We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Rio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1900

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1900 to your Saves list
Hotel 1900
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua (Street) Artur Bernardes, 29, Catete | Rio de Janeiro - RJ | Brazil, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22220-070, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 216 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Roma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Recommended hotel in Catete neighborhood in Rio de Janeiro.
Small rooms but very nice indeed. Clean and comfortable. The people working at the hotel are very nice. Moreover the hotel is really close to largo de machado metro station, whereby you can reach all the most important attractions of the city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for your comments and your evaluation! Is always a pleasure receive compliments of your clients!
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
41
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The 1900 is located in the quaint neighborhood of Catete, the former seat of Brazil's government. The colonial surroundings might be a little run-down by time and lack of relevance the days, but the 1900 looks as shiny and new as could be. The hotel took its name from the year the house was built. Rooms are small but well designed and structured with all the modern amenities needed (42'' HDTV). The only little setback: There's no bar and restaurant, breakfast could be better – but that's easily compensated by the overwhelmingly friendly and helpful staff (everybody speaks excellent English and Spanish). A perfect home base to explore the wonders of the "Marvelous City". Sweet detail: The rooms carry the numbers of last century's years, I was staying in 1958.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Janne Kubik
Thank you very much for your comments!
We were very happy with your evaluation!
You can be sure that we are already trying to improve our breakfast!
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel has the best location - it is near the metro and bus stops, near shops and restaurants, but in a secure and quite street. It is a great starting point for a visit of the whole city!
The staff was simply great with very good English - they answered every my question and helped us with everything!! Thank you.
The hotel is modern and reconstructed. The basic double-bed room is simple, with good and clean bathroom, TV with basic Brazilian stations, good air-conditioner and free safe-box. The breakfast is simple but OK.
The nice surprise were evening soups...

I really missed any vegetable and cold water during a breakfast.
The basic room is very small with almost no storage space - but for me it is OK.
Some basic rooms on the first floor have a window to the corridor (these rooms are on the same level as the street) so the only way how to ventilate is using the air-conditioner.

Room Tip: The rooms in higher floors are better. The rooms on the first floor are on the same level as the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ondrej.
We are extremely grateful for your detailed comments and evaluation! Our objective is always make the best to our clients.
We hope see you again!
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are nice but small. The hotel's breakfast room totally insufficient (7 tables) and the quality of the breakfast is very poor over the poor service. The front desk staff leaves much to be desired. Cleanliness is good and the location is great for exploring the city. For the same price, it gets better in the city.

Room Tip: room at the ground floor is very small. Never again in room 1972, I had too much problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Tullio.
We sincerely thank you for your comments.
All the points that you wrote will be analysed.
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay at hotel 1900, staff were all very helpful and polite. Especially Luciano! The room was spotless and cleaned daily. The only downside was the location (bit far from copacabana) although there is a metro station just around the corner. All in all happy with our stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente H, Gerente at Hotel 1900, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Marc.
Thank you very much for your comments and your evaluation! Is always a pleasure receive compliments of your clients!
We hope see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1900

Address: Rua (Street) Artur Bernardes, 29, Catete | Rio de Janeiro - RJ | Brazil, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22220-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1900 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Practical, charming and close to downtown. Welcome to Hotel 1900 Rio! The history of the Hotel can be told by the history of Rio de Janeiro. Originally built in 1900 under the name of Hotel Rio Lisboa was always reference both in customer service and in location due to its proximity to the City Centre. Today reopened and renamed the Hotel 1900 has a new structure and a steady improvement in their service in pursuit of excellence in customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 1900 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1900 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1900, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.