We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albergue Tupiniquim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergue Tupiniquim to your Saves list
Albergue Tupiniquim
Rua Paulo Barreto, 79, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-010, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Besides having the most unfriendly reception staff ever, they also more or less stole our money by having some strange policy of not returning money paid via debit cards upon cancellations. This of course without informing about this "policy" on beforehand. So BEWARE!

The hostel is dirty, we had to ask repeatedly for sheets. Overall a bad experience.

On the plus side it is cheap, the breakfast was nice and so was the roof terrace. Also they have two mixed gender dorms which is good for couples.

But we are never coming back there, that's GeForce sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
19
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

During my visit to Rio, I chose the Tupiniquim Hostel. It looked a rather interesting place from the photographs so I thought I'd give it a try. I had a good stay here. I met quite a few interesting people, and the employees Eliseu and Taaisa were very very nice and hospitable. Staff is what helps to make a good hostel, and unlike the one I stayed in London, the staff actually wants to get to know you. The only things that I was bothered at was that the AC in our dorm didn't work so it was rather stuffy inside (it was the Mitos e Lendas dorm, I'm not sure about the other dorms but from what my friend told me his had REALLY good AC) and that the hot water worked when it wanted to. But like the tagline says, it's "Um Lugar Alternativo, para pessoas alternativas". It's a nice place and in a good neighborhoood. I stayed during Carnaval so I can't give a direct price guide because I'm sure the price goes down during other parts of the year (except New Year's of course) so I apologize. If you stay here, you might be expected to wire a deposit before you go, about a quarter of the total price of your dorm/room, so make sure you have that handy and wire it. They do this mostly because they get people who reserve and then don't show up. So that's the reason. :) Enjoy your stay at Tupiniquim! BTW, I stayed here in February 2008, during the magic time of Carnival, but Trip Advisor's dates don't go back that far, so I had to put the farthest date.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place may deserve 4 stars, I would give it 3.5. The 4 star aspects are the following: We stayed in the private ensuite with private bathroom, and my impression is that the room was actually rather good as far as these places go--relatively clean and spacious (and actually the bathroom seemed a step above! Clean, more modern, and about half the size of the room, really). The breakfast provided was nothing special, but certainly good enough, and their rooftop seating area was actually comfortable and a very nice view. Their bar area is charming, and you can imagine with an outgoing group that this would be a good place to start a night out. Finally, perhaps the best aspect of this hostel (and others in Botafogo) is the location. Short walk to the Metro, also within walking distance to the Lagoa, and some popular restaurants for the early evening drink close by on Rua Nelson Mandela.

The 3 star aspects: The service here was pretty weak. Most of the staff don't smile and make no attempt to engage you in conversations. They will answer questions you ask, and are accommodating enough when you ask favors, but for a true tourist with marginal Portuguese, sometimes you appreciate a recommendation or two, or just some friendly conversation--here you had to drag it out of anyone.

In all, you weren't uncomfortable at Tupiniqium, but you just didn't get any sense community, and you didn't really feel happy to be there. That said, it's cheap, and does the job.

Note: A warning to new travelers. Tupiniqium recently moved, and as we learned the hard way, some new guide books have their old address. Use the address they give listed here, or on their website!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Good

Location -
They are in a safe neighborhood close to everything you need (groceries, bars, food). Three blocks from a main street where you can catch a bus to anywhere in the city and a ten minute walk from the underground that can get you to the beaches in 10 minutes.

Dinner buffet -
Food in Rio is not cheap. Those kilo buffets suddenly get expensive when you get to Rio. The hostel puts on a spread that is crazy cheap and considering its all you can eat, pretty damn good. Not a huge variety of dishes, but enough to keep your stomach happy.

The Bad

Staff -
Your looking at about a 50% success rate. Several of the staff are more interested in checking their Facebook then helping you. That is including when they are suppose to be serving at the bar! There are also a couple that can help you out and give you good tips on where to go. But 50% is not a passing grade. . .

The Ugly

We stayed in two different private ensuite rooms which were pretty good. We also stayed in a dorm room our last night which I wouldn't even allow my dog to sleep in. Gross sheets, no window, and too many beds for the amount of space there was.

Bottom Line -

It is cheaper then any other place you are going to find. The location is pretty good! Don't plan on getting much help from the staff, but be happy on that rare occasion when you do get one that is doing their job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the double room with private bathroom and except for the visiting pigeon that somehow snuck in it was really good! Great spread of food for the occasional dinners (pay extra for that) and wonderful roof top bar. The caipirinhas were quite a good deal and fellow travelers were very mellow and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in Tupiquinim due to its good reviews. However, I have to say I was deeply dissapointed. Im not really fussy when it comes to hostels, all I ask for is a clean room and a smile at reception. If youre coming to merely sleep, then this hostel is fine. If you think a smile on arrival should be a given then you will not like this place. We were not made to feel welcome at all, were not given any info about services they provide or the area and could not wait to leave. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hostel was nice and clean. They serve meals. Lots of options for sleeping. The staff was fun to talk with. Full bar and great staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergue Tupiniquim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Tupiniquim

Address: Rua Paulo Barreto, 79, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at a 5 min. bus ride from a really nice-not-overcrowded beach but we are light years ahead the vast majority of the hostels in terms of service, staff, personality, fun - All rooms (except for a couple 6-people shared bathroom) have their own bathroom and there are shared bathrooms in the 2nd. and 3rd. floor if you are in a hurry ... - spacious rooms with extra big windows for maximum ventilation (except for 1 windowless shared room, but this got extra air conditioning: 6 PM to 12 pm ... - solid-noble-wood double bunks with plenty of space (1 meter) between each bed ... I said double and not triple bunks :) - 17 cm high and 120 kg resistant, comfortable, brand-new mattresses (and not those cheap and dirty ones you see in many hostels) - 6 double, triple or quadruple private rooms ... - free bedsheets and blankets - free brazilian style breakfast (08:00 to 10:00) - fully equipped backpackers kitchen where you can fully use all things (except for the fridge) - luggage room ( in case you check out and want to hang around) - plenty of space in our terrace with it's bbq area and Christ the Redeemer view ... - lots of the most popular board games such as: chess, backgammon, checkers, risk, domino, cards, etc ... - multicultural library to understand rio de janeiro and brazil - airport and bus station pickup (subject to availability) - all the travel info you might possibly need - car parking (third party) available near the hostel - taxes included - no minimum or maximum stay (except for New Year's Eve and Carnival) - no lockout or curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Albergue Tupiniquim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue Tupiniquim Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergue Tupiniquim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.