We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cruise cabin with good price in the middle of Rio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro to your Saves list
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Silva Jardim No 32, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20050060, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A cruise cabin with good price in the middle of Rio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well if you 've ever been in a Ibis Hotel room you may know, they're all the same for good and for bad. The room has not many amenities as the hotel has not, but the room is clean the cleaning is neat, and is a good cost-benefit. For those who are travelling without expecting much for the hotel amenites, or else if you're wantig to have a safe port to stay overnight while you spend the day walking attractions and sightseeing this is the choice.
But if you want a resort like hotel, get out here anf go for a higher class brand or even in the Accor chain a higher spec hotel go for Mercury or Sofitel class

Room Tip: Ibis Hotel Centro is a very good place if you want to be near the historic downtown Rio or near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
General Manager
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    648
    462
    81
    29
See reviews for
214
289
182
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We got a pretty good Value there! We already stayed in several Ibis Hotels, so we did booked for this 2 Nights that Ibis Hotel. Fast Check In there. The Room was in the normal Ibis Design - basic - but clean and fully sufficient for that short Trip. As usually in Ibis Hotels, the Breakfast has also there a pretty good Standard. We also have been two times at the Bar and did get there a very friendly Service. Very centrally Location in Rio de Janeiro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you need to be downtown in the business district, this is very convienent. There is not too much going on around here on the weekend though. There is one street a couple blocks behind the hotel with some bars, but many are closed on the weekend. Typical Ibis style hotel with clean rooms and standard buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This Ibis is in a groggy area of downtown Rio and is overpriced for what you get. Feels like I'm in a school dormitory. Rooms small and claustrophobic. You get the minimal with Ibis, and they act like they are doing you a favour. There is very little saving grace to this hotel, except saving a little money.Breakfast area was quite nice.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
Gerente Geral
Hotel Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

After a few nights in a rather disappointing hotel onm the beach, I moved here as it was closer to the airport for my fairly early flight.

It's located very close to the Lapa viaduct and Lapa district which is a hotspot at weekends with plenty of bars and restaurants. As with many areas in Rio, you need to know where you're walking as some of the areas here are a little 'shady'.

Check-in was very quick, and I was given a room on a high floor. The lobby is standard IBIS, with a large bar/breakfast area on one side and the reception on the other.

Room was also standard IBIS, double bed, flat screen TV, and the usual bathroom pod in the corner. Wi-fi was free and the reception was quite good in my room.

I had breakfast included, and although the selction is slightly limited it wasn't too bad to start the day.

Check-out was a little slow, so I just dumped my key and ran as I didn't have time to hang around.

Overall, no problem with this place, typical IBIS standards and seeing as it cost less than a third of the very shaby place I stayed on the beach, I was very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
Gerente Geral
Hotel Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was in Rio for only one night and decided to not over spend on this trip and stayed at the Ibis hotel in Centro, I will tell you I should of stayed by the beach, the internet was spotty and I just never felt comfortable at night in this neighborhood even though there are great new restaurants.

I dont have anything bad to say about the hotel, it is a budget hotel and it met my basic needs a clean room and internet, which it had. The staff spoke English if that is important to you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
Gerente Geral
Hotel Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraty, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A glaring example of how they operate is that the hotel number is to an answering machine only, and no one replies at the hotel email address. So if you, like me, need to get in contact directly with the hotel (in my case to try to retreive a forgotten item) - forget it !! This is in my view below the minimum acceptable of such an operation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis R, Gerente geral at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Rio de Janeiro - Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Renato Dias
Gerente Geral
Hotel Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro

Address: Rua Silva Jardim No 32, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20050060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro 1*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel with 200 rooms. Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro is located in the centre of Rio de Janeiro close to Tiradentes Square and 25 km from the Galeao Intl Airport.The hotel features the Pasta e Pizza restaurant with a full buffet breakfast and "A la carte" lunch and dinner. All rooms are fully equipped with cable TV, airconditioning, direct telephone with voicemail and wake up calls, minibar, WiFi access and work desk. Reservations, front desk, bar and Menu Express available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rio De Janeiro Centro Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Ibis Rio De Janeiro Centro Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.