tours and provide very helpful advice on local restaurants/ngihtlife. We loved hanging out on the terrace in the evenings and met some very cool people.
If you are fussy, bear in mind though the house is old and has some issues - we only had hot water in the dorms, not the rooms. But it's worth overlooking those minor problems because this place is a real gem - and the prices (for Rio) are fantastic.

Room Tip: The small room - priced at REAL130 is very good value - and the dorm is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    21
    15
    14
See reviews for
12
51
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Cute place between Santa Teresa and Lapa, very friendly staff, extremely helpful. Lovely old house with a choice of rooms. Would definitely recomend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Had this place booked and paid 50% in advance - we turn up to be told we had to wait 20 mins while I room was being prepared. 1 hour had gone by and still no room ready - so I go back to reception and ask them about our room, only to be told our room has a problem - the plumbing doesnt work, so we will have to stay in another room for the night. Now this story sounds familiar as I read this has happened to another person, who posted here on Tripadvisor. So we played along, in the hope that the room they would offer us, is going to be nice and clean, and that we can settle in to it and get on with our holiday. This would not be the case, we were offered what can only be described as a skip, where all the hotels junk would be - I told them this room was unacceptable, so they offered us another room - this time further back of the casa, this room was ok, but it had no protection, the doors wouldnt lock and it was easily accessible from the main streets, so security was an issue. It was only when I went down to reception to enquire about the room, that I could see in to main casa and saw that rather than our room having plumbing problems, that actually there was someone staying in it - so they had double booked us - even though we paid - but the fact that the hotel staff blatantly lied, not just once but twice to cover their a*rses was enough for me to pack my bags and leave and find alternative accommodation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

First thing you have to bear in mind is accommodation in Brazil in general is really, really expensive and the standards are incredibly low compared to other countries (and I've traveled all over the world and now live in Brazil). Prices in Rio are totally over the top, however this place is one of the best value spots I've been to in Brazil. It's really hard to find accomodation this decent for this price anywhere else in Rio. It's not a standard bland chain hotel, It's an old mansion and and a view into what Rio might have looked like in the past.

Each room is decorated differently and some are better then others. Ours was a stunning large room at the front of the house with an incredible view over Rio. We even saw monkeys swinging from the trees. The shower was great, lots of channels on the TV and the place was spotless. The breakfast room was also very charming and the breakfast decent. The staff are very helpful especially the American women who manages the place. Also the surrounding neighborhood is really nice.

Room Tip: If you have four days in Rio I would recommend two days here at the weekend so you can party in Lapa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manarola, Italia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Mango Mango is a nice place to stay, owner Julie is very attentive and will go out of her way to help the guests. Tuesday evenings there is Jazz and it's always very chill and fun. There is a beautiful garden open to the guests for relaxing in the summer heat.

One downside is the location, it's in the excellent neighborhood Santa Teresa, but on one of the roads that go up and down, so there is limited bus access and to walk up and down takes a long time. It's right on the line of the cable car (but unfortunately it isn't running in this period). This isn't very problematic, as taxis who normally make a big stink about driving up the hill will usually be willing to go up halfway (right to the front door of mango mango)

I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Starts off good, ends terrible, read on;

We (me and my partner) had a booked a room at Casa Mango Mango for one night; the booking was done in advance and we exchanged emails with the staff before arrival to conferm booking and to arrange pickup at the airport on arrival.

When we arrived in Rio late in the evening we were picked up at the airport and driven to Casa Mango Mango. Arriving at Mango Mango we were quite looking forward to staying there as the accomodation seemed quite cozy and nice (although the neighbourhood looks questionable).

On check in the guy in the reception told us that we could not stay there afterall since they had found a problem with the bathroom; they did not want to tell us what the problem was and it took them about 10-15 minutes from start of check in until they told us this. This is information they could have given to us earlier so that we'd had a chance to find somewhere else to stay, at least on arrival at the airport! Unless the real problem was a double booking (as it seems this has been a problem before according to earlier reviews).

They did find a different place for us to stay nearby and said "it's cheap, it's got a double bed and bathroom in the room". The place they sent us to turned out to be a motel frequently used as a place for men to bring bought women! The rooms were not very soundproof and we were kept awake all night from screaming women and banging on the walls.

If I had read about Casa Mango Mango on tripadvisor before going there, I would NEVER have booked a room and I advice you NOT to go there. You might have a good time if you're lucky, but you might also arrive in Rio late at night without anywhere to go. Not a good feeling!

Room Tip: Did not see any of the rooms as they had messed up our booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in mid November 2011 in casa mango mango. At first sight one is immediately fascinated by the mansion itself, its location and the surrounding vegetation. The communal spaces, especially outdoors, are in desperate need of -proper- maintenance. The double rooms in the main building are great, if not a a bit expensive and noisy. Traffic noise in the lower rooms is indeed an issue. We spent our last two nights in a smaller room, built as part of an extension higher up on the plot. Hot water was not available from day1 and staff just did not bother to ensure that things were in order every time we complained. We would expect staff to be a bit more warm and communicative and at least to treat our complaints in a professional manner. To summarise, a B&B with heaps of potential but quite let down in terms of maintenance and staff.

Room Tip: The double rooms within the main building are the best. The newly constructed rooms higher up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa MangoMango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MangoMango

Address: Rua Joaquim Murtinho 587 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa MangoMango 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MangoMango is one of the few places to stay in Rio where you can relax in a magnificent colonial, tropical setting and yet be right next to the best nightlife and activities this marvelous city offers. Set in a quaint cobbled street in the old part of the city, Santa Teresa, Casa MangoMango offers easy access both to beaches, forest and city. The house is on the the hundred-year old tram route, only ten minutes from the city centre. The house itself is a huge colonial mansion, guarded by two magnificent bi-centenarian mango trees. Hence the name, Casa MangoMango! Resplendent with original features, the house has been restored and decorated in funky, upbeat designs to cater for every taste. And outside, in the lovely, tropical gardens, there’s a cool pool too! Built by Julia Lopes, a Brazilian novelist, journalist, playwright, and lecturer, the house hosted many a sarau for the literati of the early 20th century. Today we try to keep her spirit alive by inviting local artists to display their work and employing local musicians on our multi-lingual staff. Our musical and artistic events may well be some of your best holiday memories in Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa MangoMango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mangomango Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa MangoMango Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MangoMango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.