We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap tours” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema to your Saves list
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Paul Redfern, 48, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil (Ipanema)   |  
Hotel amenities
Froideville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crap tours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The tours provided by bealocal via the hostel are real crap:
- the soccer match seats where not those sold (i.e. on the side), but crap one on the back. Paid 100R$ for a ticket that is worth 30R$ (written on it). Even going alone with a taxi (2*30R$) would be cheaper.
- the favela's tour goes into a ex-favela where you don't need a guide and 65R$. Take any bus to sao conrado (2.75R$), pay the scooter 2R$ to go up the hill and walk down street 1. The guide added value was almost 0, except that he told us that it's no more a favela, it's safe as the drug is out, they've all electricity, water, tv, telephone, some have air con... do it yourself...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    190
    79
    46
    33
See reviews for
6
34
127
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Hostel screws you over. They let you pay more money then the rates on hostelworld and hostelbookers. They make up their own exchange rate, its in very small letters under the form you need to sign upon check-in. When we discovered that we had to pay more than was said in our confirmation, the guy behind the front desk told us "well its your own fault, apparently nobody reads the small letters'. In my opinion they know that backpackers do not feel like reading a whole piece of paper with small letters after travelling 20 hours. I see this as stealing money. The difference came to an amount of 50 reals, which is 20 euro, pretty much for a backpacker isn't?

They guy who helped us with the payment was very unfriendly and so was the manager.

Furthermore, they have a kitchen, but you can only use it till 6 in the evening, because they provide their own expensive meals.

Wifi not ok. No stairs till the topfloor, so do definately not go here with a suitcase.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Brilliant hostel, great location with a good breakfast. Rooms were clean and spacious and there was lots going on to get involved with if you wanted to. The ONLY downside to this hostel is a particlur member of staff who is both rude and unhelpful. There is clearly a problem with the booking system as my boyfriend and I were put into different rooms, I was put in a 10 man dorm and was the only girl! This I can get over but (and I don't usually name and shame) the blonde girl on reception was so rude and unhelpful. When we asked on our third night if any other beds had become available so we could be togther she SHOUTED no and acted like we were absolute idiots. She then failed to tell me I was meant to be switching rooms(still not with my bf), I only found out through another staff member while enquiring about a day trip!!! Other friends found the blonde to be equally unhelpful and she spent most of her time on facebook. Such a shame as everyone else is the hostel was so lovely! I highly recommend this hostel but avoid the blonde! Definitely do the city tour, it's brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great location, but that was all.
During my week stay rooms were cleaned daily however was more of a sweep the rubbish under the mat type job.
3 floors had bed bugs and had to be sprayed.
Bar was empty on numerous occasions and when there was some alcohol in there was minimal. Hostel lacked vibe and staff were only nice from time to time.

Went over Carnival and was definitely over priced and would not go back.

Room Tip: Stayed in 12 bed mixed dorm and found it fine. most people there were nicely and considerate of othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 days in 12 bed mixed dorm. Beds and rooms cleaned every morning. Staff extremely friendly and helpful in organising tours, nights out, taxis etc. Most nights bar downstairs has plenty people around and good for meeting new people. Literally 2 minutes from ipanema beach. 2 mins from bus stop and 20 from metro station. Definitely recommend this Che Legarto..

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

nice hostel, good location but no atmosphere and unhelpful staff. it tried to create a party hostel vibe but there was never any partying and the bar was always empty. several times we asked the reception about rates about the che lagarto in buzios and they couldnt be bothered looking it up for us so we had to ask over and over and then gave up.

the air con in the room is really noisy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Have spent 3 great nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm with ensuite bathroom - the room was spacious (as were the lockers in which you could easily fit a big backpack) and clean as well as the bathroom. Beds can be a bit unstable so watch out, but is usually not a big issue to fiy them.
Location is perfect as it is only a few meters down the road from the beach (close to Posto 10), a lot of snack bars and restaurants are around as well as supermarkets and drug stores.
The staff organises events on a regular basis, such as beach volleyball every afternoon, transport to the Lapa street party and a Brasilian night with typical music, food and decoration.
There's music and a bar every night, but it's not a party hostel, they make sure that at 11 or 11 p.m. they close the terrace and people calm down, but they'll share with you where there are places to go to for party.
The people are very friendly and helpful, esp. ehen my luggage was delayed they were speaking to the hotline in Portuguese on my behalf as it turned out to be a lot easier.
Sometimes they seem to be disorganised and diverted by other requests, but that is just the Brasilian way of business ;-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema

Address: Paul Redfern, 48, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostels Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.