We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of bunks by the window” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema to your Saves list
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Paul Redfern, 48, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil (Ipanema)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of bunks by the window”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I checked into this hostel for 1 night! Its in a great location and staff are nice! Good fun at weekends! The only problem I had was we were on the 5th floor, my bed was the top bunk right beside the window. The window which stretches right across one wall! The window was fully open across which I was unaware of as the white curtain was pulled across! When I hopped up to my top bunk which had no rail either side of bed, I went to look at view and nearly lost my life when pulled back the curtain to see window wide open and how close I was to falling! It was a small room and there should only be 2 sets of bunk beds in there! Very dangerous and just feel it was important for me to inform other people

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    190
    79
    46
    33
See reviews for
6
34
127
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We pre booked one night before we arrived due to a recommendatiom from a (so-called) friend. We ended up staying fr 3 nights having to check out and check back in each day due to them being 'busy'. On the first night the lad on the desk told us we were in a room that he failed to tell us was actually over the road in a separate building. So after walking up 3 flights of stairs in the main building with our luggage and coming bac down to ask he finally enlightened us. Then, there was only one shower working in the building so we had a lot of people knocking on our door asking to use our facilities!

The second night one staff member tried to charge us double what we had paid the previous night. Understandably I refused, went back later to a different guy and he quoted me the original price!

The next night we were changed to a room (again) in which all the lockers were locked! We spoke to a Venezuelan girl in the room who told us our beds were occupied already. I complained to the manage who proceeded to tell the Venuzuelan girl off in Spanish for letting the cat out of the bag!

DO NOT DO IT!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

i stayed in che lagarto ipanema for 5 days, sleeping in a 10 women dormitory. the room was very simple, the bed were made of wood and the sheets (seemed clean to me) very just the regular ones like in a hospital. the bathroom was ok and the shower in particular was very big and clean. the breackfast was nice with cereals and cakes but also a lot of fresh fruits. also the staff was very friendly and helpful and also enflish speacking which is very difficult in brasil. the living room of the hostel was nice with music and a lot of young people very friendly.. the bas part was only the habits of some girls in my doitmitory, they just came to Rio for the parties so they used to come back in the dormitory at 4 am, having showers and drying theyr hear waking everybody up, so I suggest to youngs like me who like to visit Rio: come to che lagarta because is very cheap and has a fantastic location also do some of the activities of the hostel (asadelta was amazing) but bring some earplug if you wish to sleep well, in fact the dormitory are also very small and you can hear people snoring!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Che Lagarto Ipanema hostel has some clear advantages and disadvantages:

+
location
quite clean and organized

-
over priced in every possible way (room rates, bar, tours)
a bit boring - no edge at all

The place is said to be a party hostel but it was surpirsingly calm when I visited the place in May/June 2012.

Room Tip: try to get a lower bunk in dorm. Upper beds are bloody scary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: We arrived at Che Legarto at 9pm Brazil time and it was heaving with people. The location is excellent, literally being a 1 min walk from Ipanema beach. This is definately not a relaxing place to stay though, more of a party hostel with loud music playing until early hours of the morning.
STAFF: The staff gave us a warm welcome and generally could not do enough for us. They always had a smile on their faces.
DORMS: The beds, whilst comfy were really high if on the top bunk. My bed in particular was right next to the window with no barriers which was quite scary. Also, the curtains wouldnt stay up. Underneath the bunk beds there are big lockers which are lockable. Overall though, the room was clean and air conditioned.
BREAKFAST: The breakfast was awful. Watered down juice, no dishes available, room temp milk for cereal and no place to sit when busy.
FACILITIES: Kitchen was filthy, communal area downstairs/bar good place to meet new people.
INTERNET: Excellent if you could get to a computer - ?owners kids took up all 3 computers most nights we were there.
Would we stay there again? We would probably try another hostel first for comparison but if push came to shove, yes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice hostel with friendly staff. However when my wife and stayed they had an outbreak of bed bugs. My wife was bitten several times and came up in nasty red bruises. They moved her to a different and better dorm.

They took action the following day - spraying everywhere in the dorm and tumble drying everyone's clothes.

I thought this hostel was badly over-priced. We travelled the entire length and breadth of the continent and this was one of the most expensive hostels we stayed at.

Don't walk along the beach or beach road at night: there is a good chance of getting mugged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 10 nights , rooms cleaned everyday ,great friendly helpful staff , breakfast was adequate enough good strong coffee , no problem getting on the computers , only gripe was that they didnt have any hot water for 5 days in one of the buildings , value for money is faultless , gets a bit more expensive at the weekends but still v cheap as accommodation goes in ipanema , the managers should be v proud of there staff there , lowther Tatiana Danny and pedro all made it feel like a second home !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Address: Paul Redfern, 48, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostels Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.